The Stranger's Woes: The Labyrinths of Echo by Max Frei | Hardcover | Barnes & Noble
The Stranger's Woes (Labryinths of Echo Series #2)

The Stranger's Woes (Labryinths of Echo Series #2)

4.0 1
by Max Frei
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The irresistible newest novel by the bestselling Max Frei, set in a magical city where losers make good.
The irresistible newest novel by the bestselling Max Frei, set in a magical city where losers make good. The Labyrinths of Echo series —the adventures of Max, who was once a loser but discovers a new world —has been an international literary

Overview

The irresistible newest novel by the bestselling Max Frei, set in a magical city where losers make good.
The irresistible newest novel by the bestselling Max Frei, set in a magical city where losers make good. The Labyrinths of Echo series —the adventures of Max, who was once a loser but discovers a new world —has been an international literary sensation since its debut. In this second installment, Sir Max is still a hardened smoker, an uncomplicated glutton, and a loafer, but once again, he gets lucky. He travels to the parallel world of Echo, where magic is commonplace and where he fits right in. Plunging back into the astounding and absurd realm first portrayed in The Stranger(Fandomania.com's #1 Book of 2009), this is a sequel of addictive power, blending fantasy, horror, philosophy, and comedy. Readers will welcome this "utterly original" (Bookslut) volume of the new adventures and misadventures of Sir Max in this enchanting world.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Fans of 2009's The Stranger will adore this imaginative sequel in three novellas from author/protagonist Frei (a pseudonym for Russian bestseller Svetlana Martynchik). In a parallel universe full of surreal wonders, Max Frei is an outsider, a lethargic slacker plucked from our own world and recruited to save the City of Echo from illegal magic. When the city's police captain is poisoned, Max—now Sir Max and the Nocturnal Representative of the Secret Investigative Force—leads his garrulous team of magicians into the Magaxon Forest to investigate a mysterious band of outlaws. Later, the king of the Unified Kingdom enlists Max to solve a delicate political conundrum with a bizarre bird-worshipping envoy, and something strange starts happening in the city's cemeteries. Vibrant characterizations, witty humor, and mind-tickling ideas almost save the narrative from countless pages of trivial dialogue that drag down the pace. (June)
From the Publisher
"Fans of Jasper Fforde and Susanna Clarke will happily jump into Frei's world." — USA Today

"Impossible to put down . . . The Stranger's Woes served up exactly what I was craving for . . . another wildly imaginative and entertaining entry in The Labyrinths of Echo." — Fantasy Book Critic

"If Harry Potter smoked cigarettes and took a certain matter-of-fact pleasure in administering tough justice, he might like Max Frei." — Kirkus Reviews

Kirkus Reviews

Max Frei, the cigarette-puffing gumshoe in an alternate, magical universe, is back in his namesake creator's sophomore entry in the Labryinths of Echo series.

Echo is a sprawling city-state in which Frei the character finds it very easy to get himself in trouble. Frei the creator (The Stranger, 2009) is a Russian born long ago enough to remember the good old days of the Cold War, and there are international intrigues and intrapalace coups enough to assure that there's trouble to be had. With sidekick Sir Juffin Hully, Frei the character, a lazybones layabout by inclination, finds the start of it in a coming-out party of sorts hosted by one General Boboota Box, late a victim of food poisoning engineered by who knows who and therefore an intimate of the local outhouses—indeed, unlike the rest of the homes of Echo, which "had at least three or four bathing tubs," the General's abode has "a dozen toilets of various heights gurgling a discordant welcome to the visitor." And who did this dastardly deed? Well, Echo is a world of all sorts of plots, a sort of Krypton with tobacco and the counter-universe's equivalent of vodka. If you have the sense that a shaggy-dog story is in the offing, you'd be right—and what a dog, and what a tail wagging it. Frei the creator takes obvious goofy pleasure in constructing and populating a place in which rival magicians duke it out, good and evil are not always easily identifiable and are sometimes rolled up in the same person, and where a contraption called a "baboom" is enough to put the fear in your garden-variety brigand. It's all a great romp, and never mind that the logic of the place seems a tad off and various threads of plot get lost amid the fun.

As Juffin says, brightly, "this affair smells strongly of Forbidden Magic." Just so—and a pleasure for those who like their fantasy with a measure of slapstick.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781590204788
Publisher:
The Overlook Press
Publication date:
06/09/2011
Series:
Labyrinths of Echo Series, #2
Pages:
416
Product dimensions:
9.12(w) x 6.18(h) x 1.34(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

Meet the Author

Max Frei is the author of the internationally bestselling Labyrinths of Echo series, of which over two million copies have been sold in Russia alone, as well as books on literature and art. He lives in Lithuania.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >