Sure Fire (Rich and Jade Series #1)
  • Alternative view 1 of Sure Fire (Rich and Jade Series #1)
  • Alternative view 2 of Sure Fire (Rich and Jade Series #1)

Sure Fire (Rich and Jade Series #1)

4.3 17
by Jack Higgins, Justin Richards
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The first young adult novel from legendary New York Times- bestselling author Jack Higgins.

For thirty years, Jack Higgins has enraptured adult readers with his thrilling tales of spies and intrigue. Now, for the first time he brings his bestselling touch to the world of teens with an adventure to remember.

For fifteen-year-old twins Rich and Jade,

Overview

The first young adult novel from legendary New York Times- bestselling author Jack Higgins.

For thirty years, Jack Higgins has enraptured adult readers with his thrilling tales of spies and intrigue. Now, for the first time he brings his bestselling touch to the world of teens with an adventure to remember.

For fifteen-year-old twins Rich and Jade, their lives have just been turned upside down. When their mother is tragically killed in a car crash, their long- lost father John Chance appears to collect them at the funeral. He's a bachelor who lives on his own, and it's clear that Rich and Jade aren't welcome. But when Chance suddenly disappears, Rich and Jade uncover the truth: He's a spy. And now, whoever kidnapped their father is after them, too.

Dangerous, fast-paced, and packed with action, Sure Fire is a gripping adventure from the master of the modern thriller.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

The internationally bestselling author of The Eagle Has Landedpartners with Richards (the Invisible Detective series) to write this standout YA spy novel. Following the unexpected death of their mother, teenage twins Jade and Rich Chance are shipped off to London to live with John Chance, the father they never knew of. Right from the beginning it's clear he has secrets, and when the twins witness his kidnapping by men with guns, they are propelled into a world where no one can be trusted and everyone shoots to kill. The mystery thickens as they discover their father works for the British government and was investigating a powerful businessman, Viktor Vishinsky from Krejikistan, who plans to introduce a virus that would cripple the world's oil supply. As with many mystery thrillers, plausibility isn't on the agenda. The authors need neither gimmicks nor high-tech machinery, instead tailoring their vocabulary and style to keep the action at breakneck speed. Each chapter ends with a cliff-hanger, maintaining the high level of suspense. With readers looking for an Alex Rider-type adventure, this will be a sure-fire hit. Ages 12-up. (Oct.)

Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information\
Children's Literature - Vicki Foote
Rich and Jade are fifteen-year-old twins who have lost their mother and must live with the father they have never met. When he disappears, they discover that he has been working as a secret agent. They eventually find out that a Russian oil baron who is seeking a valuable fluid has their father in custody. Unable to get the information they need from him, the Russians try to capture Rich and Jade. In a series of adventures, spies are shot and wounded, Rich and Jade escape from some unlikely situations, and they find their father where he is imprisoned. More explosions, chases, and escape plots continue until the Russians villains are put in their place and the family is together again. Unable to make an emotional connection when they first met, they now are united as a family. The story has lots of action that keeps the adventure going, but much of it is unrealistic and contrived. Young readers who are interested in the spy genre may find it entertaining.\
School Library Journal

Gr 8 Up- Rich and Jade Chance, 15, find their world turned upside down when their mother dies in an accident. They believe that they are orphans until they meet a man at the funeral who claims to be their father. Suddenly, and unhappily for them, they move to London with him. Then he disappears, and they soon discover that he leads the exciting life of a British secret agent. He has been assigned to infiltrate a Russian oil company that suspects that he has the only remaining sample of a valuable fuel that they developed. The twins are thrust into a world of oil barons, secret meetings in fancy hotels, violence, and tension-filled rescues. Fans of Alex Rider and Tom Clancy books will revel in the oil-refinery explosions and secret writing on ice cubes. The spy lingo and the equipment detail will hold teens' interest, and the nonstop excitement will give reluctant readers something to cheer about.-Lynn Evarts, Sauk Prairie High School, Prairie du Sac, WI

Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.\
Kirkus Reviews
Fifteen-year-old British twins Jade and Rich don't know what they're going to do when their mother is killed in a traffic accident. Then a father they didn't know was alive comes to the funeral and takes them to live with him in London. John Chance is far too mysterious about his life for Jade, and neither twin plans on going to the boarding schools he's started calling. When they see him kidnapped by gun-toting thugs and find the police won't help, Jade and Rich decide a hard-to-live-with Dad is better than none. The truth they find is more amazing than expected-Chance works for British Intel and has been undercover trying to stop a Russian oil baron from controlling the world's oil supply. The kids rescue their father, and the three of them save the world's oil. Prolific adult-thriller author Higgins teams with Richards, of Invisible Detective and Doctor Who, fame to create a page-turning spy thriller without resorting to the hyperbole and science-fiction gadgets of Alex Rider and Spy Kids. Well worth your teen thriller dollars. (Fiction. YA)\

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780399247842
Publisher:
Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date:
10/18/2007
Series:
Rich and Jade Series , #1
Pages:
192
Product dimensions:
6.26(w) x 9.26(h) x 0.97(d)
Lexile:
660L (what's this?)
Age Range:
12 Years

Meet the Author

Jack Higgins lives on Jersey in the Channel Islands.
Justin Richards lives in England.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Sure Fire (Rich and Jade Series #1) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My 12 yr old son got the book and read it, I then read the book. Very good book a classic Jack Higgins book.
mrdarcy3 More than 1 year ago
Jade and Rich's mother recently died in a car accident, leaving them with a father they've never known. They had no idea they existed the funeral. Now, they are stuck together in a small apartment hoping for the best. At first their father decides to send the twins to boarding school for the rest of the term so he can finish a project. But the twins reject that idea. They're still trying to learn all of his quirks, but he's been acting so strange with blocks on the phone, passwords for his computer, and late night phone calls that turn into meetings. When he disappears, they discover the truth --that there father is a spy and they might be the only ones who can save him. Jack Higgins writes adult spy novels, so it's awesome that he and Justin Richards team up to create a fast paced novel. Fans of Alex Rider are sure to love the action, adventure, and excitement surrounding the twins.
Eric Bush More than 1 year ago
Jach Higgins did a good job providing a fast paced, on the edge of my seat, action spy novel. good job jack,
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.. A bursting hit! I like the book because there was lots of interesting characters like Jade, Rich, and Chance. Rich and Jade finally met their father that was a secret agent but they did not know that at the time. Chance got kidnapped and the twins got information from the people who knew their father. The twins got kidnapped and was sent to a military base somewhere in Pakistan. One reason why I think Jade is interesting is because she is like a goth ,a person with no emotions, but at the same time she is not. One reason why I think Rich is a Interesting character is because he is smart so that is good for cracking codes so you can enter secret places like vaults and rooms. One reason why I think Chance is a interesting character is because he is an agent that is kind of secret but not really and he has been lying to his children but for a good reason because he did not want them to get involve with his job.RyanCHMS14
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What would you do if you found out your father was a spy? This book was set in Krejistan and London in present day. Chance, a father of two children goes missing, so Jade and Rich have to race for survival. Rich and Jade are all on their own since their mother had just died. Now they have to do anything to get their father back. I think this book was one of the best novels I have ever read. Jack Higgins, the author, is very good at writing action pact novels. There are bombs, guns, fire, and any kind of army force you could think of. I recommend this novel to people who like fast-action paced and suspense novels. Hibah K.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kept me turning pages till 2 a.m! I need to read the whole sries again
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago