Star of Stone (Century Series #2)

Star of Stone (Century Series #2)

4.4 14
by Pierdomenico Baccalario
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

In the second installment of the Century Quartet, Italian author P. D. Baccalario continues the mystery that will take four cities and four extraordinary kids to solve.

NEW YORK CITY, MARCH 15

Another mysterious artifact reunites Harvey from New York, Elettra from Rome, Mistral from Paris, and Sheng from Shanghai. Soon they discover a series of four postcards

…  See more details below

Overview

In the second installment of the Century Quartet, Italian author P. D. Baccalario continues the mystery that will take four cities and four extraordinary kids to solve.

NEW YORK CITY, MARCH 15

Another mysterious artifact reunites Harvey from New York, Elettra from Rome, Mistral from Paris, and Sheng from Shanghai. Soon they discover a series of four postcards written in code years ago by the murdered professor who sent them on their quest in Rome. The cards send the kids all over New York City, through old libraries and abandoned tunnels, in search of the Star of Stone, an ancient object fundamentally connected to the earth. But a new set of villains, predators of Manhattan nightlife, will do anything to stop them . . .

Fans of Blue Balliet, Trenton Lee Stewart, and Michael Scott will be drawn to this Da Vinci Code-like adventure for kids.

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Kirsten Shaw
The second book in the "Century Quartet" series, Star of Stone reunites a quartet of thirteen-year-olds that have been chosen to help save the world. Harvey, Sheng, Mistral, and Elettra find themselves in Harvey's hometown of New York when Harvey finds another ancient top. When the evil Egon Nose steals the top from an antiques dealer, the teens are forced to begin a different search, this time following clues left behind by Dr. Van Der Berger. They race to solve the puzzle left for them, all while evading Nose and his mercenaries, who is hoping to steal the remaining tops from the teens. Along the way they receive help from surprising allies, including Ermete, Dr.Van Der Berger's successor, the antiques dealer, and a Seneca Native American, who informs Harvey that he is the "star of stone." Harvey has the ability to heal the earth and when their search finally comes to an end, Harvey begins to understand the importance of his gift. Readers should read the first book in the series, Ring of Fire, to fully understand the story, as there are references to events that take place in the first book, that are not fully explained. The plot moves slowly through the first half of the book, not picking up until the last few chapters. The clues are random and hard to follow and when the kids reach their final destination and find seeds there is no explanation as to what they are for or what to do with them. Readers are given more information than the kids, but not enough to truly know what is going on, which is frustrating. Hopefully things will get clearer to readers as the series progresses. Fans of the "39 Clues" series may want to give this series a try, but may find themselves disappointed. Pictures of clues and monuments are included as well as a web site that is dedicated to the series. There readers can learn more about the four main characters as well as play games. Reviewer: Kirsten Shaw
School Library Journal
Gr 5–9—This second book in the series reunites the four children who need to save the world, this time bringing them together in Harvey's home city of New York. When Harvey realizes that he is being followed and in danger, he is joined by his friends Elettra, Mistral, and Sheng, and they attempt to follow the clues left by mysterious professor Alfred Van Der Berger, learning more about their huge task and meeting new allies and enemies. Readers will be intrigued by the Manhattan setting, the clues and codes, and the sense of danger and urgency that follows the characters through their adventures. A 16-page full-color section in the middle of the book provides maps, pictures, and additional enigmatic clues. The translation maintains a consistently tense tone. Relationships continue to develop as the characters learn more about their once-in-a-century task and the group that preceded them, providing realism and balance to the many all-out-action scenes.—Beth L. Meister, Milwaukee Jewish Day School, WI
Kirkus Reviews

In this sequel, the four children from the first book meet again in New York, two months after their Roman adventures (Ring of Fire, 2009). They are thrown into their search—this time for the Star of Stone—immediately after Elettra, Mistral and Sheng get off the plane in the United States, chaperoned by Elettra's Aunt Linda. Together with Harvey, the children are in constant motion in this pell-mell, plot-driven story. The insert of full-color illustrations includes maps, copies of documents and photos of places and provides clues and concrete knowledge that supports the plot. Readers learn more about the lives of the four primary characters in this episode, while, as in the first book, most of the secondary characters—villains and guardian adults who include a Russian antiquarian and a group of Seneca tribesmen—are tools of the plot and rarely rise above genre stereotype. The back story is skillfully integrated, the plot is ultra-suspenseful, there is a budding romance and the ending is both exciting and satisfying. Message to the publisher: Bring on the next volume soon. (Adventure. 12 & up)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780375857966
Publisher:
Random House Children's Books
Publication date:
09/27/2011
Series:
Century Series, #2
Pages:
320
Sales rank:
605,358
Product dimensions:
5.10(w) x 7.50(h) x 0.90(d)
Lexile:
660L (what's this?)
Age Range:
10 - 13 Years

Meet the Author

P. D. BACCALARIO was born in Acqui Terme, a beautiful little town in the Piedmont region of northern Italy. He grew up in the middle of the woods with his three dogs and his black bicycle. He loves seeing new places and discovering new lifestyles, although, in the end, he always returns to the comfort of familiar ones.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Star of Stone (Century Series #2) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
wonderful book,you dont want to put it down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is toxinclaw here? Its doveflight.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Come to find out my wrist is sprained...~ snowstar
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You not up dating on whatthey are doing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
IF U WANT TO BE MY CAT GO TO HOME ON RANCH ALL RESULTS!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago