Squirrel's World

Squirrel's World

5.0 1
by Lisa Moser, Valeri Gorbachev
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Hello, hello, hello! Meet frenetically helpful Squirrel and his patient animal friends in four funny, engaging stories for the early chapter-book crowd.

Squirrel is a very, very, very good helper! He helps his tree grow, he helps the river flow, and he helps his three best friends, Mouse, Turtle, and Rabbit. He is such a good helper, in fact, that he helps

See more details below

  • Checkmark Peanut Butter & Cupcake Only $7.99 with the Purchase of Any Kids' Book  Shop Now

Overview

Hello, hello, hello! Meet frenetically helpful Squirrel and his patient animal friends in four funny, engaging stories for the early chapter-book crowd.

Squirrel is a very, very, very good helper! He helps his tree grow, he helps the river flow, and he helps his three best friends, Mouse, Turtle, and Rabbit. He is such a good helper, in fact, that he helps his friends when they don’t even know they need help! It is a lot of work being such a caring squirrel, but there is much to do before sleep, sleep, sleep time. Prepare to fall in love with the utterly endearing — and undeniably exhausting — Squirrel in this sweet and funny chapter book from author Lisa Moser and illustrator Valeri Gorbachev.

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Joella Peterson
Squirrel is "busy, busy, busy." His three main jobs are to help the trees ("grow, grow, grow"), the river ("flow, flow, flow") and his friends. Sometimes squirrel doesn't know how to help his friends, but he does his best. Squirrel helps mouse get more food (although he gets so much that he almost covers mouse). Squirrel helps turtle play the perfect game (turtle sleeps while squirrel goes off to hide). Last but not least, Squirrel helps Rabbit get a lily pad to use for an umbrella (by splashing around and getting Rabbit wet). However, even with all the mischief that Squirrel causes, he is especially appreciated when he helps Rabbit a second time. It turns out that Rabbit is afraid of the dark and Squirrel finds a firefly to help. This sweet story has a plethora of color illustrations scattered throughout four short chapters. These illustrations really bring to life the lovably energetic squirrel and his forgiving friends. Beginning readers will enjoy this clever and charming story of a squirrel's friendship in the forest. This book is a must for any early reading library. Reviewer: Joella Peterson
School Library Journal

Gr 1-3
Squirrel's world is a dizzying blur of activity and chatter that is somehow endearing and sure to elicit a giggle or two from young readers. The well-meaning but blundering creature frisks and capers through each of the four chapters, offering "assistance" to his friends. The softly colored illustrations and understated text complement each other well. Gorbachev's lively ink-and-watercolor art captures the sleepy patience of Turtle, the tremulous fear of Mouse, and the frenzied energy of Squirrel to a tee. Readers see an exasperated Mouse try to conceal her annoyance with her friend after he accidentally buries her under a pile of food, for the second time. Repetitive text and well-designed pages support the efforts of young readers who will likely enjoy Squirrel's humorous misadventures and his unique way of talking. Despite his many missteps, Squirrel's good heart shines through as he comforts Rabbit, who is frightened of being alone in the dark. Parents may find that a little Squirrel goes a long way, but young readers who enjoy Dori Chaconas's "Cork and Fuzz" books (Viking) will laugh at his antics.
—Neala ArnoldCopyright 2006 Reed Business Information.

Kirkus Reviews
Bridging the turf between easy readers and beginning chapter books, this story stars a very squirrelly squirrel fond of declarations in triplicate: "Got to go. Got to go. Got to go, go, go!" Squirrel's well-meaning overcompensation results in a windfall of food for Mouse, a lively (if one-sided) game with sleepy Turtle and plenty of splashy cheerleading for Rabbit's efforts to snag a lily-pad umbrella from the pond. Gorbachev's appealing watercolors provide the right touches for Moser's wry text, depicting Squirrel's manic activity in a plethora of amusing spots. This kinesthetic trip through Squirrel's "good, good, good day," less predictable than most easy-reader fare, will charm and challenge emergent readers-and the critter's final-page snooze should satisfy on several levels. (Fiction. 5-7)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780763666446
Publisher:
Candlewick Press
Publication date:
04/09/2013
Series:
Candlewick Sparks Series
Edition description:
Reprint
Pages:
48
Sales rank:
944,379
Product dimensions:
5.80(w) x 8.80(h) x 0.10(d)
Lexile:
230L (what's this?)
Age Range:
5 - 8 Years

Meet the Author

Lisa Moser is the author of THE MONSTER IN THE BACKPACK, illustrated by Noah Z. Jones. She says she got the idea for this story by watching a squirrel scamper, scamper, scamper around her backyard. She and her family live in Grafton, Wisconsin.

Valeri Gorbachev is the author and illustrator of many acclaimed children’s books, including ALL FOR PIE, PIE FOR ALL by David Martin. He lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >