Superstition by Karen Robards | Paperback | Barnes & Noble
Superstition

Superstition

3.6 24
by Karen Robards
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The beautiful vistas of Pawleys Island hide a dark side—the murder of a local girl fifteen years ago and the strange disappearance of her two friends. The story of the unsolved crime could be journalist Nicole Sullivan’s big break. But while Nicole works intimately with the Police Chief Joe Franconi,her investigation takes a haunting turn when another

Overview

The beautiful vistas of Pawleys Island hide a dark side—the murder of a local girl fifteen years ago and the strange disappearance of her two friends. The story of the unsolved crime could be journalist Nicole Sullivan’s big break. But while Nicole works intimately with the Police Chief Joe Franconi,her investigation takes a haunting turn when another young woman is murdered. As the body count rises, so does Nicole’s fear that a killer has come home to Pawleys Island to bury a terrifying secret, and resurrect the haunting legacy of a shocking and unforgivable crime.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
“Robards is…guaranteed to deliver an entertaining, must-read, can’t-put-down story. And she does it again with Superstition. This has all the earmarks of a Robards story: a compelling mystery, an engaging cast of characters, and a strong hero and heroine with amazing chemistry.”—The State (Columbia, SC)

“This is another winner from the popular and prolific Robards, who delivers a great romantic thriller filled with interesting characters in a classic edge-of-the-seat read.”—Booklist

“Karen Robards is one of the best writers of romantic suspense available today. Fans of Tami Hoag, Iris Johansen and Kay Hooper will love Superstition, a fascinating romantic police procedural with supernatural elements that add an extra dimension to the story line. Nicky is a wonderful protagonist, a reporter in the tradition of Lois Lane who will do whatever is necessary to get her story. Ms. Robards always delivers a thrilling reading experience.”—Midwest Book Review

Publishers Weekly
Combining elements of a Southern gothic, a cozy comedy, a sexy romance and a serial killer thriller, this new offering from Robards (Bait, etc.) tries to be too many things at once, and the result is a mishmash of familiar devices and recycled characters. One such is Joe Franconi, a big city cop turned police chief for small Pawleys Island, S.C. With his "washboard abs" and painful past, Joe is the average tortured hero, and sexy TV reporter Nicky Sullivan is his natural counterpart. Nicky, with the help of her psychic mother, intends to revisit the scene of a 15-year-old unsolved murder, but Mayor Vince Capra will do anything-even enlist the local police-to keep the program from airing. With no legal ground to stand on, Joe fails to stop the filming, but he's conveniently on hand to rescue Nicky when she stumbles on a fresh murder victim and nearly becomes one herself. Has the killer from 15 years ago resurfaced, or is a new killer on the loose? Joe and Nicky spend as much time arguing over who will solve the case as they do staring "hotly" at one another, but ironically, neither succeeds in solving anything. Though the book has its suspenseful moments (and its amusing ones, which primarily involve a pig named Cleo), its final twist feels manufactured simply to bring hero and heroine together. Agent, Robert Gottlieb. (Apr.) Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.
Library Journal
Robards's latest is possibly the most entertaining of all her romantic mysteries. Superstition contains all the ingredients that promise a truly engrossing listen: a beautiful heroine with a madly zany family; a handsome hero suffering bravely through major personal problems; and a psychic who is "blocked." Television reporter Nicole Sullivan grew up on Pawley's Island, SC, a tourist Mecca where life is easy and slow moving. The biggest news story in the community's history is the unsolved murder of three teenagers 15 years ago. Since that grisly event, the house where one of the young girls lived is reputed to be haunted. Nicole is anxious for a big-time story that will bring her to the attention of the national TV markets. Since her mother is a psychic, Nicole decides to broadcast from the "haunted" house, while her mother channels the spirits. During the broadcast, a member of the crew is killed in a manner that eerily re-creates the original murders. Joyce Bean reads in a no-holds-barred, exciting tone. Highly recommended for all fiction collections.-Nancy Reed, McCracken Cty. P.L., Paducah, KY Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780451218728
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
05/30/2006
Pages:
496
Sales rank:
596,642
Product dimensions:
4.21(w) x 6.67(h) x 1.31(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher
“Robards is…guaranteed to deliver an entertaining, must-read, can’t-put-down story. And she does it again with Superstition. This has all the earmarks of a Robards story: a compelling mystery, an engaging cast of characters, and a strong hero and heroine with amazing chemistry.”—The State (Columbia, SC)

“This is another winner from the popular and prolific Robards, who delivers a great romantic thriller filled with interesting characters in a classic edge-of-the-seat read.”—Booklist

“Karen Robards is one of the best writers of romantic suspense available today. Fans of Tami Hoag, Iris Johansen and Kay Hooper will love Superstition, a fascinating romantic police procedural with supernatural elements that add an extra dimension to the story line. Nicky is a wonderful protagonist, a reporter in the tradition of Lois Lane who will do whatever is necessary to get her story. Ms. Robards always delivers a thrilling reading experience.”—Midwest Book Review

Meet the Author

Karen Robards is the author of over thirty novels, most recently the New York Times bestseller Pursuit. She lives in Louisville, Kentucky.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >