Supreme Justice

Supreme Justice

3.7 96
by Phillip Margolin
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

“A master of plot and pacing—and one of those rare authors who can create a genuinely surprising ending.”

 — Lisa Scottoline

 

“It takes a really crafty storyteller to put people on the edge of their seats and keep them there. Phillip Margolin does just that.”

Chicago

Overview

“A master of plot and pacing—and one of those rare authors who can create a genuinely surprising ending.”

 — Lisa Scottoline

 

“It takes a really crafty storyteller to put people on the edge of their seats and keep them there. Phillip Margolin does just that.”

Chicago Tribune

 

The crew from the New York Times bestseller Executive Privilege is back in another pulse-racing thriller from Phillip Margolin. Fans of John Grisham, David Baldacci, James Patterson, and Scott Turow—as well as Margolin’s own immensely popular Amanda and Frank Jaffe books like Fugitive, Wild Justice, and Proof Positive—won’t be able to put down Supreme Justice until the last spellbinding page.

 

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
In this entertaining if predictable sequel to Executive Privilege (2008) from Margolin, policewoman Sarah Woodruff, who's on death row in Oregon, has been tried twice for murdering her lover, John Finley. Sarah's life depends on an appeal to the Supreme Court, but her appeal, if heard, could expose a criminal plot within the CIA. An unexpected vacancy in the court provides one opportunity to quash Woodruff's attempted appeal. For the man at the center of the plot, however, this isn't enough, and a Supreme Court justice becomes a target for assassination. Once again PI Dana Cutler and law clerk Brad Miller find themselves investigating dastardly doings in Washington, D.C., involving a host of conventional characters, from scheming Beltway sachems to a ghetto-raised African-American justice. Thriller fans who like to see the villains receive their just rewards and the good guys come to no harm will find this a comforting read. (June)
New York Post
“Margolin’s latest is a fast-paced yarn connecting a Supreme Court vacancy, a death row inmate, an ex-CIA chief and an attack on another Justice.”
Cascadia Weekly
“Margolin has come up with a winning recipe for success: by combining his legal expertise and experience with attention-grabbing characters and surprising storylines, he’s assured himself a secure spot in a genre known for keeping people guessing.”
Clarion Ledger
“A wry twist ending . . . puts a legal cherry on top of this satisfying gulp of Supreme Justice.”
The Oklahoman
“Action speeds along through 65 fast-paced chapters with more bodies along the way. . . . But don’t think you can solve this one on your own. Just when you think it’s wrapping up, there is another surprise.”
Bellingham Herald
“Margolin creates a tangled plot. . . . The ending was deliciously devious.”
Huffington Post
“A good old fashioned political thriller. . . . Supreme Justice is a simple pleasure. . . . An exciting and enjoyable mystery.”
The Portland Oregonian
“[An] intriguing glimpse into the inner workings of the court. As always with Margolin, roller-coaster plot propels the action along, with plenty of twists and turns to keep things interesting.”
National Examiner
“Get ready for a page-turning thriller. . . . [It] will keep you guessing until the last page.”

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780061994777
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
05/18/2010
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
400
Sales rank:
38,021
File size:
856 KB

Meet the Author

Phillip Margolin has written nineteen novels, many of them New York Times bestsellers, including his latest novels Woman with a Gun, Worthy Brown’s Daughter, Sleight of Hand, and the Washington trilogy. Each displays a unique, compelling insider’s view of criminal behavior, which comes from his long background as a criminal defense attorney who has handled thirty murder cases. Winner of the Distinguished Northwest Writer Award, he lives in Portland, Oregon.

Brief Biography

Place of Birth:
New York, New York
Education:
B.A. in Government, American University, 1965; New York University School of Law, 1970

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Supreme Justice 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 95 reviews.
deb53WA More than 1 year ago
I am an avid reader of this author, but found this book hard to follow since it seemed to constantly jump from one story to another. I hoped that soon all the characters would meld and the story would become consistent, which didn't happen. Disappointing compared to his other books.
KenCady More than 1 year ago
This may not be the worst book you could read as the story is interesting at different points, but the author takes it to such heights of silliness that I just couldn't take it seriously. Another reviewer pointed out that the story jumps around a lot, and that makes it hard to follow as well. So, if you are looking for something that is not intellectually challenging, then go for Supreme Justice. You'll forget about it minutes after you are finished with it, but no harm will be done. No animals will be hurt, and, if you get the e-book, no trees will have suffered needlessly.
bethmarieIL More than 1 year ago
This story seemed to not move along very quickly. I found myself skipping pages and I have never done this with his previous books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fast paced thriller. Sometimes I think I might have a heart attack from the excitement and suspense in Phillip Margolin's legal thrillers! They are nonstop, never a dull moment reading. And that's the way I like my books. Exciting and can't put down from page one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the story.  It wasn't a deep read, but that's not what I was looking for.  A nice, quick adventure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SH-TX More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book a lot. It had a good plot that felt really current, even though it was written three years ago. I'm just finishing my third Philip Margolin book and haven't yet been dissappointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tigerpaw70 More than 1 year ago
This novel is an exciting thriller, a puzzling murder mystery involving a ghost ship and the President's nominee to the U.S Supreme Court. The story leads us in a twisted tale that opens more questions than answers involving a real soup mix of law enforcement officers: local police, state police, CIA, FBI, Homeland security and the U.S. Supreme court... (Hahaha it seems the only group missing is the keystone cops..:) ) This is quite an involved story with numerous characters, plots and sub-plots weaving in and out. The main plot involves an attack on Felicia Moss, a Supreme Court Justice, who has the swing vote concerning a death penalty case reviewing the fate of Sara Wooddruff, a police officer, convicted of murdering her boyfriend, John Finley. When the officer's appeal reaches the top court, shadowy links begin to surface to a mysterious ghost ship and several cold case murders. Reopening the case threatens to uncork a bubbling mess hidden within the justice system. Private investigator Dana Cutler, FBI Agent Keith Evans and attorney Brad Miller are brought in to determine why the murder case is causing shockwaves in Washington. As they search for answers, they are forced to pull out every trick in the book, jump many hoops and cross many avenues. The result will inevitably leave a warm spot in the heart of any demanding mystery reader. This book is sharply written with an interesting and charming cast. Although some recurring characters from "Executive Privilege" have the lead roles, not knowing their past history did not deter my interest, the non-stop action kept me on the edge of my seat and entertained for hours.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago