Tadeás Salva: Cello Concerto; Three Arias; Little Suite; Etc.

( 1 )
BN.com price
(Save 5%)$12.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (5) from $4.92   
  • New (5) from $4.92   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 3/27/2012
  • Label: Naxos
  • UPC: 747313250974
  • Catalog Number: 8572509
  • Sales rank: 251,241

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Eugen Prochac Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    Unusual Contemporary Rhythmic Pieces

    Tadeas Salva was a contemporary Slovakian composer, and the cello was his primary instrument of choice. However, in his “Concerto for Cello and Chamber Orchestra” it is clear that percussive elements and unorthodox rhythmic patterns were central to the textural patterns that he wanted to create. This is not warm sweeping cello music – far from it. And it doesn’t have the multi-themed feel of Bartok, but it is interesting in a percussive sort of way. Next comes “Three Arias for Cello and Piano (Nos. 1, 2, and 3)”. Each makes use of atonic counterpoint, and while musically interesting, they are not quite so pleasing to the ear. These are the kind of pieces that you might find sandwiched in a Chamber Music Concert between two bread-and-butter works. They deserve to be heard, but are certainly not going to draw concertgoers in and of themselves. Following these is a “Little Suite for Cello and Piano”, which presents some rather pleasant material played by the two instruments, each accompanying the other in a lovely back-and-forth motion as if two old friends found a few minutes to catch up with each other. Afterward, “Slovak Concerto Grosso No. 3 for Violin, Cello, and Organ” is a Concerto Grosso in more traditional style featuring what appears to be folk-song based and quite pleasant. These two pieces are easily my favorites on the disc. Finally is a series of eight preludes for two cellos. Both Mr. Prochac and Mr. Slavik show themselves to be fine cello players in these atypical, more contemporary feeling short pieces, Overall this music is played well, and the musicians do a fine job with the material. But for me, it was the more traditional sounding pieces that I enjoyed the most. Those that enjoy the more contemporary works will likely find something of value here in the pieces that were not quite my cup of tea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews