Still Life: The Books of Elsewhere: Volume 5

( 3 )

Overview

The fifth and final book in The Books of Elsewhere, the award-winning, New York Times bestselling, fan-favorite series?absolutely not to be missed.

Annabelle McMartin is gone for good, but something worse lurks just out of sight?watching, waiting, preparing to strike. Then a field trip to the local art museum reveals a shock. What Olive discovers will create a chain of events that propel her to discoveries she may not wish to uncover, involving Morton's vanished parents and the ...

See more details below
Hardcover
$13.00
BN.com price
(Save 23%)$16.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (21) from $9.95   
  • New (15) from $9.95   
  • Used (6) from $12.94   
Still Life: The Books of Elsewhere: Volume 5

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$10.99
BN.com price
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.

Overview

The fifth and final book in The Books of Elsewhere, the award-winning, New York Times bestselling, fan-favorite series—absolutely not to be missed.

Annabelle McMartin is gone for good, but something worse lurks just out of sight—watching, waiting, preparing to strike. Then a field trip to the local art museum reveals a shock. What Olive discovers will create a chain of events that propel her to discoveries she may not wish to uncover, involving Morton's vanished parents and the very deepest, darkest roots of Aldous McMartin's creepy painted world. In this fifth and final book, Olive must seek the full, complex story of Elsewhere, its magical origins, and its creator, and in so doing, face her own fears and limitations—and possibly the destruction of Elsewhere itself. How far will Olive go to save the people and home she loves? And what will be the final cost?

A must-read fantasy series for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

VOYA, August 2014 (Vol. 37, No. 3) - Lucy Schall
In this final book of the series, brave Olive confronts the nefarious Aldous McMartin, as well as her own fears and limits, as she discovers the roots of Elsewhere and her responsibilities in its discovery and destruction. An art museum field trip makes Olive realize how Aldous has used layers of paint to control his world and imprison his enemies. She reunites Morton with his parents but realizes that his mother, the evasive Mary Nivens, may not be an ally. Olive also finds the mysterious Aurelia McMartin, whom Aldous has imprisoned. Should she trust and release her? Finally, Aldous captures Olive, characterizes her as a villain that no one will miss, and reveals his plan to torture and destroy her. The subsequent battles require all of Olive’s bravery and strength, as well as the skills and loyalties of her human and feline friends, to save herself and the Elsewhere inhabitants. But her final challenge is finding balance in a new life for all. This final volume emphasizes the importance of friendship and support. Given Olive’s distant and clueless parents, Olive can believe Aldous’s poisonous accusations, but she reaches beyond the lies and finds that her friends are as willing to risk their lives for her as she is for them. Olive’s efforts bring great rewards for herself and her readers. The book is a possible stand-alone, but the first four make it more satisfying. Order the series. Reviewer: Lucy Schall; Ages 11 to 14.
School Library Journal
08/01/2014
Gr 4–7—In this fifth and final book of the series, Olive discovers something unusual on a trip to an art museum. Her journey leads her to uncover how Elsewhere was created, and along the way, she struggles to know whom to trust. The suspenseful and well-realized world that West has created comes to a satisfying conclusion. Now that the series has ended, libraries may wish to purchase it in its entirety. Hand these books to fans of Lemony Snicket, Pseudonymous Bosch, and Angie Sage.
Kirkus Reviews
2014-05-28
In the final installment of the Books of Elsewhere series, Olive goes head to head with Aldous McMartin one last time, with the highest stakes yet.Two loose ends plague Olive and company—Aldous is running free somewhere and will inevitably return for revenge, and her good friend Morton has yet to reunite with his parents. After Walter officially moves into Morton’s family home, Morton takes over to restore it to exactly as it was when his family lived there, in preparation for finding his parents. His suspicious, secretive way of going about this leaves Olive struggling to determine which secrets need to be uncovered and which should be left alone. One secret she uncovers is where Aldous has imprisoned Morton’s parents. But adjusting to life outside Elsewhere isn’t always easy for Morton and family. While the devious Aldous closes in on Olive, she discovers one last McMartin family secret. The illustrations solidify mood and heighten tension, and the cast of characters is rather large but colorful. The humor ranges from wry to silly, effectively balanced by the competent, threatening villain. In the end, Olive’s concern is less about defeating Aldous and more about setting everyone else to right.A thoroughly satisfying reward for loyal fans of the series. (Fantasy. 9-12)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780803736917
  • Publisher: Dial
  • Publication date: 7/1/2014
  • Series: Books of Elsewhere Series , #5
  • Pages: 330
  • Sales rank: 53,000
  • Age range: 10 years
  • Lexile: 720L (what's this?)
  • Product dimensions: 5.60 (w) x 8.40 (h) x 1.30 (d)

Meet the Author

A two-time Pushcart nominee for poetry, Jacqueline West lives amid the bluffs of Red Wing, Minnesota, with her husband and their dog, Brom Bones. This is her fifth novel.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews
  • Posted September 29, 2014

    Brilliant end to a brilliant series. Please give this one a try.

    Brilliant end to a brilliant series. Please give this one a try. This does not read like a middle grade book. The author's writing is brilliant, beautiful, captivating, exciting. I am so sorry that this series has ended, but will be anxiously awaiting Jacqueline West's next effort. Thanks Olive for the adventures! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Plz lend this book

    Can i have your email adress so you can lend me this book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Amazing!!

    Best Elsewhere book yet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)