×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Syndetic Paradigm: The Untrodden Path Beyond Freud and Jung
     

The Syndetic Paradigm: The Untrodden Path Beyond Freud and Jung

by Robert Aziz
 

See All Formats & Editions

Offers a new theoretical paradigm that goes beyond the limitations of Freudian and Jungian psychological models.

In The Syndetic Paradigm, Robert Aziz argues that the Jungian Paradigm is a deeply flawed theoretical model that falls short of its promise. Aziz offers in its stead what he calls the Syndetic Paradigm. In contrast to the Jungian Paradigm, the

Overview

Offers a new theoretical paradigm that goes beyond the limitations of Freudian and Jungian psychological models.

In The Syndetic Paradigm, Robert Aziz argues that the Jungian Paradigm is a deeply flawed theoretical model that falls short of its promise. Aziz offers in its stead what he calls the Syndetic Paradigm. In contrast to the Jungian Paradigm, the Syndetic Paradigm takes the critical theoretical step of moving from a closed-system model of a self-regulatory psyche to an open-system model of a psyche in a self-organizing totality. The Syndetic Paradigm, in this regard, holds that all of life is bound together in a highly complex whole through an ongoing process of spontaneous self-organization. The new theoretical model that emerges in Aziz’s work, while taking up the fundamental concerns of its Freudian and Jungian predecessors with psychology, ethics, spirituality, sexuality, politics, and culture, conducts us to an experience of meaning that altogether exceeds their respective bounds.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
“Grounded in both theory and practice, Aziz offers a solid critique of both Freud and Jung and presents a model that goes beyond them. The Syndetic Paradigm will creatively challenge Freudian and Jungian theorists of all kinds, including cultural theorists. The critique and correction that Aziz offers is of fundamental importance.”— Harold Coward, author of Yoga and Psychology: Language, Memory, and Mysticism

“This book is an absolute must for readers of Jungian and Freudian literature. It is one of the rare works that takes a brand new look at the whole landscape of depth psychology and has the courage to say that each of the two established paradigms has important shortcomings, blind spots, and outright contradictions.” — Jeffrey C. Miller, author of The Transcendent Function: Jung’s Model of Psychological Growth through Dialogue with the Unconscious

“Lucidly written and richly illustrated with clinical material, Aziz’s book goes beyond highlighting problems in Jungian and Freudian theory to propose a cogent new model that resolves them. The result is a profound and captivating work that is infused with spiritual wisdom as well as psychological insight. It is a book that deserves to be seriously pondered not only by psychotherapists but by all those seeking a coherent and dignifying new paradigm of our human being in the world.” — Roderick Main, author of Revelations of Chance: Synchronicity as Spiritual Experience

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780791469828
Publisher:
State University of New York Press
Publication date:
02/08/2007
Series:
SUNY series in Transpersonal and Humanistic Psychology Series
Pages:
332
Product dimensions:
6.00(w) x 8.90(h) x 1.00(d)

Meet the Author

Robert Aziz is a psychotherapist in private practice, an executive consultant within the business sector, and has lectured on the psychology of the unconscious. He is a Clinical Member of the Ontario Society of Psychotherapists and a Full Member of the Canadian Psychological Association, and is the author of C. G. Jung’s Psychology of Religion and Synchronicity, also published by SUNY Press.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews