The Stonehenge Legacy: A Thriller by Sam Christer | Hardcover | Barnes & Noble
The Stonehenge Legacy

The Stonehenge Legacy

4.6 3
by Sam Christer
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Eight days before the summer solstice, a man is butchered in a blood-freezing sacrifice on the ancient site of Stonehenge before a congregation of robed worshippers.
Within hours, one of the world's foremost treasure hunters has shot himself in his country mansion. And to his estranged son, young archaeologist Gideon Chase, he leaves a cryptic letter. Teaming up

Overview

Eight days before the summer solstice, a man is butchered in a blood-freezing sacrifice on the ancient site of Stonehenge before a congregation of robed worshippers.
Within hours, one of the world's foremost treasure hunters has shot himself in his country mansion. And to his estranged son, young archaeologist Gideon Chase, he leaves a cryptic letter. Teaming up with an intrepid policewoman, Gideon soon exposes a secret society—an ancient international legion devoted for thousands of years to Stonehenge.
With a charismatic and ruthless new leader at the helm, the cult is now performing ritual human sacrifices in a terrifying bid to unlock the secret of the stones. Packed with codes, symbology, relentless suspense, and fascinating detail about the history of one of the world's most mysterious places, The Stonehenge Legacy is a blockbuster to rival the very best of Dan Brown.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Stonehenge, a popular venue for historical conspiracy thrillers, looms large in Christer’s intriguing first novel. At the Sanctuary, a vast, secret underground cathedral that lies several miles from Stonehenge, robed men known as the Followers enact 5,000-year-old rituals, including human sacrifice. One day, Nathaniel Chase, a retired professor who lives in a 17th-century mansion near the ancient site, writes a letter using a vintage fountain pen and antique inkwell to his estranged son, Gideon, then puts a WWI revolver to his temple and fires. When Gideon, a Cambridge professor, visits his father’s home after this tragedy, a mysterious intruder almost kills him. Det. Insp. Megan Baker, who investigates the attack on Gideon, must sift through the facts of several present-day crimes in light of past myths. The stakes rise after the Followers kidnap the U.S. vice president’s party-girl daughter. Christer does a nice job integrating secret diaries, codes, hooded monks, and historical detail into the abduction plot. (Oct.)
From the Publisher
"A non-stop delight of a read complete with history, secrets, conspiracies, and adventure. Christer matches wits and wiles, holding you in a tight grip from page 1 to the end. Fiercely intelligent and curious, take a walk on the perilous side and enjoy The Stonehenge Legacy." — Steve Berry, author of The Amber Room

"Long-buried secrets, a dangerous cult, and lots of twists and turns. Sure to appeal to fans of Steve Berry and Dan Brown!" — C.S. Graham, author of The Archangel Project

"The Stonehenge Legacy is a creepily compelling tale that deftly mixes the near-Satanic activities of an ages-old pre-Christian cult with an entirely modern kidnap plot. The relentless action pits the forces of law and order and their high-tech devices and equipment against the cunning and utterly compassionless members of the ancient order, for whom ritual ? and especially blood sacrifice ? is more important than anything, including human life. The action rapidly gathers pace as the police are forced to face both high-level corruption within their own ranks and the inexorable approach of the Summer Solstice at the prehistoric site of Stonehenge, a solstice which will be marked by a frenzy of blood-letting.?This book brings together the ancient truths and theories about the construction and purpose of Stonehenge, and the author has then constructed an entirely modern story which he has cleverly woven around the legends of the ancient stones. The story ranges from the bright daylight of summer in the heart of England to the dank and claustrophobic depths of an aeons-old underground sanctuary, where you can almost feel the cold weight of the old stones pressing down on you. This is one of those very rare books that is capable of both thrilling and chilling the reader." — James Becker, author of The Moses Stone

"Christer does a nice job integrating secret diaries, codes, hooded monks, and historical detail into the abduction plot." — Publishers Weekly

"There's a shadowy cult with religious overtones run by powerful men, human sacrifices, and a race against time as the summer solstice approaches. But it all fits in beautifully with the still-unravels mysteries of Stonehenge. Amid the dark elements that dominate this chronicle, Christer paints exquisite word pictures of Stonehenge's rural landscape." — ForeWord ForeSight Mystery

Kirkus Reviews

Following his father's suicide, the son of a famous British archaeologist and relic collector discovers that the old man was closely involved with an ultra-secret cult of Stonehenge worshippers, one of whose key rituals demands fresh supplies of human blood.

Part cult thriller, part police procedural, Christer's first novel takes us deep into a hidden sanctuary where devout followers are painfully initiated and kidnap victims are slaughtered according to ancient rites. Gideon Chase, long estranged from his father Nathaniel, becomes obsessed with the old man's secret self after discovering journals about his doings at Stonehenge, some of them written in code. Gideon himself is the beneficiary of a cleansing ritual that eliminated a childhood disease and has immunized him from even the slightest cold ever since. On the portentous eve of the summer solstice, he is targeted by the cult. Meanwhile, Caitlyn Lock, the misbehaving daughter of the American vice president, who is attending school in London, is abducted at Stonehenge along with her new rich playboy. He had the unfortunate idea of thinking driving there would make for a cool romantic getaway. Ambitious DI Megan Baker, drawn into the plot when Gideon is attacked in his father's country mansion, has her efforts frustrated by her bureaucratic, sexist bosses and complicated by her untrustworthy ex-husband. And then there is the celebrity American bounty hunter who has come to save Caitlyn, and a flock of heavily weaponized Apache helicopters you can't wait to see blow stuff up. It's a credit to Christer, a documentary filmmaker, that he makes the story as readable and, for a while, as involving as it is. But Dan Brown he's not. As the story wobbles toward its predictable climax, you won't be looking forward to a sequel. This is a book best passed on to someone for whom the Stonehenge setting will matter more than anything.

Readers will learn a few things about Stonehenge, but not enough to justify the time required to finish the book.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781590206768
Publisher:
The Overlook Press
Publication date:
10/27/2011
Pages:
368
Product dimensions:
9.26(w) x 6.22(h) x 1.20(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher
"A non-stop delight of a read complete with history, secrets, conspiracies, and adventure. Christer matches wits and wiles, holding you in a tight grip from page 1 to the end. Fiercely intelligent and curious, take a walk on the perilous side and enjoy The Stonehenge Legacy." —-Steve Berry, author of The Amber Room

Meet the Author

Sam Christer is the pseudonym of an award-winning documentary filmmaker. Rights to his first novel, The Stonehenge Legacy, have been sold in thirty-five countries.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Stonehenge Legacy: A Thriller 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RawLand More than 1 year ago
I regularly read Robert Ludlum, David Baldacci and Vince Flynn. I will now be reading everything by Sam Christer. I hope he has another book out soon.