State's Evidence

State's Evidence

3.7 12
by R. Barri Flowers
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

In Eagles Landing, California, Assistant District Attorney Beverly Mendoza has been selected to prosecute a disturbing case: the brutal murder of a local judge and the rape of his wife. The defendant, Rafael Santiago, once vowed to get revenge against the judge for sending him to prison, and the judge's wife picked him out of a line-up. It seems like an

Overview

In Eagles Landing, California, Assistant District Attorney Beverly Mendoza has been selected to prosecute a disturbing case: the brutal murder of a local judge and the rape of his wife. The defendant, Rafael Santiago, once vowed to get revenge against the judge for sending him to prison, and the judge's wife picked him out of a line-up. It seems like an open-and-shut case. But appearances can be very deceiving.

At the same time, homicide detective Stone Palmer is investigating the rape and strangling of a young woman. Career criminal Manuel Gonzalez is in custody for the crime, but he pulls the rug out from everyone when he claims he's the one who murdered the judge. Could it be a case of mistaken identity? Or two desperate, violent men out to manipulate and beat the system?

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780843955712
Publisher:
Dorchester Publishing Company, Inc.
Publication date:
04/28/2006
Series:
Leisure Books
Pages:
386
Product dimensions:
4.28(w) x 6.78(h) x 1.08(d)

Meet the Author

R. Barri Flowers is an award winning criminologist, bestselling crime writer, and the author of more than forty books, including the thrillers Dead in the Rose City, Justice Served, Persuasive Evidence, and State’s Evidence; as well as the bestselling true crime classic, The Sex Slave Murders. His criminology titles include Prostitution in the Digital Age, The Prostitution of Women and Girls, and Male Crime and Deviance.

Visit www.rbarriflowers.com to learn more about the author’s upcoming titles. Connect with R. Barri Flowers on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, MySpace, and CrimeSpace. The author resides in the Pacific Northwest and is busy at work on his next mystery novels, Murder in Maui and Dark Streets of Whitechapel.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

State's Evidence 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent read....incredible plot kept me up all hours of the nite. Some interesting surprises. I live the way she draws you into each chsracter. Dont miss this one
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love legal thrillers and this one was especially good. A female prosecutor and homicide detective play cat and mouse with two wicked killers, putting the prosecutor in the line of fire. If you like legal fiction by Lisa Scottolinr, Linda Fairstein, or John Grisham, you will be right at home with STATE'S EVIDENCE. Also recommend Flowers other legal thrillers, PERSUASIVE EVIDENCE and JUSTICE SERVED.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I found STATE'S EVIDENCE to be nothing short of superb --from the opening scenes to the conclusion. There were some excellent and riveting courtroom scenes that were balanced with a well-developed police procedural and a strong and satisfying romance between the protagonist prosecutor and her lover lawyer turned judge. The story will keep you guessing as to who killed whom till the end. As a true fan of legal thrillers, this one rates right up there with the best from Grisham, Rosenberg, Scottoline, Turow, and Fairstein. Highly recommended!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book should have a warning on the cover - 'SEXUALLY EXPLICIT' I was amazed at the detailed and various ways the author described people having sex, being raped, etc. in every chapter. I also was disappointed in the racial and socio-economic slurs throughout this book. If you are hispanic, 'creamy,' short, overweight or a blue-collar worker, you were labeled by the author as a lower class citizen - at best. This author clearly needs therapy. I will definitely not recommend this book to anyone!
harstan More than 1 year ago
After winning a capital murder case in Judge Crawford¿s courtroom, Assistant District Attorney in Wilameta County in Northern California Beverly Mendoza and her co-chair and lover Deputy D.A. Grant Nunez celebrate. So does the judge and his young wife but their party dissolves into a massacre when a Latina male kills the judge and brutally rapes his wife. Through good eye witnesses testimony the wife is able to point out the killer, rapist Rafael Santiago, in two line ups. The judge had sentenced him to hard time twelve years behind bars. he vowed revenge when he was sentenced. --- Beverly is the prosecuting attorney and Grant, who has been appointed as a judge, is on the bench for what seems like a slam dunk case. While at a Burger King with her son, Beverly spots a man who looks almost identical to Rafael. The police are looking for Manuel Gonzalez in the death of at least three women and he has singled out Beverly as her next target. He is arrested before he can harm her but he throws a monkey wrench into Rafael¿s case and causes Beverly to doubt her own beliefs. --- R. Barri Flowers has written an electrifying and enthralling legal thriller that will appeal to readers of Nancy Taylor Rosenberg and Barbara Parker. The courtroom scenes are very realistic and the heroine is someone readers will empathize with and admire as a role model for minorities and women. STATE¿S EVIDENCE would make a great action packed move. --- Harriet Klausner