Steps to Heaven: A Sgt Major Crane Novel

Steps to Heaven: A Sgt Major Crane Novel

2.5 2
by Wendy Cartmell
     
 
'Steps To Heaven' is an edge-of-the-seat crime thriller that is perfect for fans of Lee Child and Peter James.
Meet Sgt Major Crane.
A Special Investigations Branch Detective in the British Army, he is the soldier who polices other soldiers. He thinks he has seen every crime known to both war and peace.
But nothing has prepared him for the case of Solomon.

Overview

'Steps To Heaven' is an edge-of-the-seat crime thriller that is perfect for fans of Lee Child and Peter James.
Meet Sgt Major Crane.
A Special Investigations Branch Detective in the British Army, he is the soldier who polices other soldiers. He thinks he has seen every crime known to both war and peace.
But nothing has prepared him for the case of Solomon.
An Afghanistan veteran he has murdered his wife and six year old son and then committed suicide.
Soon there are similar horrific murders around the country.
Crane knows there must be a connection.
But what?
Crane starts to investigate the local Church Solomon was attending. But with the body count rising, events start to take a darker turn ... could the Church be the connection? Is the Church offering salvation?
Or is it forcing people to take the first, untimely Steps to Heaven?

'A real page turner, with a brilliantly original detective.'
Tom Kasey, best-selling author of 'Trade Off'.
'Dark, mysterious...and gripping.'
Robert Foster, best-selling author of 'The Lunar Code'

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781467938815
Publisher:
CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date:
06/11/2012
Pages:
298
Product dimensions:
5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.67(d)

Meet the Author

Wendy Cartmell has a BA (Hons) degree in English and Education. She is a former teacher, PR manager and editor of a large corporate newspaper, who has always written, either for her work, or stories for her children. Her new crime series features Sgt Major Crane of the Special Investigations Branch, drawing on her husband's 22 years service in the British Army.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Steps to Heaven: A Sgt Major Crane Novel 2.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Jane_V_Blanchard 3 months ago
Shortly after Solomon returns to Aldershot Garrison, he murders his wife and son, and then commits suicide. To solve the crime, Sgt. Major Crane teams up with Inspector Anderson—the military working with the local police. Solomon's murder-suicide is followed by two more murders at two different garrisons. What is going on? The story unfolds slowly (perhaps reflecting the speed of real investigations), but with enough twists to keep the reader's interest. I found the "let's have a child" debate between Crane and his wife Tina distractive, the dialogue not working for me. I guessed that she was pregnant and wondered how such a brilliant investigator could be so obtuse. Overall, Steps to Heaven is a good light read.
Chrissy_W More than 1 year ago
1.5 stars Did I enjoy this book: Not much. I have to give Mrs. Cartmell credit for creating a unique story. I know that’s not easy and a great first step for a truly outstanding novel. Unfortunately, it unfolded in a dry, lackluster, linear fashion. First, this story lacks character development. I didn’t feel any connection to anyone in the book. I couldn’t feel bad for the victims or cheer for the protagonist because they didn’t feel like real people with backgrounds, intimate thoughts, relationships to living characters, etc. Secondly, this story lacked side line story development. There were two sideline stories. But one opened and shut in a brief time seeming unnecessary and irrelevant to the plot. The second side story could’ve been the silver bullet opportunity to touch the reader’s heart. The main character and his wife have an ongoing discussion about whether or not to have a baby. They do this in part by going over the family budget. This made me laugh because if people really decided whether or not to have a family based on the budget, the human race would’ve become extinct generations ago. But in terms of story development, family budgets don’t stir emotions. This was a blown opportunity to make some part of this story come alive. Overall, the novel was emotionally flat and redundant. Would I recommend it: No. Will I read it again: No. As reviewed by Belinda at Every Free Chance Book Reviews. (I received a copy of this book for review purposes.)