Sunny Sweet Is So Dead Meat
  • Alternative view 1 of Sunny Sweet Is So Dead Meat
  • Alternative view 2 of Sunny Sweet Is So Dead Meat

Sunny Sweet Is So Dead Meat

by Jennifer Ann Mann
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

When a bottle of ketchup explodes all over Masha Sweet, she thinks it's an accident. But of course her little sister Sunny has devised a special science experiment that requires Masha to look totally weird all day. Masha isn't having it. If it kills her (or Sunny!) she will figure out how to get them home from the science fair without causing a scene. But add in a

Overview

When a bottle of ketchup explodes all over Masha Sweet, she thinks it's an accident. But of course her little sister Sunny has devised a special science experiment that requires Masha to look totally weird all day. Masha isn't having it. If it kills her (or Sunny!) she will figure out how to get them home from the science fair without causing a scene. But add in a pair of little brothers who take Masha on a wild goose chase through the school, a short detour through a cemetery, and a run-in with a cute boy and this whole day is one big scene. Which just might be what Sunny had in mind . . . she is so dead meat!

Editorial Reviews

Kirkus Reviews
2014-03-17
More adventures of genius Sunny Sweet and her loving but frustrated big sister, Masha, who is clearly tired of her little sister knowing more than her. Given that Sunny Sweet Is So Not Sorry (2013) landed both girls in the hospital, readers might think that their single mother would understand how careful she needs to be about sending her daughters off unsupervised. No. The two girls are dropped off for a science fair. Sunny soon tosses red dye on Masha and reveals her true plan: It's a social experiment about being different, and Masha is the subject. Soon Masha is breaking into art classrooms, running away on a city bus, arguing with Sunny, picking up a maggot-encrusted hamburger and falling into an open grave. Turns out that Sunny is filming all these adventures from a camera hidden in her hat and sending the feed to the science fair. To enjoy these adventures, readers need to suspend any sense of reality: How many 6-year-olds, geniuses or not, have smartphones? How long would real teachers watching the movie feed wait before intervening? The slapstick escalates to thoroughly ludicrous proportions. The final chapter appears to be a confusing introduction to the next unbelievable episode in these girls' lives rather than a resolution to this one. Over the stinkin' top, as Masha might say. (Fiction. 8-12)
From the Publisher

“If you love Beezus and Ramona . . . You know that having a little sister whose purpose in life is to annoy you is hard . . . and hilarious. . . . Mann balances the characters' worries (being new at school, their parents' divorce) with humor.” —Redbook Magazine on Sunny Sweet Is So Not Sorry

“Fans of Junie B. Jones or Judy Moody will be drawn to this series. If the rest of the series is of the same caliber it will amuse and excite.” —Library Media Connection on Sunny Sweet Is So Not Sorry

“This book will find fans among younger readers. Black-and-white illustrations contribute to the humor in this tale of sisterly adventures.” —School Library Journal on Sunny Sweet Is So Not Sorry

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781599909783
Publisher:
Bloomsbury USA
Publication date:
05/13/2014
Pages:
208
Product dimensions:
5.10(w) x 7.80(h) x 1.00(d)
Age Range:
8 - 12 Years

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Jennifer Ann Mann is the author of Sunny Sweet Is So Not Sorry and Sunny Sweet Is So Dead Meat. She grew up in New Jersey, the second of four sisters. Her short stories have been published by Highlights for Children, where she won the Highlights for Children 2008 Fiction Contest. She lives in Boston in a giant house filled with kids and cats.

www.jenniferannmann.com

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >