Starring Jules #1: Starring Jules (as herself)

Starring Jules #1: Starring Jules (as herself)

4.6 6
by Beth Ain
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Lights! Camera! Action! A hilarious chapter book debut from a fabulous new talent! Things to Know About Me by Jules Bloom 1. I am a scrambled-eggs-and-chocolate-milk type person. 2. I have an audition for a TV commercial (which would be great if I were a tall-icy-drink type person.) 3. I am in between best friends right now. 4. I am worried that the audition…  See more details below

Overview

Lights! Camera! Action! A hilarious chapter book debut from a fabulous new talent! Things to Know About Me by Jules Bloom 1. I am a scrambled-eggs-and-chocolate-milk type person. 2. I have an audition for a TV commercial (which would be great if I were a tall-icy-drink type person.) 3. I am in between best friends right now. 4. I am worried that the audition will be a disaster. (See #1 and #3!) Jules doesn't want to ruin THE OPPORTUNITY OF A LIFETIME, and she's willing to turn to anyone for help--even her know-it-all ex-best friend! If only that lovely new girl in class would turn out to be the new best friend of her dreams, maybe, just maybe, Jules will be ready for her close-up....

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal
Gr 2–4—Readers who can't wait for the next Clementine, Gooney Bird, or Judy Moody will be pleased to meet feisty seven-year-old Jules Bloom. She and her family are in a restaurant when a casting director invites her to audition for a mouthwash commercial. Jules works hard to learn her lines and worries about all the things that could go wrong. She tries to make new friends while inadvertently patching things up with her ex-best friend. Her greatest challenge comes when she learns that the mouthwash has an orange flavor, which she detests. Of course everything works out, and Important Lessons about friendship and life are learned. The child's lively voice will hold the attention of young readers, but she often sounds older than seven. The large-print text is interspersed with cheery line drawings; Jules's lists, such as "Things I will NOT do at my audition: 1. Burp into the microphone when I mean to sing into the microphone"; and playful chapter titles like "Take Six: promising playdates, spaghetti with peanut butter, and other distractions."—Amelia Jenkins, Juneau Public Library, AK

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780545520478
Publisher:
Scholastic, Inc.
Publication date:
03/01/2013
Series:
Starring Jules , #1
Sold by:
Scholastic, Inc.
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
160
Sales rank:
342,951
File size:
5 MB
Age Range:
7 - 10 Years

Meet the Author


A Pennsylvania girl at heart, Beth Ain fell in love with life in New York City, and she loves trying to capture the essence of family life there. Thankfully, she now has the benefits of both city and small town life, having settled in Port Washington, NY, where she lives very happily with her husband and their two kids.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Starring Jules (As Herself) 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
WereJumpin More than 1 year ago
My Review: This is such a cute read. It reminds me a lot of my daughter, and I know she will enjoy this series, not only now but later. I love the fact that Jules keeps lists, as even being an adult I keep lists too. I thought this was normal? No? Starring Jules reminds me of Junie B with a mix of Fancy Nancy. I absolutely adore it. I loved it when Beth wrote out how the new student sounds with her accent, brilliant! I can not wait for the rest of this series, I mean, who could totally pass up on a sparking, dancy, imagination little girl? Jules even learns words like: pizzazz, snazzy, and improvise. I love adding vocabulary to my daughter’s world, and with this book it is easily done! About the Author: A Pennsylvania girl at heart, Beth Ain fell in love with life in New York City, and she loves trying to capture the essence of family life there. Thankfully, she now has the benefits of both city and small-town life, having settled in Port Washington, New York, where she lives very happily with her husband and their two kids. Disclosure: I received this book for free from NetGalley/Scholastic Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
book4children More than 1 year ago
This is a super cute chapter book about a quirky girl with crazy emotions. Jules has a funny voice and is entertaining to follow. This is a simple book great for kids just starting out reading chapters. The illustrations are adorable and add to the personality of the book and the main character. Girls especially will be able to relate to the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Starring Jules Series #1: Starring Jules (As Herself) WRITTEN: Ain, Beth ILLUSTRATED: Keenan Higgins, Anne My summary: Will Jules get center stage or mess up? Jules Bloom will not eat anything orange-flavored. She is in between best friends. Then one day at a diner, someone comments that she would be perfect for a commercial! Turns out that the commercial is for orange-flavored mouthwash. Jules is panicking! The arrival of a new student (from London!!), a little bit about astrology, almost giving up on her hope ever since that new girl came, and every strategy known all fail. Will Jules get the commercial or not? And if she doesn't, will it be the end? My comment: Ain creates a masterpiece of, well, an amazing book. None of the characters arebperfect, but they are all positive. This must-read will stay on my shelf. Keenan Higgins's illustrations capture the story perfectly.
Morganjs More than 1 year ago
This is a great chapter book for young readers. It was short, easy to read, and very entertaining! I found myself laughing as I read this book that is meant for kids! It was so fun! Jules was such a fun character. She was so spunky!  The storyline was great. It was not really relatable in the sense that most kids don't get to actually audition to be an actor. However, what kid doesn't dream of that? It was a great idea, and something that I would have loved reading as a kid. I received this book for free in return for an honest review. 
EKarrReads More than 1 year ago
 Fabulous chapter book series with a fun new character in the vein of Junie B and Judy Moody! Wacky and fun! Love the characters and fun family! 
NCarter225 More than 1 year ago
This was a wonderful book for my eight year old....she read it in three days and can't wait for sequel.