×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Storytown: Library Book Stry 08 Grade 2 Duck On A Bike
     

Storytown: Library Book Stry 08 Grade 2 Duck On A Bike

by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
 
One day down on the farm, Duck got a wild idea. "I bet I could ride a bike," he thought. He waddled over to where a boy had parked his bike, and climbed on, and began to ride. At first he rode slowly and he wobbled a lot, but it was fun! Duck rides past Sheep, Horse, and all the other barnyard animalsŠ and when a group of kids ride by on their bikes, leaving them to

Overview

One day down on the farm, Duck got a wild idea. "I bet I could ride a bike," he thought. He waddled over to where a boy had parked his bike, and climbed on, and began to ride. At first he rode slowly and he wobbled a lot, but it was fun! Duck rides past Sheep, Horse, and all the other barnyard animalsŠ and when a group of kids ride by on their bikes, leaving them to go into the farmhouse ­ all of the animals get to ride bikes, just like Duck!

Editorial Reviews

bn.com
The Barnes & Noble Review
"One day down on the farm, Duck got a wild idea." Now this feathered fellow has gone from paddling to pedaling. Duck is cruising on a shiny red bike through the farm, rainbow streamers blowing in the wind. As he happily rides along, his barnyard pals don't take the sight of Duck on a bike lightly. Sheep is worried. Dog is impressed. Pig and Pig are jealous. But every animal Duck rolls by is at least a little intrigued. This duck with pluck is having a ball, and his enthusiasm turns out to be contagious. When a band of kids on bikes leave their wheels unattended, the entire barnyard gang gets a taste of joyriding, and Goat literally sneaks a taste of his bicycle's basket.

Award-winning author and illustrator David Shannon charms young audiences again with this richly illustrated quack-up tale. Fans of Shannon's No, David! and A Bad Case of Stripes will be happily familiar with Shannon's vibrantly colorful illustrations. The pages in this book are alive with motion. You can almost feel the troop of children whiz by Duck, dust flying, thanks to Shannon's pop-off-the-page color and style. This great read-aloud, read-along story is perfectly silly and sweet. In fact, we haven't been this fond of a farm crew since Doreen Cronin and Betsy Lewin's Click, Clack Moo: Cows That Type. Children will be delighted with this fun and funny tale, and they will want to read it again and again. Shannon creates an enchantingly believable fantasy world; flying pigs don't have anything on this Duck on a bike. (Kara Alexander)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780153565687
Publisher:
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Publication date:
04/28/2006
Series:
Storytown Series
Pages:
32
Sales rank:
471,966
Product dimensions:
8.30(w) x 10.60(h) x 0.17(d)
Age Range:
7 Years

Meet the Author


David Shannon is the internationally acclaimed creator of more than thirty picture books, including NO, DAVID!, a Caldecott Honor Book and his second NEW YORK TIMES Best Illustrated Book of the Year. In addition to three more David picture books, Shannon’s bestsellers include TOO MANY TOYS; HOW GEORGIE RADBOURN SAVED BASEBALL (newly released in 2012); A BAD CASE OF STRIPES; DUCK ON A BIKE; ALICE THE FAIRY; and GOOD BOY, FERGUS! A native of Spokane, Washington, he is an avid fisherman. He and his family live in California.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews