Starring Jules #2: Starring Jules (in drama-rama)

Starring Jules #2: Starring Jules (in drama-rama)

4.6 3
by Beth Ain
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions


Jules is back, starring in another hilarious chapter book!

Things I Didn't Know About Being on TV
by Jules Bloom

1. Shooting a pilot does not mean what you think it means.
2. On TV, people live in mansions and have drivers!
3. You get to completely change who you are, which everyone but me thinks I can do.
4. You might have to miss the moving up

See more details below

  • Checkmark Kids' Club Eligible  Shop Now

Overview


Jules is back, starring in another hilarious chapter book!

Things I Didn't Know About Being on TV
by Jules Bloom

1. Shooting a pilot does not mean what you think it means.
2. On TV, people live in mansions and have drivers!
3. You get to completely change who you are, which everyone but me thinks I can do.
4. You might have to miss the moving up play at school, which no one but me cares about.

When Jules lands a role on a new TV show, she gets stuck choosing between taking part in her class moving up ceremony at school and shooting a sitcom. And that's only half the drama! With a quiet best friend who won't ever hoot and holler and an ex-best friend who may be moving to the 'burbs, Jules's insides are all mixed up. She'll need a little bit of nerve and a whole lot of pizzazz if she wants to make it through the last month of second grade without turning into a drama queen!

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

Praise for STARRING JULES (AS HERSELF)

*"Ain gives Jules a truly funny narrative voice; her personality, misunderstandings, and tendency to overthink things are the driving force behind the story…"
--PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, starred review

"Debut author Ain introduces a new chapter-book darling with pizzazz and quite a stage presence."
--KIRKUS REVIEWS

Children's Literature - Susan Borges
Jules Bloom, the irrepressible, spunky, and fun-loving city girl, is back to delight young readers with her dilemma...how will she balance a role on a new TV show with the moving-up ceremony for her class at school? Young readers will love Jules because she is a great character, and they will identify with the situations she faces such as friendship problems, nervousness, and anticipation about how things will unfold. Jules takes on the ups and downs of childhood with realism, humor, sensitivity, and creativity. The emotions and problems Jules experiences will resonate with young readers who face similar situations and experiences in their lives. Readers will be drawn to the struggles Jules faces in and out of school. They can learn from Jules and her relationship with her busy, supportive family to whom she turns for questions about right or wrong, her relationship to her classroom teacher, and her relationships with her friends. Young readers will enjoy this fun and exciting story about Jules, and they will look forward to reading more about her in other books in this wonderful series. There are many charming illustrations scattered throughout the pages of the story, and these delightful pen-and-ink illustrations add to the whimsical feel and appealing fun spirit of the whole book. It is likely that all young girls who read this wonderful heart-warming story about Jules, will be racing to the bookstore or library to get the next book about Jules just as soon as they can. Reviewer: Susan Borges
Kirkus Reviews
Second-grader Jules Bloom returns for another audition (Starring Jules (as Herself), 2013)--this time for a television sitcom--with New York City–sized tension and hilarity. Full of energy and charisma, Jules has been asked to audition for a TV show about a New York City family; she would be the youngest of three siblings. Ain gives this bubbly girl a distinctive voice ("I am having so many feelings inside my body that I feel like a pan of shake-over-the-stovetop popcorn") that brims with questions and confidence. Jules skitters from problem to problem like a city cab, balancing her audition with another project: cheering up her new friend Elinor, who is from London. Things are busy at school, too: Her ex–best friend Charlotte continues to steal the limelight there, receiving the plum role in the end-of-the-year play. Soon, the juggling of school, friends and an acting career produces conflicts that even her creative family cannot solve. The multiple problems nearly overwhelm the story; they keep the dramatic tension high, but they also leave a few quick loose ends to tie at the conclusion. Still, Jules is a lovable star with good friends and a supportive family, living a frenetic city life that is constantly entertaining. Fans of Clementine and Gooney Bird Greene will look forward to the next book in the series. (Fiction. 6-9)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780545443555
Publisher:
Scholastic, Inc.
Publication date:
08/26/2014
Series:
Starring Jules Series, #2
Pages:
176
Sales rank:
250,384
Product dimensions:
5.20(w) x 7.40(h) x 0.50(d)
Age Range:
7 - 10 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >