Stepping Into Sunlight by Sharon Hinck | NOOK Book (eBook) | Barnes & Noble
Stepping Into Sunlight

Stepping Into Sunlight

4.6 12
by Sharon Hinck
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

After Penny Sullivan witnesses a shocking crime, her world tips sideways. Suddenly things like getting groceries, mowing the grass, and returning phone calls are more than she can handle. But with her husband away at sea and her seven-year-old son depending on her, hiding in the closet isn't an option. Hoping to recover by the time her husband gets home, she picks

Overview

After Penny Sullivan witnesses a shocking crime, her world tips sideways. Suddenly things like getting groceries, mowing the grass, and returning phone calls are more than she can handle. But with her husband away at sea and her seven-year-old son depending on her, hiding in the closet isn't an option. Hoping to recover by the time her husband gets home, she picks up her trusty yellow notebook and formulates a restoration plan: Do one kind thing for another person every day. The results are sometimes funny, sometimes heartbreaking, and often brilliantly surprising...

"It's official--if the book says Sharon Hinck on the spine, I'm buying it!"--Kathryn Mackel, bestselling author

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

Hinck, a 2008 Christy finalist for visionary fiction, offers an especially grounded tale of sudden trauma and slow healing. Narrator Penny Sullivan witnesses a horrific crime shortly before her navy chaplain husband is deployed, so she is forced to cope alone with the psychological fallout from what she saw. Family issues from her past complicate her struggle and enhance its credibility. Strong Christian themes form a natural part of the narrative. Penny Sullivan's faith is shaken, and she wonders why God would appear to permit evil and whether her emotional turmoil can be healed. A supporting cast of characters, from a nosy neighbor to the busy faithful servant to the downtrodden who heads a local mission, adds quirk and richness. Hinck is a mother of four, and it shows in authentic details in her characterization of the narrator's worried, loving seven-year-old son who gets his first pet in some cute comic relief. Hinck has done her homework on post-traumatic stress syndrome, and is not afraid to show readers that challenges can deepen faith. (Oct.)

Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.
Fark FaithfulReader.com
...this might be a good book for Christian counselors to give victims of trauma or anxiety, for friends and family of trauma victims, for book groups who are interested in expanding their knowledge of mental illness, and of course, for trauma and anxiety victims themselves.... Husbands and wives of military personnel will also relate to the themes of loneliness, single parenting and communication with loved ones who are away for extended periods of time.
—Cindy Crosby
Library Journal

In this uplifting novel set in Chesapeake, VA, Penny Sullivan is losing her grip after witnessing a traumatic event. She cannot even go to the grocery store without feeling that familiar panic. Tormented by nightmares and unable to enjoy life the way she used to, Penny is desperate. Making things worse is that Tom, her Navy husband, receives orders to ship out, leaving her alone in charge of their family. In an attempt to regain control of her life, Penny decides to start doing things for others in hopes that she will get better before Tom returns. Well written and compelling, this title will appeal to readers of Karen Kingsbury, Ann Tatlock, and Angela Elwell Hunt. Recommended for CF and women's fiction collections. Hinck is also the author of Symphony of Secrets and the "Sword of Lyric" series (The Restorer, The Restorer's Journey, The Restorer's Son).


—Tamara Butler

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781441208149
Publisher:
Baker Publishing Group
Publication date:
10/01/2008
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
320
Sales rank:
522,216
File size:
808 KB

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Sharon Hinck is a wife and mother of four. She holds an M.A. in Communication from Regent University and spent ten years as the artistic director of a Christian performing arts group. She has also worked as a professional choreographer and classical ballet teacher. Now, she writes full-time and enjoys speaking at conferences, retreats, and church gatherings. She and her family live in Bloomington, Minnesota.
Sharon Hinck is a wife and mother of four. She holds an MA in Communications from Regent University and spent ten years as the artistic director of a Christian performing arts group. She has played a variety of instruments, including college study of piano and church organ. She has also worked as a professional choreographer and classical ballet teacher. She and her family live in Bloomington, Minnesota. Visit Sharon's website at www.sharonhinck.com

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >