Standard Catalog of Smith & Wesson [NOOK Book]

Overview

Smith & Wesson outfitted some of the biggest and boldest gunfighters, both actual and fictional, including Wild Bill Hickock, Buffalo Bill and Dirty Harry, whose exploits are still legendary. Today a renewed Smith & Wesson corporation is back in the front of the pack. Standard Catalog of Smith & Wesson, 3rd Edition combines full color photos with details collectors need to identify and better appreciate all Smith & Wesson firearms.

For fans of Smith & Wesson ...

See more details below
Standard Catalog of Smith & Wesson

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$23.99
BN.com price
(Save 44%)$42.99 List Price

Overview

Smith & Wesson outfitted some of the biggest and boldest gunfighters, both actual and fictional, including Wild Bill Hickock, Buffalo Bill and Dirty Harry, whose exploits are still legendary. Today a renewed Smith & Wesson corporation is back in the front of the pack. Standard Catalog of Smith & Wesson, 3rd Edition combines full color photos with details collectors need to identify and better appreciate all Smith & Wesson firearms.

For fans of Smith & Wesson firearms, this book is a must-have. This work provides easy-to-locate listings organized by model ad year of manufacture to quickly and accurately identify firearms. With more than 775 models of Smith & Wesson guns and variations, including many models not found in other firearm-pricing guides, this is the book for any Smith & Wesson gun-toting fan.

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781440224744
  • Publisher: F+W Media
  • Publication date: 12/20/2006
  • Series: Standard Catalog
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Edition number: 3
  • Pages: 384
  • Sales rank: 205,591
  • File size: 21 MB
  • Note: This product may take a few minutes to download.

Table of Contents


Acknowledgments     5
Safety     7
How to Use This Book     8
Collecting Smith & Wesson: Special Concerns and Tricks of the Trade
Frame Sizes of Revolvers     14
Screws: 3, 4, or 5     15
Pinned and Recessed     15
Generations of Semi-Autos     15
Type of Finish     16
Refinished Guns     17
Factory Refinish     17
Rare Barrel Lengths     17
Other Modifications and Unusual Configurations     18
Matching Serial Numbers     19
Stocks (Grips)   Jim King     19
Boxes and Accessories   Dave Ballantyne   Dick Burg     28
Sights     35
Engraving     36
Evaluating Condition     49
Resources and Bibliography     55
Identification and Price Guide
Origins - Smith, Wesson and Their Lever Action Pistol   John Watts     60
Tip-Up Revolvers     64
Top-Break Revolvers     73
Single-Shot Pistols     111
Early Hand Ejectors (Named Model Revolvers 1896-1957)     114
Modem Hand Ejectors (Numbered Model Revolvers 1957-Present)     168
Semi-Automatics(Autoloading Pistols)     275
Long Guns     329
Commemoratives and Specials     336
Performance Center Guns     341
Air Guns and Projectile Launchers (Gas, Flare, Dart, Line-Throwing)     371
Miscellaneous Police and Firearm-Related Items     373
Knives     375
Buckles   Pete Roberts     382
Catalogs and Posters   Don Mundell     383
Ammunition     388
Gimcracks and Geegaws     390
Appendices
S&W Historic Milestones     393
Serial Number Ranges by Years     395
Year of Introduction, Early Models - Listing by Caliber     402
Year of Introduction, Numbered Models     404
Year of Introduction, Modern Revolvers - Listing by Caliber     405
Identification Characteristics     406
Ilustrated Glossary     407
Model Index     430
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 3.5
( 4 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    DID NOT DOWNLOAD

    The download attempt was made but the machine did not download it. I need to try it again on a different computer.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    The Single Most Important Reference on Smith & Wesson

    Every Smith & Wesson aficianado needs this volumn in their reference library. Coverage includes more than firearms, with knives, airguns, and other items covered. This volumn contains a wealth of knowledge, and is just plain fun to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)