Sylvie & True
  • Sylvie & True
  • Sylvie & True
  • Sylvie & True
<Previous >Next

Sylvie & True

by David McPhail, David M. McPhail
     
 

Sylvie, a rabbit, and True, a water snake, are best friends. They live together in a small apartment on a quiet street in a big city. Like a lot of best friends, Sylvie and True are different in many ways. Sylvie sleeps in a bed; True sleeps in the bathtub. Sylvie leaves the apartment by going through the door and down the stairs; True slides out the window and

See more details below

  • Checkmark Kids' Club Eligible  Shop Now

Overview

Sylvie, a rabbit, and True, a water snake, are best friends. They live together in a small apartment on a quiet street in a big city. Like a lot of best friends, Sylvie and True are different in many ways. Sylvie sleeps in a bed; True sleeps in the bathtub. Sylvie leaves the apartment by going through the door and down the stairs; True slides out the window and down a drainpipe. But, of course, they have things in common, too - they both love food and bowling - and together they make quite a team.

Told in four short and easy-to-read chapters, and illustrated in warm watercolors, this is a sweet and funny story about the give-and-take of friendship.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"Sure to bring a smile." —School Library Journal

"The pacing of the narratives...helps this charmer do double-duty as a bedtime book." —Publishers Weekly

Publishers Weekly

In four breezy vignettes, McPhail (Mole Music) spotlights everyday moments that spell true friendship for two unlikely roommates-a rabbit and a giant water snake. When readers first meet them, both are sound asleep: Sylvie snuggled in her bed, a portrait of her mother watching over her; and True submerged in a full bathtub, her nose and the tip of her tail sticking out. The other scenarios are equally simple (True, no expert in the kitchen, burns dinner; the two go bowling; bedtime rolls around), occasioning affectionate dialogue and terrific sight gags. Resembling an inflatable beach toy, True wraps her long body around the fridge and tilts it to empty its contents, containers and all, into a large pot when fixing the ill-fated supper. At the bowling lanes, she balances herself on enormous bowling shoes, then easily scores a strike by stretching herself down the alley, dropping the ball from her mouth. Sylvie, a maternal type who does the cooking and reads stories aloud at night, protests only feebly that True has moved over the line, and when True wins, as always, happily says that she's had fun. The pacing of the narratives, as well as the last vignette which ends as the two friends bid each other good night, helps this charmer do double-duty as a bedtime book. Ages 4-up. (Nov.)

Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information
Children's Literature - Carrie Hane Hung
A one-bedroom city apartment has an unusual pair of roommates in Sylvie and True. Sylvie is a rabbit who enjoys cooking meals while True is a huge, green water snake who sleeps in a bathtub of water. One day, True attempts to surprise Sylvie by preparing dinner. Unfortunately, the plan goes a bit awry with True as the cook, but they find a solution to the burnt attempt. It is Tuesday, the roommates' bowling night. The illustrations show how the water snake puts on size twenty-one bowling shoes; she is able to bowl quite well. Although True always wins, Sylvie still has fun bowling with her roommate. The two friends end their day with a bedtime story. The reader gets a glimpse of their life together in this simple chapter book with colorful watercolor illustrations. The story seems to mildly whet the reader's appetite for more stories about Sylvie and True's friendship, lives and adventures. Reviewer: Carrie Hane Hung
School Library Journal

PreS-Gr 1
Sylvie, a rabbit, and True, a giant water snake, share an apartment in the city. Their talents and interests are different, yet they're the best of friends. This gentle story of their relationship is told in four short, stand-alone chapters (perfect for bedtime). In one of them, True tries to cook. She puts the pot on the stove, but forgets all about it. Sylvie comes home to a smoke-filled apartment, so they go out for pizza. In another chapter, True proves her talents as a bowler, wearing size 21 shoes. Each selection quietly shows how the roommates give and take to make their friendship work. Their routine is comforting. Sylvie does the cooking, Tuesday is bowling night, and at bedtime, "Sylvie put on her colorful pajamas and brushed her teeth. True didn't wear pajamas because she was already quite colorful, but she did brush her teeth." The humor is low-key, but sure to bring on a smile. The tone is reflected in the bright watercolor and pen-and-ink drawings, which are perfectly suited for the quiet storytelling. The stories could be shared with a small group, but they are probably best read one-on-one or independently.
—Carolyn JanssenCopyright 2006 Reed Business Information.

Kirkus Reviews
In the tradition of Frog and Toad come Sylvie, a rabbit, and True, a snake, best friends who share a city apartment. A blend of picture book and early reader, this offering contains four short chapters in which the two friends have quiet, funny adventures. Readers learn how Sylvie sleeps in a bed while True sleeps in a tub. True pretends to scare a neighbor who knows how calm she really is. When True, "a good eater," prepares a meal for Sylvie, "a good cook," it comes to naught, so naturally they go out for pizza. True always wins at bowling because of her ability to slide down the lane while keeping her shoes in place-but it doesn't matter since both enjoy themselves. As the tub fills, Sylvie reads a story and the two agree they are glad to be friends and drift off to sleep. Full of gentle warmth and humor and accompanied by McPhail's always appealing watercolors, this is a selection perfect for reading aloud and for young readers comfortable with reading on their own. (Picture book. 4-7)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780374373641
Publisher:
Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Publication date:
10/28/2007
Edition description:
First Edition
Pages:
32
Product dimensions:
7.59(w) x 9.61(h) x 0.44(d)
Age Range:
4 - 6 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >