Strauss: Eine Alpensinfonie

( 1 )
$12.34 price
(Save 5%)$12.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (6) from $6.33   
  • New (6) from $6.33   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 4/26/2011
  • Label: Newton Classics
  • EAN: 8718247710546
  • Catalog Number: 8802054
  • Sales rank: 227,770


Disc 1
  1. 1 Eine Alpensinfonie (An Alpine Symphony) for orchestra, Op. 64 (TrV 233) - Richard Strauss & Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam (49:19)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Bernard Haitink Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Alpine Adventure

    Conjuring pictorial imagery by purely musical means can be a tricky business. Quite often one or the other element of the equation comes up short. Nonetheless, so-called program music has attracted composers for longer than we may realize. This subset of composition found one of its most ardent champions in Richard Strauss. His justly celebrated masterpieces are well known to every music lover. His last essay in this regard, the ambitiously constructed Alpine Symphony of 1915 (really an elaborate tone poem) inhabits a slightly lower rung. Clearly it has fared more successfully via recordings than in the concert hall. Its extravagant scoring of nearly 150 players (quadruple winds, a massive brass complement, extensive percussion etc) is primarily responsible as is perhaps its arcane narrative underpinnings. But let's be honest. The inspired lyricism of Don Juan, Ein Heldenleben, Till Eulenspiegel, Death and Transfiguration, Don Quixote and Also Sprach is much less in evidence here. Nevertheless the Alpine Symphony is a major achievement brimming with extraordinary colors and masterful contrapuntal writing. There are at least 50 recordings currently available including Haitink's latest traversal with the LSO. Of these, a handful merit serious consideration. To this select list can now be added Bernard Haitink's superb 1985 version originally released by Philips. Maestro Haitink's acute sense of line, balance and textural clarity are quite compelling. All too often a large scale work like this brings out the worst hyperbolic impulses in lesser hands. The famed Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra and its equally revered Grote Zaal residence are the perfect conduit for Haitink's warm, poetic vision. Plaudits to Newton Classics for restoring an important recording to the catalog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews