State's Evidence (A Beverly Mendoza Legal Thriller)

State's Evidence (A Beverly Mendoza Legal Thriller)

3.7 12
by R. Barri Flowers
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Assistant District Attorney Beverly Mendoza appears to have an open and shut case when she prosecutes Rafael Santiago for the murder of a judge and the sexual assault of his wife in Eagles Landing, a town in Northern California. Santiago was recently released from prison and had a grudge against the judge. But her case against the suspect is put in jeopardy when…  See more details below

Overview

Assistant District Attorney Beverly Mendoza appears to have an open and shut case when she prosecutes Rafael Santiago for the murder of a judge and the sexual assault of his wife in Eagles Landing, a town in Northern California. Santiago was recently released from prison and had a grudge against the judge. But her case against the suspect is put in jeopardy when career criminal Manuel Gonzalez, arrested for the murder of a young woman, also confesses to killing the judge.

As Beverly and Wilameta County Sheriff�s Homicide Detective Stone Palmer try to sort out fact from fiction, a case of mistaken identity becomes a real possibility. Or is it more likely that two violent men with close ties are trying to beat the system?

Further complicating matters is Beverly�s romantic involvement with criminal lawyer turned judge, Grant Nunez, in an apparent conflict of interest. She also battles personal crises, including a father with Alzheimer�s disease.

REVIEWS

�An electrifying and enthralling legal thriller that will appeal to readers of Nancy Taylor Rosenberg and Barbara Parker. The courtroom scenes are very realistic and the heroine is someone readers will empathize with and admire as a role model for minorities and women.� � Harriet Klausner

�Flowers once again has written a page-turner legal thriller that begins with a bang and rapidly moves along to its final page. He has filled the novel with believable characters and situations.� � Midwest Book Review

�This legal thriller will have you on the edge of your seats. The courtroom scenes are unforgettable and very believable.... State�s Evidence is a must have for any fan of suspense books.� � Shades of Romance Magazine

�A well-written thriller with an opening scene that would cause anyone to keep turning the pages.... It�s fast-paced, intriguing, satisfying, and I highly recommend it to you.� � Romance Reader At Heart

�A mixture of murder, mystery, madness and mayhem. The story was well-written and believable, and at times erotic. Flowers inflicted the characters with human flaws, among them the desire for love and revenge.� � RAWSISTAZ Reviewers

�Just when you think you have figured the plot out, R. Barri Flowers throws another curve.... It was well worth the time taken to read it.� � Roundtable Reviews

�Has a varied, multicultural cast of interesting characters, both good and evil.... Plot is clever and intriguing with unusual twists, with the suspense escalating rapidly.� � Romance Reviews Today

�An intriguing story of murder, madness and mayhem, with a slight blend of mystery. Flowers depicts believable characters in this suspenseful legal thriller.� � Romantic Times

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940012059772
Publisher:
R. Barri Flowers
Publication date:
07/29/2013
Series:
Beverly Mendoza Legal Mysteries , #1
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
588,993
File size:
254 KB

Meet the Author

R. Barri Flowers is an award winning criminologist, bestselling crime writer, and the author of more than forty books, including the thrillers Dead in the Rose City, Justice Served, Persuasive Evidence, and State�s Evidence; as well as the bestselling true crime classic, The Sex Slave Murders. His criminology titles include Prostitution in the Digital Age, The Prostitution of Women and Girls, and Male Crime and Deviance.

Visit www.rbarriflowers.com to learn more about the author�s upcoming titles. Connect with R. Barri Flowers on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, MySpace, and CrimeSpace. The author resides in the Pacific Northwest and is busy at work on his next mystery novels, Murder in Maui and Dark Streets of Whitechapel.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

State's Evidence 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent read....incredible plot kept me up all hours of the nite. Some interesting surprises. I live the way she draws you into each chsracter. Dont miss this one
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love legal thrillers and this one was especially good. A female prosecutor and homicide detective play cat and mouse with two wicked killers, putting the prosecutor in the line of fire. If you like legal fiction by Lisa Scottolinr, Linda Fairstein, or John Grisham, you will be right at home with STATE'S EVIDENCE. Also recommend Flowers other legal thrillers, PERSUASIVE EVIDENCE and JUSTICE SERVED.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I found STATE'S EVIDENCE to be nothing short of superb --from the opening scenes to the conclusion. There were some excellent and riveting courtroom scenes that were balanced with a well-developed police procedural and a strong and satisfying romance between the protagonist prosecutor and her lover lawyer turned judge. The story will keep you guessing as to who killed whom till the end. As a true fan of legal thrillers, this one rates right up there with the best from Grisham, Rosenberg, Scottoline, Turow, and Fairstein. Highly recommended!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book should have a warning on the cover - 'SEXUALLY EXPLICIT' I was amazed at the detailed and various ways the author described people having sex, being raped, etc. in every chapter. I also was disappointed in the racial and socio-economic slurs throughout this book. If you are hispanic, 'creamy,' short, overweight or a blue-collar worker, you were labeled by the author as a lower class citizen - at best. This author clearly needs therapy. I will definitely not recommend this book to anyone!
harstan More than 1 year ago
After winning a capital murder case in Judge Crawford¿s courtroom, Assistant District Attorney in Wilameta County in Northern California Beverly Mendoza and her co-chair and lover Deputy D.A. Grant Nunez celebrate. So does the judge and his young wife but their party dissolves into a massacre when a Latina male kills the judge and brutally rapes his wife. Through good eye witnesses testimony the wife is able to point out the killer, rapist Rafael Santiago, in two line ups. The judge had sentenced him to hard time twelve years behind bars. he vowed revenge when he was sentenced. --- Beverly is the prosecuting attorney and Grant, who has been appointed as a judge, is on the bench for what seems like a slam dunk case. While at a Burger King with her son, Beverly spots a man who looks almost identical to Rafael. The police are looking for Manuel Gonzalez in the death of at least three women and he has singled out Beverly as her next target. He is arrested before he can harm her but he throws a monkey wrench into Rafael¿s case and causes Beverly to doubt her own beliefs. --- R. Barri Flowers has written an electrifying and enthralling legal thriller that will appeal to readers of Nancy Taylor Rosenberg and Barbara Parker. The courtroom scenes are very realistic and the heroine is someone readers will empathize with and admire as a role model for minorities and women. STATE¿S EVIDENCE would make a great action packed move. --- Harriet Klausner