Still Life: The Books of Elsewhere: Volume 5

Still Life: The Books of Elsewhere: Volume 5

3.6 3
by Jacqueline West, Poly Bernatene
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The fifth and final book in The Books of Elsewhere, the award-winning, New York Times bestselling, fan-favorite series—absolutely not to be missed.

Annabelle McMartin is gone for good, but something worse lurks just out of sight—watching, waiting, preparing to strike. Then a field trip to the local art museum reveals a shock. What Olive

See more details below

  • Checkmark Kids' Club Eligible  Shop Now

Overview

The fifth and final book in The Books of Elsewhere, the award-winning, New York Times bestselling, fan-favorite series—absolutely not to be missed.

Annabelle McMartin is gone for good, but something worse lurks just out of sight—watching, waiting, preparing to strike. Then a field trip to the local art museum reveals a shock. What Olive discovers will create a chain of events that propel her to discoveries she may not wish to uncover, involving Morton's vanished parents and the very deepest, darkest roots of Aldous McMartin's creepy painted world. In this fifth and final book, Olive must seek the full, complex story of Elsewhere, its magical origins, and its creator, and in so doing, face her own fears and limitations—and possibly the destruction of Elsewhere itself. How far will Olive go to save the people and home she loves? And what will be the final cost?

A must-read fantasy series for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

VOYA, August 2014 (Vol. 37, No. 3) - Lucy Schall
In this final book of the series, brave Olive confronts the nefarious Aldous McMartin, as well as her own fears and limits, as she discovers the roots of Elsewhere and her responsibilities in its discovery and destruction. An art museum field trip makes Olive realize how Aldous has used layers of paint to control his world and imprison his enemies. She reunites Morton with his parents but realizes that his mother, the evasive Mary Nivens, may not be an ally. Olive also finds the mysterious Aurelia McMartin, whom Aldous has imprisoned. Should she trust and release her? Finally, Aldous captures Olive, characterizes her as a villain that no one will miss, and reveals his plan to torture and destroy her. The subsequent battles require all of Olive’s bravery and strength, as well as the skills and loyalties of her human and feline friends, to save herself and the Elsewhere inhabitants. But her final challenge is finding balance in a new life for all. This final volume emphasizes the importance of friendship and support. Given Olive’s distant and clueless parents, Olive can believe Aldous’s poisonous accusations, but she reaches beyond the lies and finds that her friends are as willing to risk their lives for her as she is for them. Olive’s efforts bring great rewards for herself and her readers. The book is a possible stand-alone, but the first four make it more satisfying. Order the series. Reviewer: Lucy Schall; Ages 11 to 14.
School Library Journal
08/01/2014
Gr 4–7—In this fifth and final book of the series, Olive discovers something unusual on a trip to an art museum. Her journey leads her to uncover how Elsewhere was created, and along the way, she struggles to know whom to trust. The suspenseful and well-realized world that West has created comes to a satisfying conclusion. Now that the series has ended, libraries may wish to purchase it in its entirety. Hand these books to fans of Lemony Snicket, Pseudonymous Bosch, and Angie Sage.
Kirkus Reviews
2014-05-28
In the final installment of the Books of Elsewhere series, Olive goes head to head with Aldous McMartin one last time, with the highest stakes yet.Two loose ends plague Olive and company—Aldous is running free somewhere and will inevitably return for revenge, and her good friend Morton has yet to reunite with his parents. After Walter officially moves into Morton’s family home, Morton takes over to restore it to exactly as it was when his family lived there, in preparation for finding his parents. His suspicious, secretive way of going about this leaves Olive struggling to determine which secrets need to be uncovered and which should be left alone. One secret she uncovers is where Aldous has imprisoned Morton’s parents. But adjusting to life outside Elsewhere isn’t always easy for Morton and family. While the devious Aldous closes in on Olive, she discovers one last McMartin family secret. The illustrations solidify mood and heighten tension, and the cast of characters is rather large but colorful. The humor ranges from wry to silly, effectively balanced by the competent, threatening villain. In the end, Olive’s concern is less about defeating Aldous and more about setting everyone else to right.A thoroughly satisfying reward for loyal fans of the series. (Fantasy. 9-12)
From the Publisher
PRIASE FOR THE BOOKS OF ELSEWHERE, VOL. 5: STILL LIFE:
“The suspenseful and well-realized world that West has created comes to a satisfying conclusion. . . . Hand these books to fans of Lemony Snicket, Pseudonymous Bosch, and Angie Sage.”—SLJ 
*“This final volume emphasizes the importance of friendship and support. . . . Olive’s efforts bring great rewards for herself and her readers. . . . Order the series.”—VOYA (starred review)
"A thoroughly satisfying reward for loyal fans of the series."—Kirkus 
“West is a fine plot-spinner . . . Still Life winds up the McMartin saga with emotional complexity and suspense, and the denouement of the tale is generous and joyful.”—Minneapolis Star Tribune 
"It's like Coraline meets Harry Potter."—Nerdist 
“If you or your kids are enthralled by the darker side of storytelling—think Neil Gaiman and Roald Dahl—then The Books of Elsewhere should be on your reading list. Full of magic, mystery, curiosity, and just enough danger . . . impossible to put down.”—Geekmom

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780803736917
Publisher:
Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date:
07/01/2014
Series:
Books of Elsewhere Series, #5
Pages:
352
Sales rank:
189,234
Product dimensions:
5.60(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.30(d)
Lexile:
720L (what's this?)
Age Range:
10 Years

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher
PRAISE FOR THE BOOKS OF ELSEWHERE, VOL. I: THE SHADOWS:
New York Times bestseller

"A suspenseful plot. . .handily amplified by Bernatene's moody and dramatically lit black and white illustrations—will have readers anxiously awaiting the next book."—Publishers Weekly, starred review

"This will be a hit with young fantasists ready for a measured helping of menace."—BCCB, starred review

"Recommend for fans of Neil Gaiman's Coraline."—School Library Journal

Amazon Best Books of the Month, "From the first few pages of The Shadows: The Books of Elsewhere, middle grade readers will be hooked on this spooky new series."—Amazon.com

"Middle grade writing as it should be."—Minneapolis Star Tribune

"Spook-tacular fun!"—Discovery Girls

"A fantastic story full of magic and mysteries."—San Francisco Chronicle

"This haunting fantasy thriller brings together the quirkiness of Roald Dahl and darkness of Neil Gaimen."—Austin Family

"The story was well-written, clever, and completely unpredictable...a great summer read that will let your imagination run wild."—TIME for Kids

"The Shadows does not disappoint. . .West introduces a spooky magical world that will captivate middle schoolers."—Bookpage.com

"Full of magic and mystery, this spine-tingling tale features a spunky heroine and first rate storytelling."—Education.com

"The Books of Elsewhere just blew me away."—New Richmond News

A Junior Library Guild Selection

winner of the Cybil Award

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >