Starring Jules (As Herself) (Starring Jules Series #1)

Starring Jules (As Herself) (Starring Jules Series #1)

4.6 6
by Beth Ain, Anne Keenan Higgins
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions


Lights! Camera! Action! A hilarious chapter book debut from a fabulous new talent!

Things to Know About Me

by Jules Bloom

1. I am a scrambled-eggs-and-chocolate-milk type person.

2. I have an audition for a TV commercial (which would be great if I were a tall-icy-drink type person.)

3. I am in between best friends right now.

4. I am worried that the

…  See more details below

Overview


Lights! Camera! Action! A hilarious chapter book debut from a fabulous new talent!

Things to Know About Me

by Jules Bloom

1. I am a scrambled-eggs-and-chocolate-milk type person.

2. I have an audition for a TV commercial (which would be great if I were a tall-icy-drink type person.)

3. I am in between best friends right now.

4. I am worried that the audition will be a disaster. (See #1 and #3!)

Jules doesn't want to ruin THE OPPORTUNITY OF A LIFETIME, and she's willing to turn to anyone for help--even her know-it-all ex-best friend! If only that lovely new girl in class would turn out to be the new best friend of her dreams, maybe, just maybe, Jules will be ready for her close-up....

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Vivacious Jules Bloom, with her singular wardrobe and all-around flair for the dramatic, hopes to accomplish a great deal before she turns eight, including finding a new best friend, since she’s on the outs with her former bestie, Charlotte. When a casting director invites Jules to audition for a mouthwash commercial, Jules throws herself into preparing for the perfect audition. Setbacks arise—the flavor of the mouthwash, orange, is loathsome to Jules (“Orange anything reminds me of throw up, partly because I threw up in a taxicab after eating... orange sherbet”)—and Charlotte keeps interfering with Jules’s efforts to befriend Elinor, the new girl from London. Ain (The Revolution of Sabine) gives Jules a truly funny narrative voice; her personality, misunderstandings, and tendency to overthink things are the driving force behind the story, though Jules’s relationship with her parents and brother is also a standout. Fans of Judy Moody, Clementine, and other iconoclastic heroines will love getting to know Jules and look forward to the next book in this planned series. Final art not seen by PW. Ages 7�10. Agent: Jill Grinberg, Jill Grinberg Literary Management. (Mar.)
From the Publisher

"Vivacious Jules Bloom, with her singular wardrobe and all-around flair for the dramatic, hopes to accomplish a great deal before she turns eight, including finding a new best friend, since she’s on the outs with her former bestie, Charlotte. When a casting director invites Jules to audition for a mouthwash commercial, Jules throws herself into preparing for the perfect audition. Setbacks arise—the flavor of the mouthwash, orange, is loathsome to Jules (“Orange anything reminds me of throw up, partly because I threw up in a taxicab after eating... orange sherbet”)—and Charlotte keeps interfering with Jules’s efforts to befriend Elinor, the new girl from London. Ain (The Revolution of Sabine) gives Jules a truly funny narrative voice; her personality, misunderstandings, and tendency to overthink things are the driving force behind the story, though Jules’s relationship with her parents and brother is also a standout. Fans of Judy Moody, Clementine, and other iconoclastic heroines will love getting to know Jules and look forward to the next book in this planned series." - Publishers Weekly starred review

Children's Literature - Jody Little
Almost eight-year-old Jules Bloom is thrilled when a woman in the ice cream shop tells her she has pizzazz and suggests she audition for a mouth wash commercial. Jules wants to tell her best friend, Charlotte, about the commercial, but Charlotte is no longer her best friend. She hopes that the new girl in class, Elinor of London, will soon become her new best friend. When Jules finds out that the mouth wash she will be using for the commercial is orange flavored, she panics. She does not like orange flavored anything! It makes her throw up. Her family and friends try to help and offer tips, but on the day of the audition, things do not go as planned for the commercial, but she does win back her best friend Charlotte and new friend, Elinor. Jules is a funny and spunky chapter book character. Eager readers in primary grades will enjoy her adventures, laugh at her antics, and anticipate the second book in the "Starring Jules" series. Reviewer: Jody Little
Kirkus Reviews
Seven-year-old Jules has been asked to audition for a television commercial. But she needs help. Will she turn to her know-it-all ex-best friend for it? Debut author Ain introduces a new chapter-book darling with pizzazz and quite a stage presence. But Jules is in the middle of a mean fight with her former best friend, Charlotte. Charlotte and two other friends went on vacation to a snooty resort together without Jules, leaving her feeling left out from all their newfound sophistication. But with the opportunity of a lifetime four days away, Jules doesn't have the time to stay angry with Charlotte. With a first-person perspective similar to Junie B. Jones, this list-making little girl's voice seems forced in places. A catalog of clothing decisions, from overalls covered in red poppies to argyle knee socks sounds nearly logical instead of feeling free-spirited or even youthful. It is also a wee bit disheartening to see such young girls fighting with cable TV–worthy vitriol, with fancy hotel towels and manicures as the cause. The storyline firms up once Grandma Gilda is called and travels to be by Jules' side. The audition provides great tension with a hilarious outcome that leads to real emotion and a satisfying end. Though not as distinctive as Clementine, Jules eventually settles, becoming a vulnerable and likable heroine. (Fiction. 6-9)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780545443524
Publisher:
Scholastic, Inc.
Publication date:
03/01/2013
Series:
Starring Jules Series, #1
Pages:
160
Sales rank:
761,328
Product dimensions:
5.68(w) x 8.76(h) x 0.66(d)
Lexile:
790L (what's this?)
Age Range:
7 - 10 Years

Meet the Author


A Pennsylvania girl at heart, Beth Ain fell in love with life in New York City, and she loves trying to capture the essence of family life there. Thankfully, she now has the benefits of both city and small town life, having settled in Port Washington, NY, where she lives very happily with her husband and their two kids.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Starring Jules (As Herself) 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
WereJumpin More than 1 year ago
My Review: This is such a cute read. It reminds me a lot of my daughter, and I know she will enjoy this series, not only now but later. I love the fact that Jules keeps lists, as even being an adult I keep lists too. I thought this was normal? No? Starring Jules reminds me of Junie B with a mix of Fancy Nancy. I absolutely adore it. I loved it when Beth wrote out how the new student sounds with her accent, brilliant! I can not wait for the rest of this series, I mean, who could totally pass up on a sparking, dancy, imagination little girl? Jules even learns words like: pizzazz, snazzy, and improvise. I love adding vocabulary to my daughter’s world, and with this book it is easily done! About the Author: A Pennsylvania girl at heart, Beth Ain fell in love with life in New York City, and she loves trying to capture the essence of family life there. Thankfully, she now has the benefits of both city and small-town life, having settled in Port Washington, New York, where she lives very happily with her husband and their two kids. Disclosure: I received this book for free from NetGalley/Scholastic Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
book4children More than 1 year ago
This is a super cute chapter book about a quirky girl with crazy emotions. Jules has a funny voice and is entertaining to follow. This is a simple book great for kids just starting out reading chapters. The illustrations are adorable and add to the personality of the book and the main character. Girls especially will be able to relate to the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Starring Jules Series #1: Starring Jules (As Herself) WRITTEN: Ain, Beth ILLUSTRATED: Keenan Higgins, Anne My summary: Will Jules get center stage or mess up? Jules Bloom will not eat anything orange-flavored. She is in between best friends. Then one day at a diner, someone comments that she would be perfect for a commercial! Turns out that the commercial is for orange-flavored mouthwash. Jules is panicking! The arrival of a new student (from London!!), a little bit about astrology, almost giving up on her hope ever since that new girl came, and every strategy known all fail. Will Jules get the commercial or not? And if she doesn't, will it be the end? My comment: Ain creates a masterpiece of, well, an amazing book. None of the characters arebperfect, but they are all positive. This must-read will stay on my shelf. Keenan Higgins's illustrations capture the story perfectly.
Morganjs More than 1 year ago
This is a great chapter book for young readers. It was short, easy to read, and very entertaining! I found myself laughing as I read this book that is meant for kids! It was so fun! Jules was such a fun character. She was so spunky!  The storyline was great. It was not really relatable in the sense that most kids don't get to actually audition to be an actor. However, what kid doesn't dream of that? It was a great idea, and something that I would have loved reading as a kid. I received this book for free in return for an honest review. 
EKarrReads More than 1 year ago
 Fabulous chapter book series with a fun new character in the vein of Junie B and Judy Moody! Wacky and fun! Love the characters and fun family! 
NCarter225 More than 1 year ago
This was a wonderful book for my eight year old....she read it in three days and can't wait for sequel.