Stories from the Tube

( 1 )

Overview

In Stories from the Tube, Matthew Sharpe spins ten unique and unforgettable tales inspired by the most mundane, ubiquitous texts in our culture: television commercials. With echoes of writers as diverse as Donald Barthelme, Jorge Luis Borges, and David Foster Wallace, these stories create a world in which the utterly normal and the utterly surreal collide, shatter, and reassemble themselves, where the totally insane and hilarious and the deeply moving occupy the same space. In the process, they speak volumes ...
See more details below
Available through our Marketplace sellers.
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (18) from $1.99   
  • New (2) from $12.90   
  • Used (16) from $1.99   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$12.90
Seller since 2005

Feedback rating:

(171)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

New
1998 Hard cover First edition. New in new dust jacket. Gift Quality. Brand New. Fast Arrival. Sewn binding. Cloth over boards. 224 p. Audience: General/trade. Gift Quality. ... Brand New. Fast Arrival. Read more Show Less

Ships from: Derby, CT

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$58.77
Seller since 2008

Feedback rating:

(213)

Condition: New

Ships from: Chicago, IL

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Close
Sort by
Sending request ...

Overview

In Stories from the Tube, Matthew Sharpe spins ten unique and unforgettable tales inspired by the most mundane, ubiquitous texts in our culture: television commercials. With echoes of writers as diverse as Donald Barthelme, Jorge Luis Borges, and David Foster Wallace, these stories create a world in which the utterly normal and the utterly surreal collide, shatter, and reassemble themselves, where the totally insane and hilarious and the deeply moving occupy the same space. In the process, they speak volumes about how television reflects and distorts our imaginations and emotional lives, and how it both creates and destroys the mythology of the American family.
        In "Doctor Mom," a suburban mother practices medicine illegally out of her home after being stripped of her medical license. In "How I Greet My Daughter," an agoraphobic, misanthropic woman wakes to the smell of brewing coffee and realizes her grown daughter has moved in. In "Cloud," a young publishing executive traveling by airplane meets a mysterious lover whose touch is as cold and vapor-ous as a cloud. In "The Woman Who," a New York woman finds the needy and desperate beating a path to her door after she briefly and inexplicably turned into Marilyn Mon-roe during a matinee of Gentlemen Prefer Blondes.
        By turns haunting, savagely funny, and unexpectedly touching, Stories from the Tube is the striking debut of a writer of uncommon talent and vision.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Lev Grossman
Sharpe is a witty, unpretentious and occasionally moving writer in the tradition of Barth and Barthelme. It's a pleasure to watch him take those clich&#233d little vignettes we've all seen a million times and pound them on their backs until they spit out the hairball of lust and danger and capitalist ideology they've been hiding all these years. -- Time Out New York
Clarissa Cruz
A jumbled, occasionally hilarious, and downright surreal collection of yarns. . . —Entertainment Weekly
Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
While others visit the refrigerator during television commercials, Sharpe apparently scribbles down story ideas. Sharpe's earnest but disappointing debut collection, based on well-known TV ads, never quite transcends its premise. The strongest of the 10 stories is "Tide," a mother-daughter tale that owes its origin to a spot for laundry detergent. A single mother labors to rear her willful daughter who, in the manner of TV children, speaks at a level far beyond her years; Mom struggles convincingly to explain menstruation and discourage reckless bicycle riding. After that promising start, however, the stories are populated by a series of hard-to-like characters, placed in situations that read as an uneasy mix of surrealism and satire. In "Doctor Mom," derived from a cough syrup commercial, a mother begins operating haphazardly on her 10-year-old son for reasons Sharpe doesn't explain, she's lost her medical license. In "Rose in the House," an elderly parent's arrival in the home another standard TV setup causes resentment in her family. An original, insightful commercial is a rare find; perhaps equally difficult is a fully formed, thoughtful story based on one. TV addicts will enjoy recognizing their beloved advertisements, but that's the main source of fun in this collection. Author tour. Nov.
Clarissa Cruz
A jumbled, occasionally hilarious, and downright surreal collection of yarns. . . -- Entertainment Weekly
Kirkus Reviews
Debut collection that aims straight at the MTV-generation in its appropriation of television adspeak as a narrative principle. The 10 stories here are mostly coming-of-age tales dealing with the difficulties of family relations and personal identity, concentrating especially on misunderstandings between parents and children. "Tide" describes a mother's discomfort at her daughter's apparent maturity, a fear symbolized by the mother's concern over the girl's first menstruation. "Rose in the House" evokes the domestic havoc wrought by a dying woman's decision to move in with her son's family, recounting the bond the woman forms with her adolescent grandson (who is as uneasy around his own parents as they are around his grandmother). "Bridesmaids" depicts a 25-year-old bridesmaid's impending sense of fear over the pace and course of her own life, while "Doctor Mom" introduces us to a young physician who practices medicine from her own home. Some more or less surreal entries crop up—-such as "The Woman Who" (a woman turns into Marilyn Monroe during a film screening) and "A Bird Accident" (the murder of Charlie Parker by a deranged automobile). All the stories open with prologues taken from TV commercials (the detergent commercial for "Tide," for example) intended apparently to set the tone of the action and reflect on its significance. Unremarkable Mommy-and-me pieces, tarted up with postmodern pretensions. Too clever by half.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780375501968
  • Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
  • Publication date: 10/20/1998
  • Edition description: 1 ED
  • Pages: 224
  • Product dimensions: 5.78 (w) x 8.57 (h) x 0.91 (d)

Meet the Author

Matthew Sharpe has published stories in Zoetrope, Harper's, American Letters & Commentary, Witness, Southwest Review, and Mississippi Mud. His nonfiction has appeared in Details, Outside, Condé Nast Traveler, Newsday, Swing, and Elle. He lives in New York.
Read More Show Less

Table of Contents

Tide 3
Cloud 19
In the Snowy Kingdom 51
The Woman Who 75
Rose in the House 101
A Car 133
How I Greet My Daughter 155
Bridesmaids 165
Doctor Mom 189
A Bird Accident 221
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2001

    Great Writing

    I have this guy for my teacher, and he's a great writer. Crazy stuff worth reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)