Strange Bird

( 1 )

Overview

"Cold shivers run down my spine after reading just a few pages."—Göteborgs Tidningen (Sweden)

As the bird flu pandemic reaches Gotland Island, panic spreads among the inhabitants who are frantic for an elusive cure. In the desperation that rises, the hunt for scapegoats begins, and extremist and anti-immigrant groups gain ground. Meanwhile, nurse Sandra Hägg makes a gruesome discovery at the health clinic where she works—a discovery that will cost her life. Soon Detective ...

See more details below
Paperback
$11.97
BN.com price
(Save 19%)$14.95 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (18) from $1.99   
  • New (7) from $5.94   
  • Used (11) from $1.99   
Strange Bird

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$8.49
BN.com price
(Save 5%)$8.99 List Price

Overview

"Cold shivers run down my spine after reading just a few pages."—Göteborgs Tidningen (Sweden)

As the bird flu pandemic reaches Gotland Island, panic spreads among the inhabitants who are frantic for an elusive cure. In the desperation that rises, the hunt for scapegoats begins, and extremist and anti-immigrant groups gain ground. Meanwhile, nurse Sandra Hägg makes a gruesome discovery at the health clinic where she works—a discovery that will cost her life. Soon Detective Inspector Maria Wern is assigned to solve the murder. Strange Bird, the first novel in the Maria Wern series in English, showcases Anna Jansson's mastery of both hair-raising crimes and the inner lives of her beloved characters.

Ruben Nilsson stepped outside into the dusk of a summer's evening, knocked his pipe against the veranda railing and looked around the garden. Had he known how short was the time he would be allowed to live, he might have been less leisurely.

Anna Jansson has established herself as one of Sweden's most popular crime writers, selling over two million copies in more than ten countries. Her titles have been adapted into movies, which were broadcast in the United States in 2012. Jansson lives in Örebro, Sweden.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Stockholm Text, a Swedish e-book publisher, launches its trade paperback publishing program with this outstanding novel from Jansson (Killer’s Island), seventh in her Det. Insp. Marian Wern series. The arrival of a strange male pigeon to the dovecote of Gotland islander Ruben Nilsson begins a horrific chain reaction. The bird is apparently the carrier of a virulent strain of avian flu that quickly claims Nilsson’s life and spreads rapidly, causing widespread panic. The responsible government officials are unable to come up with a good plan to remedy the inadequate stocks of medications to prevent and treat infection. Among those affected is Wern, whose preteen son, Emil, is quarantined after some of his fellow campers become ill. As she struggles with her personal situation, the inspector also has to solve the murder of an unidentified man stabbed in the throat. The ending of this suspenseful blend of scientific thriller and whodunit packs a real wallop. (Sept.)
From the Publisher

"… outstanding novel … The arrival of a strange male pigeon to the dovecote of Gotland islander Ruben Nilsson begins a horrific chain reaction. The bird is apparently the carrier of a virulent strain of avian flu that quickly claims Nilsson’s life and spreads rapidly, causing widespread panic. The responsible government officials are unable to come up with a good plan to remedy the inadequate stocks of medications to prevent and treat infection. Among those affected is Wern, whose preteen son, Emil, is quarantined after some of his fellow campers become ill. As she struggles with her personal situation, the inspector also has to solve the murder of an unidentified man stabbed in the throat. The ending of this suspenseful blend of scientific thriller and whodunit packs a real wallop."
Publishers Weekly, starred review
Library Journal
09/15/2013
This is the first of eight books in a popular Swedish mystery series to be translated into English. Maria Wren, a detective inspector on Gotland Island, is a single parent with two young children. When a pigeon keeper suddenly dies from flulike symptoms and two people who recently saw him also die, it is feared that an avian flu epidemic has hit the island. Then the disease breaks out at a children's soccer camp, panic ensues, and the island is effectively cut off from the outside world. Add to this the murder of a nurse from a private health clinic and the disappearance of a journalist, and Wren has all she can handle. When the bird flu strikes close to home, she must deal with her own anxiety and still concentrate on the search for a killer. VERDICT Jansson is a welcome addition to the Swedish mystery writers now available in English. The author's knowledge of the medical field is evident in her detailed, fast-paced plot and the moral and ethical decisions facing the characters. Recommended for readers of Scandinavian mysteries, especially for fans of Mari Jungstedt, Camilla Läckberg, and Håkan Nesser.—Jean King, West Hempstead P.L., NY
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9789187173950
  • Publisher: Stockholm Text
  • Publication date: 9/17/2013
  • Series: Maria Wern Series
  • Pages: 336
  • Sales rank: 780,304
  • Product dimensions: 4.80 (w) x 7.40 (h) x 1.00 (d)

Meet the Author


Anna Jansson has established herself as one of Sweden's elite crime writers. Before becoming an author, she worked as a nurse and continues to do so part-time at Örebro Hospital's lung clinic. She holds frequent lectures on ethical issues related to medical care and has had several essays included in academic books related to health care. Jansson has three children and lives in Vintrosa outside of Örebro, Sweden.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)