Stars: The Anthology

Stars: The Anthology

by Janis Ian
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Original Stories Based on the Songs of Janis Ian
AUTHOR'S PREFERRED EDITION.
Janis Ian and 30 top science fiction writers team up to create an astonishing book of original short fiction. STARS is a huge anthology in both volume and talent. Each story, available only here, is based on a Janis Ian song that meant something special to the author, who then wrote… See more details below

Overview

Original Stories Based on the Songs of Janis Ian
AUTHOR'S PREFERRED EDITION.
Janis Ian and 30 top science fiction writers team up to create an astonishing book of original short fiction. STARS is a huge anthology in both volume and talent. Each story, available only here, is based on a Janis Ian song that meant something special to the author, who then wrote the story expressly for STARS, creating a meld of jazz, prose and science fiction found nowhere else —a treasure trove for fans of both SF and Janis Ian! Also, this edition of STARS features an original new story by Michael Swanwick, “For I Have Lain Me Down on The Stone of Loneliness and I’ll Not Be Back Again,” based on “Mary’s Eyes,” a Janis Ian song that has always moved him to tears.

STARS was compiled and edited by Mike Resnick and Janis Ian and includes stories by Nebula winners and science fiction greats such as Joe Haldeman, Jane Yolen, Gregory Benford, Orson Scott Card, and more. It also includes Ian's first original story, "Prayerville."

As Janis herself says, "The stories have heart. They have life. They have truth. They move me. As an artist, I can ask for nothing more."

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940014656344
Publisher:
Lucky Bat Books / Rude Girl Publishing
Publication date:
02/05/2014
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
568
Sales rank:
832,451
File size:
1 MB

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >