Swiftly

( 4 )

Overview


From the Land of Lilliput to Jupiter Magnified In 2000, British author Adam Roberts published his first SF novel, Salt, to wide acclaim. Locus magazine described Salt as "... in the same vein as Frank Herbert's Dune." And in 2001, the beginning of a new millennium, Salt was named a finalist for the prestigious Arthur C. Clarke Award for best science fiction novel of the year. Now, five SF novels later, Adam Roberts presents us with Swiftly, his first short fiction collection. These twelve handpicked tales - ...
See more details below
Paperback
$19.31
BN.com price
(Save 3%)$19.95 List Price
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (29) from $1.99   
  • New (11) from $3.49   
  • Used (18) from $1.99   
Swiftly: A Novel

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$8.99
BN.com price

Overview


From the Land of Lilliput to Jupiter Magnified In 2000, British author Adam Roberts published his first SF novel, Salt, to wide acclaim. Locus magazine described Salt as "... in the same vein as Frank Herbert's Dune." And in 2001, the beginning of a new millennium, Salt was named a finalist for the prestigious Arthur C. Clarke Award for best science fiction novel of the year. Now, five SF novels later, Adam Roberts presents us with Swiftly, his first short fiction collection. These twelve handpicked tales - eight published here for the first time - showcase Roberts's authorial expertise at interweaving world-building with style, tone, and image. Roberts, whom award-winning author Jon Courtenay Grimwood calls "the king of high concept," is the rare hard-sf writer who emphasizes character over construct. In "Swiftly," the title story to this collection, mid-1840s Europe is at the height of its manufacturing prowess, due in large part to the finely honed skills of the enslaved Lilliputian-like people. But the French Army threatens the English shore, and one British citizen dares to assist the French in order to free the enslaved.

This collection of fiction and essays includes "Swiftly," a Year's Best Fantasy and Horror selection for 2003.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From Barnes & Noble
The Barnes & Noble Review
A bicycle race to the moon, invisible -- and blind -- assassins, a sojourn in heaven, worldwide mass hallucinations at the end of the world, and an homage to Jonathan Swift are all included in University of London professor Adam Roberts's collection of short stories. The title story, "Swiftly," and "Eleanor" are both set in a 19th-century England inhabited by diminutive Lilliputians and giant Brobdingnagians from Jonathan Swift's classic Gulliver's Travels. In "Swiftly," sympathizer Abraham Bates is desperately trying to free thousands of Lilliputians and Brobdingnagians from slavery in English factories and farms. After a war begins with France over the rights of the minuscule and super-sized Pacificans, Bates is approached with a quick way to end the potentially long and bloody war -- but it means he will be a traitor to his country. "Eleanor" focuses on the unhappy wife of an English factory owner. Dissatisfied with her marriage, Eleanor visits her husband late at night at his factory only to find him drunk and passed out at his desk. When she sets free his minions of enslaved Lilliputians, they take care of her marital problem once and for all.

In "Dantesque," Avis spends millennia climbing from the crowded depths of Hell into the serene realm of Heaven only to find it almost empty. Is Paradise too boring for humanity's twisted souls? Fans of Roberts's novels (Salt, On, Stone, et al.) will thoroughly enjoy this collection of short fiction, which is as diverse as it is cerebral. Paul Goat Allen

Gerald Jonas
… in a story, entitled ''Eleanor,'' Roberts shows where his true strength lies. Returning to the preinvasion England of the first tale, he focuses on the courtship and marriage between a slave-owning industrialist and a beautiful 16-year-old girl of scant means. By intertwining the personal tragedy of this mismatched couple with the tragic situation of the enslaved Lilliputians, Roberts redeems the promise of ''Swiftly'' in full. Instead of a surprise ending, we are left with a meditation on love and freedom and betrayal that is all the more powerful for reasserting conventional values in such an unconventional setting.
The New York Times
The Times
Darkly satirical . . . a dystopian vision in the tradition of Swift, Orwell, and Atwood.
Locus
A brilliant burlesque conceit, and Roberts exploits it in bravura fashion.
From the Publisher
"The king of high concept."  —The Guardian

"A brilliant burlesque conceit, and Roberts exploits it in bravura fashion." — Locus

"A worthy science fictional successor to Swift's indispensable masterwork . . . equal parts adventure story and social commentary. Its philosophy is Swift's, but its success is all Roberts's own."  —Strange Horizons

"An endlessly inventive writer . . . one of our most intelligent and versatile authors."  —SFRevu

"Darkly satirical . . . a dystopian vision in the tradition of Swift, Orwell, and Atwood."  —The Times

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780575082328
  • Publisher: Gollancz, Victor Limited
  • Publication date: 10/1/2008
  • Pages: 368
  • Product dimensions: 5.90 (w) x 9.10 (h) x 1.10 (d)

Meet the Author

Adam Roberts is the author of Gradisil and Salt, both of which were shortlisted for the Arthur C. Clarke Award.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 4 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    BB

    Walks in with bella. Starts dancing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Grace

    Theres a gymnastics floor too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Rose

    Walked in and dumped her bag on the floor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    Finny

    Sweeps the dance floor and dusts everything so it looks nice and pretty

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)