State of Mind

State of Mind

4.2 9
by Sven Davison
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

In the not-too-distant future, freedom is just a word that you willingly trade for a dozen donuts, based on the dubious promise that you can eat what you want and never gain weight. You can also take drugs with no ill effects or call a friend while surfing the web without a phone or computer. All this and more will be yours following the simple installation of a… See more details below

Overview

In the not-too-distant future, freedom is just a word that you willingly trade for a dozen donuts, based on the dubious promise that you can eat what you want and never gain weight. You can also take drugs with no ill effects or call a friend while surfing the web without a phone or computer. All this and more will be yours following the simple installation of a P-Chip in your brain.

After botching the arrest of the governor’s son in Los Angeles, Commander Jake Travissi is banned from law enforcement. The workaholic homicide cop spirals into depression...until he is given a rare second chance. The price? Volunteer for chip implantation and join Homeland Security’s experimental Enhanced Unit.

The grisly assassination of a prominent Nobel Laureate brings the newly formed Unit on the scene to investigate. But as the body count rises, Jake begins to realize that his actions, and even his thoughts, are not his own. Fighting to regain control of his own State of Mind, Jake finds himself embroiled in a global conspiracy to enslave the human race!

State of Mind is a cyberpunk thriller inspired by tales crafted by Philip K. Dick and William Gibson. If you liked The Matrix, Blade Runner, Inception, Avatar, and Minority Report, you’ll love State of Mind.

Even if you're not a fan of science fiction, this speculative fiction book will give you chills and stick with you long after you've finished the book.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Bill Hunt
A great read! A classic near-future techno-thriller, with layers of intrigue, interesting twists and just a dash of pulp mixed in for good measure. Sven Davison's State of Mind is an engrossing journey through a well-considered and completely plausible world.
Leonid Korogodski
State of Mind is an action-filled, engrossing journey across the tortuous emotional landscape of mind control, where nothing is quite what it seems—for everyone involved. A must-read for Pin Heads and God Heads alike—and for the casual observers.
Antony Jones
An intelligent, thought provoking, cinematic post-cyberpunk thriller and a great read.
Charles de Lauzirika
State of Mind is an action-packed cyber-thriller that transports us to a futuristic dystopia where the most dangerous battlefield is the human mind. Fans of Philip K. Dick and William Gibson will find much to enjoy -- and fear -- in the dark and mysterious world Sven Davison has so effectively created."
Alice Bola
There are some crazy twists and turns in this novel and the ending? One word… WOW. It totally blew me away. There are plenty of shocking, hanging on the edge of my seat moments.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940012296818
Publisher:
Bedouin Press
Publication date:
03/01/2011
Series:
God Head Trilogy , #1
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
389
Sales rank:
1,024,160
File size:
1 MB

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >