×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Stars: The Anthology
     

Stars: The Anthology

by Janis Ian, Mike Resnick
 

See All Formats & Editions

Original Stories Based on the Songs of Janis Ian
AUTHOR'S PREFERRED EDITION.
Janis Ian and 30 top science fiction writers team up to create an astonishing book of original short fiction. STARS is a huge anthology in both volume and talent. Each story, available only here, is based on a Janis Ian song that meant something special to the author, who then wrote

Overview

Original Stories Based on the Songs of Janis Ian
AUTHOR'S PREFERRED EDITION.
Janis Ian and 30 top science fiction writers team up to create an astonishing book of original short fiction. STARS is a huge anthology in both volume and talent. Each story, available only here, is based on a Janis Ian song that meant something special to the author, who then wrote the story expressly for STARS, creating a meld of jazz, prose and science fiction found nowhere else —a treasure trove for fans of both SF and Janis Ian! Also, this edition of STARS features an original new story by Michael Swanwick, “For I Have Lain Me Down on The Stone of Loneliness and I’ll Not Be Back Again,” based on “Mary’s Eyes,” a Janis Ian song that has always moved him to tears.

STARS was compiled and edited by Mike Resnick and Janis Ian and includes stories by Nebula winners and science fiction greats such as Joe Haldeman, Jane Yolen, Gregory Benford, Orson Scott Card, and more. It also includes Ian's first original story, "Prayerville."

As Janis herself says, "The stories have heart. They have life. They have truth. They move me. As an artist, I can ask for nothing more."

Product Details

BN ID:
2940014656344
Publisher:
Lucky Bat Books / Rude Girl Publishing
Publication date:
02/05/2014
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
568
File size:
869 KB

Meet the Author

Janis Ian began her career as a singer-songwriter in the 1960s with "Society's Child." In 1975, she won her first Grammy Award for the self-penned song, "At Seventeen." Since then she has had #1 hits all over the world, sold more than 10 million albums, and had her songs recorded by such diverse artists as Bette Midler, Roberta Flack, and John Mellencamp. She shows no signs of slowing down, recently beginning yet another career as an audio book narrator (which earned her a ninth nomination and second Grammy in 2013 for Society's Child: My Autobiography). Among her current projects are The Tiny Mouse, her first children's book; a series of master classes with the Stella Adler School; tours of Europe, the United Kingdom, and Japan, a young adult novel, and a series of new recordings.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews