×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Stark's War
     

Stark's War

3.5 4
by John G. Hemry, Jack Campbell
 

See All Formats & Editions

The Americans were the first to set foot on the moon. They intend to be the last.
 
The United States of America reigns over Earth as the last surviving superpower. To build a society free of American influence, foreign countries have inhabited the Moon, taking advantage of the natural resources to earn their own riches. Now the U.S. military has

Overview

The Americans were the first to set foot on the moon. They intend to be the last.
 
The United States of America reigns over Earth as the last surviving superpower. To build a society free of American influence, foreign countries have inhabited the Moon, taking advantage of the natural resources to earn their own riches. Now the U.S. military has been ordered to wrest control of Earth’s satellite from America’s rivals.
 
Sergeant Ethan Stark must train his squadron to fight against a desperate enemy in an airless atmosphere at one-sixth normal gravity. Ensuring his team’s survival means choosing which orders to obey--and which to ignore...

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
Praise for the Stark's War series

"A gripping tale of military science fiction, in the tradition of Heinlein's Starship Troopers and Haldeman's Forever War." --Absolute Magnitude

"A rip-roaring race through tomorrow's battlefield, where knowledge is power but stupidity still reigns. Hemry's debut is a great yarn--and a thoughtful cautionary tale." --Mike Shepherd, New York Times bestselling author of Kris Longknife: Bold

"When it comes to combat, Hemry delivers." --William C. Dietz, New York Times bestselling author of Into the Guns

"Gripping. Sergeant Stark is an unforgettable character. Stark's War reads as if Hemry has been there." --Jack McDevitt, Nebula Award-winning author of Thunderbird

Science Fiction Chronicle
Hemry's story is set on the moon, and depicts conflict there in very realistic terms. That was enough to hold my interest in itself, but he also managed to create an intriguing character, a man who performs his duties even though he has some reservations about his government . . . . Overall I was quite impressed and pleased.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780441007158
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
07/26/2011
Series:
Stark's War Series , #1
Pages:
272
Sales rank:
557,300
Product dimensions:
4.20(w) x 6.70(h) x 0.70(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

Meet the Author

John G. Hemry is a retired naval officer who graduated from the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis before serving with the surface fleet and in a variety of other assignments. He is the author of the Paul Sinclair series and the Stark’s War series. As Jack Campbell, he is the New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Fleet series, The Lost Stars series, and Pillars of Reality series. He lives with his indomitable wife and three children in Maryland.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Stark's War 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
During the first century of the new millennium, all the governments of the world collapsed except America, leaving that nation as the only superpower on the planet. American government officials funded the military but political office was awarded to those individuals will to do the corporation¿s bidding. Former President Eisenhower¿s worst nightmare had come to pass as military actions were dictated by corporate profits. Those individuals seeking freedom from the oppression of the United States established colonies on the moon. This situation irked the corporate and political leaders of America, who declared the moon as American territory and dispatched troops to enforce the edict.

The military receive no resistance upon landing on the moon. The colonists are returned to earth while loyal American are transported to the lunar colonies with the military assigned to keep them safe from invasion. Other earthlings band together to stop the American thrust to dominate space as they have done on the planet. The war on the moon lasts for years. Men like NCO Sergeant Ethan Stark lead soldiers into combat, but his loyalties are with the safety of his men and not some government 250,000 miles away.

STARK¿S WAR is a high caliber military science fiction thriller that belies the fact that this is John G. Henry¿s first published novel. The fast-paced story line reads as if the audience is seeing the war first hand due to the nonstop action and the likable characters. Hopefully, Starke stars in a series of novels that should spell adult Skywalker (Luke not Darth).

Harriet Klausner

ejwalsh More than 1 year ago
Authentic, gritty feel to the basic plot premise, the characters' motivations, and the organizational and technical environment. The author doesn't bother to invent whiz-bang technology; the story just assumes the necessary capabilities exist, and the story unfolds. The story is set on the Moon in a near future time when the US government is run by a consortium of corporations. The professional soldiers are under no illusions about high minded goals of this government. They know they are deployed to secure the profits of the earth-side cartels. The protagonist, Sergeant Stark, is capable at his duties, intelligent and a creative problem solver, and is above all else, a man of honor. In his way he is humble. He has a past with horrifying memories that helps provide some of his basic motivations, and sometimes threatens to overwhelm him. He is heroic when the situation calls for it, but is not a thrill seeker or braggart. His peers respect and even love him for his demonstrated qualities. The viewpoint of most of the book is of a single infantry squad, and interactions with Stark's peers, who are other sergeants leading squads. So the combat scenes have a small unit focus. Toward the end of the book, Stark is forced to act on a larger scale when he leads a large scale attack intended to rescue an infantry force recently sent from earth. The reader discovers the high regard Stark's peers hold him in, when they participate with him in a mutiny against their officers and the government back on earth. The story moves right along. Everything that happens is plausible, both in terms of technology and the motives of the characters. A very entertaining read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago