Starring Jules #2: Starring Jules (in drama-rama)

( 3 )

Overview


Jules is back starring in another hilarious chapter book!

Things I Didn't Know About Being on TV
by Jules Bloom

1. Shooting a pilot does not mean what you think it means.
2. On TV, people live in mansions and have drivers!
3. You get to completely change who you are, ...

See more details below
Hardcover
$14.26
BN.com price
(Save 4%)$14.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (21) from $1.99   
  • New (9) from $8.55   
  • Used (12) from $1.99   
Starring Jules #2: Starring Jules (in drama-rama)

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$5.49
BN.com price
(Save 8%)$5.99 List Price
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.

Overview


Jules is back starring in another hilarious chapter book!

Things I Didn't Know About Being on TV
by Jules Bloom

1. Shooting a pilot does not mean what you think it means.
2. On TV, people live in mansions and have drivers!
3. You get to completely change who you are, which everyone but me thinks I can do.
4. You might have to miss the moving up play at school, which no one but me cares about.

When Jules lands a role on a new TV show, she gets stuck choosing between taking part in her class moving up ceremony at school and shooting a sitcom. And that's only half the drama!

With a quiet best friend who won't ever hoot and holler and an ex-best friend who may be moving to the burbs, Jules's insides are all mixed-up. She'll need a little bit of nerve and a whole lot of pizzazz if she wants to make it through the last month of second grade without turning into a drama queen!

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Susan Borges
Jules Bloom, the irrepressible, spunky, and fun-loving city girl, is back to delight young readers with her dilemma...how will she balance a role on a new TV show with the moving-up ceremony for her class at school? Young readers will love Jules because she is a great character, and they will identify with the situations she faces such as friendship problems, nervousness, and anticipation about how things will unfold. Jules takes on the ups and downs of childhood with realism, humor, sensitivity, and creativity. The emotions and problems Jules experiences will resonate with young readers who face similar situations and experiences in their lives. Readers will be drawn to the struggles Jules faces in and out of school. They can learn from Jules and her relationship with her busy, supportive family to whom she turns for questions about right or wrong, her relationship to her classroom teacher, and her relationships with her friends. Young readers will enjoy this fun and exciting story about Jules, and they will look forward to reading more about her in other books in this wonderful series. There are many charming illustrations scattered throughout the pages of the story, and these delightful pen-and-ink illustrations add to the whimsical feel and appealing fun spirit of the whole book. It is likely that all young girls who read this wonderful heart-warming story about Jules, will be racing to the bookstore or library to get the next book about Jules just as soon as they can. Reviewer: Susan Borges
Kirkus Reviews
Second-grader Jules Bloom returns for another audition (Starring Jules (as Herself), 2013)--this time for a television sitcom--with New York City–sized tension and hilarity. Full of energy and charisma, Jules has been asked to audition for a TV show about a New York City family; she would be the youngest of three siblings. Ain gives this bubbly girl a distinctive voice ("I am having so many feelings inside my body that I feel like a pan of shake-over-the-stovetop popcorn") that brims with questions and confidence. Jules skitters from problem to problem like a city cab, balancing her audition with another project: cheering up her new friend Elinor, who is from London. Things are busy at school, too: Her ex–best friend Charlotte continues to steal the limelight there, receiving the plum role in the end-of-the-year play. Soon, the juggling of school, friends and an acting career produces conflicts that even her creative family cannot solve. The multiple problems nearly overwhelm the story; they keep the dramatic tension high, but they also leave a few quick loose ends to tie at the conclusion. Still, Jules is a lovable star with good friends and a supportive family, living a frenetic city life that is constantly entertaining. Fans of Clementine and Gooney Bird Greene will look forward to the next book in the series. (Fiction. 6-9)
From the Publisher

Praise for STARRING JULES (AS HERSELF)

*"Ain gives Jules a truly funny narrative voice; her personality, misunderstandings, and tendency to overthink things are the driving force behind the story…"
--PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, starred review

"Debut author Ain introduces a new chapter-book darling with pizzazz and quite a stage presence."
--KIRKUS REVIEWS

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780545443548
  • Publisher: Scholastic, Inc.
  • Publication date: 8/27/2013
  • Series: Starring Jules Series, #2
  • Pages: 176
  • Sales rank: 518,406
  • Age range: 7 - 10 Years
  • Lexile: 870L (what's this?)
  • Product dimensions: 5.90 (w) x 8.40 (h) x 0.80 (d)

Meet the Author


A Pennsylvania girl at heart, Beth Ain fell in love with life in New York City, and she loves trying to capture the essence of family life there. Thankfully, she now has the benefits of both city and small town life, having settled in Port Washington, NY, where she lives very happily with her husband and their two kids.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Awesuime

    Ithink it awesomre

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2013

    Jules is back in another fun episode of her life.  She has a par

    Jules is back in another fun episode of her life.  She has a part in a movie, sort of and now is going to be on a sitcom!
    I loved the lessons learned in this installment.  I fall more in love with her off the wall personality. Jules is fun and here to stay. Great new fun series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Omg

    I am a fith grade short story author and thi is a story for people who have unexpected luck and stage fright

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)