×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Stark's Command
     

Stark's Command

4.2 4
by John G. Hemry, Jack Campbell
 

See All Formats & Editions

HE STARTED A REBELLION. NOW HE'LL HAVE TO LEAD IT.

United States military forces on the moon have overthrown the ranking officers and placed Sergeant Ethan Stark in command. Now, in addition to fighting a merciless enemy on the moon's surface, Stark must contend with the U.S. government's reaction to his mutiny.

The Moon's American civilian colony has

Overview

HE STARTED A REBELLION. NOW HE'LL HAVE TO LEAD IT.

United States military forces on the moon have overthrown the ranking officers and placed Sergeant Ethan Stark in command. Now, in addition to fighting a merciless enemy on the moon's surface, Stark must contend with the U.S. government's reaction to his mutiny.

The Moon's American civilian colony has offered to assist the military with food and supplies on one condition: that Stark's troops back the Colony's plea for independence. In order to survive, civilian and soldier must learn to trust one another, as one man's cause becomes a crusade...

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
Praise for the Stark's War series

"When it comes to combat, Hemry delivers." --William C. Dietz, New York Times bestselling author of Into the Guns

"A gripping tale of military science fiction, in the tradition of Heinlein's Starship Troopers and Haldeman's Forever War." --Absolute Magnitude

"A rip-roaring race through tomorrow's battlefield, where knowledge is power but stupidity still reigns. Hemry's debut is a great yarn--and a thoughtful cautionary tale." --Mike Shepherd, New York Times bestselling author of Kris Longknife: Bold

"Gripping. Sergeant Stark is an unforgettable character...reads as if Hemry has been there." --Jack McDevitt, Nebula Award-winning author of Thunderbird

Jack McDevitt
Sgt. Stark is an unforgettable character.
William C. Dietz
When it comes to combat, Hemry delivers.
Rick Shelley
John Hemry has perfectly captured the cynicism of the professional soldier.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780441008223
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
04/03/2001
Series:
Stark's War Series , #2
Pages:
272
Sales rank:
557,783
Product dimensions:
6.80(w) x 4.16(h) x 0.83(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

Meet the Author

John G. Hemry is a retired naval officer who graduated from the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis before serving with the surface fleet and in a variety of other assignments. He is the author of the Paul Sinclair series and the Stark’s War series. As Jack Campbell, he is the New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Fleet series, The Lost Stars series, and Pillars of Reality series. He lives with his indomitable wife and three children in Maryland.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Stark's Command 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sgt. Stark is written from the Enlisted/NCO viewpoint, and all too often strikes home against the Officer Corps and the Careerists there who care nothing for the men, just their next 'ticket' being punched. If you are a West Pointer, you will hate this series, but if you are not, you will love it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Glassfiber More than 1 year ago
I've read a lot of the Hemry/Campbell books including all three of the Stark's War series and have found them all to be good reads. With his U.S. Navy background his action sequences are well constructed and delivered. He has a grasp of tactics and battles that rings true and he understands and adheres to reality of physics in his presentation of time lag, ballistics, and the many other things that some science fiction writers gloss over. His plot and character development is a little lacking but not to the point of making the stories unreadable. While not on the scale of an Asimov, Clarke, Heinlein, etc. his books are entertaining and well worth the cost and effort to read them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
good book