×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Starstruck
     

Starstruck

4.1 51
by Brenda Hiatt
 

See All Formats & Editions

Nerdy astronomy geek Marsha, M to her few friends, has never been anybody special. Orphaned as an infant and reluctantly raised by an overly-strict "aunt," she's not even sure who she is. M's dream of someday escaping tiny Jewel, Indiana and making her mark in the world seems impossibly distant until hot new quarterback Rigel inexplicably befriends her. As Rigel turns

Overview

Nerdy astronomy geek Marsha, M to her few friends, has never been anybody special. Orphaned as an infant and reluctantly raised by an overly-strict "aunt," she's not even sure who she is. M's dream of someday escaping tiny Jewel, Indiana and making her mark in the world seems impossibly distant until hot new quarterback Rigel inexplicably befriends her. As Rigel turns his back on fawning cheerleaders to spend time with M, strange things start to happen: her acne clears up, her eyesight improves to the point she can ditch her thick glasses, and when they touch, sparks fly-literally! When M digs for a reason, she discovers deep secrets that will change her formerly humdrum life forever . . . and expose her to perils she never dreamed of. Yes, the middle of nowhere just got a lot more interesting!

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781491251942
Publisher:
CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date:
08/22/2013
Pages:
328
Sales rank:
472,554
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.73(d)

Meet the Author

Brenda Hiatt is the author of nearly twenty novels (so far), including traditional Regency romance, time travel romance, historical romance, and humorous mystery. She is as excited about her new STARSTRUCK series as she's ever been about any of her books. In addition to writing, Brenda is passionate about embracing life to the fullest, to include scuba diving (she has over 60 dives to her credit), Taekwondo (where she recently achieved her 2nd degree black belt), hiking, traveling, and pursuing new experiences and skills. She is an active member of Romance Writers of America, the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators, and Novelists, Inc, an international organization of multipublished novelists, where she served as President in 2006. For the past dozen years, Brenda has also collected data on writers' earnings, which she shares at her website, http://brendahiatt.com You can also find Brenda on Facebook, Twitter (@Brenda_Hiatt), Tumblr, Goodreads and Wattpad.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Starstruck 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 51 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved how this fresh story kept surprising me. Marsha's character engaged me right from the first page and each chapter end made me want to turn another page to find out what would happen to her next! I really liked how believable all the characters were. When does the next book in this series come out?
S_V_H More than 1 year ago
STARSTRUCK lives up to the power of its title. Like M, I too was the nerdy girl in a small town school who never quite fit in. Accomplished author Brenda Hiatt has captured well the themes of a great coming-of-age story: identity, one's place in the social structure, the need to love and be loved, and the certain knowledge that the adults in one's life simply don't understand. From high school social politics to interstellar political drama, Hiatt takes us on a star-studded journey to identify the real M. Complete with a star quarterback named Rigel and a story of star-crossed lovers, this novel will be a satisfying fantasy read for every "ordinary" girl who, like M, dreams of becoming more. Fans of TWILIGHT and HARRY POTTER may hear faint echoes of their favorite scenes and will find new favorite scenes to join them. Read and enjoy! You too may become STARSTRUCK. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this whole series. It was romance without over the top sex. The plot twists were exciting.  I read this series on my Nook but then turned around and bought all the books so I could share this with my  Daughters and granddaughters. Discriptive writing and well thought out alternate world. I was very grateful for the clean text, no swear words at all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the best book ever!!! Loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A well-written 280 page free book of fantasy from every day life about a self-conscious, geeky teenage girl with acne and thick glasses starting her high school sophmore year, and meeting then obsessing over the gorgeous new guy and quarterback. Teenage ANGST, teenage DRAMA, nasty, snarky, obsessive, clutzsy, some humor and romance, with science fiction thrown in with good guys vs bad guys. Holding hands and kissing and adventure. The obsessing and self downers get repetitive with the drama but it is a teenage romance story. A short excerpt from next in series is also provided.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It says in the back that it is part of a series. Can not wait for the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing!!! I love how the author used imadre to kinda set the sceen I allsothink this is a great book for all ages!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very interesting story line. Nice characters and a nice start to a sweet romance. Book two is even better.
Anonymous 9 days ago
I promise you will love the end of this series. Yes, the book is design for young readers, so older readers keep that in mind while reading. The story line pulled me in. It is unique. I recommend to those who believe love can conquer all.
Anonymous 9 months ago
Dizneyfreek 12 months ago
Sweet story. I didn't want to put down
Anonymous 12 months ago
Anonymous 12 months ago
Although this was aimed at a younger audience than me, I enjoyed the story. I look forward to reading the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thid was not a good book. It was too slow and boring.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved reading this book. Would love fo know how I could buy fhe rest of the series of this book. It has everything from romance to mystery. Did not want to put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just couldn't get lost in a world where the it was so.jumbled the whole time I'm wondering what's even going on in the book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not stop reading. I reccommed every one to read this book. I am going to be reading the rest of series.
Ziff130 More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down. I had to keep reading to find out what would happen next. That being said, there was also a lot of "cheese" in this book. There is some teenage "love" going on. They say things that are very lovey-dovey and I had to skim over those scenes because it was a bit too much cheese for me. It's mainly because there's so much of it and there's only so much I can take. Also, the romance was a key point to the story, so it couldn't have been taken out completely - maybe just dialed down some. I can't give you more than that without giving spoilers, so know that the romance is important and that's all I can say. The story was awesome and I barely stopped long enough to feed my children. So, if you don't mind a little sappy teen romance and want a story that can pull you in, this is the book for you. It's sort of like Twilight meets Wings with a sci-fi twist. My full review is located on my blog: http://bit.ly/29IULni
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is complete and stsnds alone, although it is first in the series. It rings true. I enjoyed the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
M is nerdy astromy-loving girl who can fry a brand new computer with the touch of her finger. She wears glasses, has messy hair, and pimples and isnt very popular at school. Her description reminds me of average books nowadays. Almost every romance book I read starts with the lead girl being unattractive then eventualy becoming..well, attractive! The few books not like this have the girl be ridiculously stunning. Why cant a girl just be decent-looking? She doesnt have to be pimply or down right amazing. Besides that, M is an interesting character is true to humanity, unless you want to count when she was little, she doesnt have crazy dreams of marrying a prince. The guy she meets had the same antielectronic thing she has, and tells her a secret that will change her life( and looks) forever.
Blondeness032 More than 1 year ago
I enjoy escaping in an interesting story. This was not interesting, original or well told.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the story! It's amazing! Just one thing though... the star Rigil is actual the 5th brightest star in the sky.