Takeover

Takeover

3.9 127
by Lisa Black
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

In the tradition of Kathy Reichs and Jeffery Deaver, a talented novelist introduces a gutsy forensic investigator caught in the middle of an explosive crisis

Early one Thursday morning, forensic scientist Theresa MacLean is called to the scene of a gruesome murder. The body of a man has been found on the front lawn of a house in

Overview

In the tradition of Kathy Reichs and Jeffery Deaver, a talented novelist introduces a gutsy forensic investigator caught in the middle of an explosive crisis

Early one Thursday morning, forensic scientist Theresa MacLean is called to the scene of a gruesome murder. The body of a man has been found on the front lawn of a house in suburban Cleveland, the back of his head bashed in. Although it's not the best start to her day, Theresa has been through worse. What unfolds during the next eight hours, though, is nothing she could ever have imagined.

Downtown at the Federal Reserve Bank, her police detective fiancé is taken hostage with six others in a robbery masterminded by two clever criminals. When she arrives at the scene, Theresa discovers that the police have brought in the city's best hostage negotiator: handsome, high-profile Chris Cavanaugh. He hasn't lost a victim yet, but Theresa wonders if he might be too arrogant to save the day this time around.

When her fiancé is injured, she seizes the opportunity to trade places with him. Once on the inside, she will use all her wiles, experience, and technical skills to gain control of the situation. But what initially appears to be a bank heist turns into something far more complex and deadly, and Theresa must decide how much more she is willing to sacrifice in order to save the lives of innocent people as well as her own.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

When high-level executive Mark Ludlow is discovered beaten to death in front of his house early one morning, forensic scientist Theresa MacLean and her fiancé, homicide detective Paul Cleary, investigate in Black's underwhelming debut, a thriller set in Cleveland. Paul immediately heads downtown to interview Ludlow's co-workers at the Federal Reserve Bank and walks right into a botched robbery attempt and hostage situation. Lucas Parrish and Bobby Moyers want $4 million, but top hostage negotiator Chris Cavanaugh isn't ready to give in to their demands. When Paul is shot in the leg and becomes a hostage, Theresa breaks protocol and convinces Lucas to let Paul go and take her instead. It's up to Theresa on the inside and Chris on the outside to uncover the motive behind the robbery and Ludlow's murder before anyone else gets hurt. Theresa, despite her professional training, devotes little time to scientific deduction. Readers can expect to find richer plots on most TV crime dramas. (Sept.)

Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.
Library Journal

Make room for another gutsy forensic pathologist unwilling to stay put in her lab. Theresa MacLean is horrified when the banker found murdered in his driveway connects, just a few hours later, to a bank hostage situation at the Federal Reserve Bank in downtown Cleveland. Why does her fiancé, detective Paul Cleary, have to be one of the hostages being held by two men who are either incredibly stupid (who robs the Federal Reserve?) or very much clued in to the bank's unique delivery patterns? After a few tense hours observing from the command post across the street, Theresa impulsively defies the hostage negotiator's protocol and swaps places with her wounded fiancé. Now on the inside, she uses her keen observational skills and gains a clearer idea of the robbers' motives. Human behavior, unpredictable as always, forces the hand of the robbers, and the situation escalates messily. Theresa is caught in a harrowing conclusion-car chase and all. Fans of Tess Gerritsen's Jane Rizzoli and Maura Isles novels will enjoy this debut thriller by a forensic specialist for its steady suspense, female intuition, and distinctive venue. A terrific vacation read; recommended for all popular collections. [See Prepub Alert, LJ5/15/08.]
—Teresa L. Jacobsen

Booklist (starred review)
“...a tautly plotted, relentlessly suspenseful debut. Let’s hope she writes another scorcher-and soon.”
Chicago Sun-Times
"Entertaining"
Tess Gerritsen
"Grab-you-by-the throat suspense, written by someone who has actually walked the disturbing walk of an investigator."
Jeremiah Healy
"The combination of a credible, likable hero and a bizarre, chilling story is rare in crime fiction....Lisa Black makes the tumblers click perfectly."
Doctor - Bill Bass
"An exciting story that is hard to put down."
Peter Abrahams
"Takeover is a riveting hostage drama packed with surprises. Once Lisa Black gets you inside the bank, you—like the bad guys—won’t be able to stop."
Ridley Pearson
"Takeover is captivating. Part procedural, part psychological suspense, and every inch a thriller, Takeover succeeds from the opening chapter."
Booklist
"...a tautly plotted, relentlessly suspenseful debut. Let’s hope she writes another scorcher-and soon."

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780061835506
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
10/13/2009
Series:
Theresa MacLean Novels , #1
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
384
Sales rank:
38,815
File size:
680 KB

What People are saying about this

Jeremiah Healy
“The combination of a credible, likable hero and a bizarre, chilling story is rare in crime fiction....Lisa Black makes the tumblers click perfectly.”
Ridley Pearson
“Takeover is captivating. Part procedural, part psychological suspense, and every inch a thriller, Takeover succeeds from the opening chapter.”
Peter Abrahams
“Takeover is a riveting hostage drama packed with surprises. Once Lisa Black gets you inside the bank, you—like the bad guys—won’t be able to stop.”
Bill Bass
“An exciting story that is hard to put down.”
Tess Gerritsen
“Grab-you-by-the throat suspense, written by someone who has actually walked the disturbing walk of an investigator.”

Meet the Author

Lisa Black is the author of three previous thrillers featuring Theresa MacLean: Trail of Blood, Evidence of Murder, and Takeover. A latent fingerprint examiner and CSI in Florida and a former forensic scientist for the Cleveland coroner's office, she is a member of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences and has testified in more than fifty homicide trials. A native of Cleveland, she lives in Cape Coral, Florida.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Takeover 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 127 reviews.
yduke More than 1 year ago
This is the first of three Theresa MacLean books, by Lisa Black, she is an awesome writer. Keeps you on the edge of your seat from the first page to the last. I've read all three, and am looking forward to the next book by Lisa Black. I've also read her first two books, under the name, Elizabeth Becka, once you read the first page, she's got you, don't want to put the books down. So if you are looking for a series, that you'll be talking about for a long time, Please read, Lisa Black's books. You won't be disappointed. Happy Reading!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read this book and the second one twice and enjoyed them both times. There are a few editing mistakes. These books are like Patricia Cornwell's early books. Black's books are not as technical and are more believable then Cornwell's and the characters more likable. These books are very graphic and violent. There is a lot of gore, but no cursing or sex. The plot for this one was rather unique, but it tended to drag at times as the incident went on and on and on. Because of the violence and graphic details, I recommend this 250 page book for readers 18 and up. AD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like intrigue romance and a few other things, pick this one up!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this book. First half of book kept your interest, but the last half was continuously intense and constant page turned to the very end. I will definitely read more of her books. Great read.
romancemistress More than 1 year ago
If you liked this author as Elizabeth Becka (Trace Evidence; Unknown Means), follow her as she writes as Lisa Black. With a similar lead female character in forensics, this will recall Kathy Reichs' investigative books. This reminds me of Jeffery Deaver's technique in early books of following the action minute by minute to ramp up the intensity of the hostage situation. Loved it and it certainly reads as though there will be a sequel. Strong female characters also remind me of the works of mother/daughter writing team P.J. Tracy. Read on!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think this author shows a lot of promise to compete with Vince Fynn, Joseph Finder, John Grisham, and James Patterson, in the book world, but she is just not there yet. I couldn't get into the characters and the plot was slow to develop. No twists or turns or ups and downs, it just plodded along. It was not easy or fun to keep reading until the end. Keep trying, Lisa, you are almost there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoy Lisa Blacks writing and this was no exception although I would say it was average, have enjoyed others more.
BookaholicTracy More than 1 year ago
Great book I couldn't put down. Would recommend
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. It grabbed me right from the start. I do not want to go into the story too much, as it might spoil it for someone else. It is one of those stories where nobody acts or responds the way you expect them to, and you can't figure out why the robbers are doing the things they do. You are also intrigued by the murder right at the start of the story, and want to know what happened and why it happened. A very good page turner with an ending you won't see coming.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is ok. Not a real Lisa Black read....nail biting trying to guess the ending. I was disappointed with this book, but you cant bat 100% all the time. I just didnt get it or get into it. It sermed really stupid. Knowing how the FRB works may have ruined it for me, but the negoiator really blew too many things and made this book hookey. Sorry, you usually are one of my favorite writers.
jeanie29 More than 1 year ago
Can't put down book! Great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this is a new author that I have found and I really enjoyed her book.
MsObie More than 1 year ago
A fast paced thriller about a bank heist gone wrong.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not happy I read Evidece of Murcer first because it said the published date is Sept 2009 & Take over is Oct 2009 but Take overis the first book in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another firensic scientist who somehow is alliwed to do a cop's job instead of her own. Stupid and annoying.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kind of boring.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read. Different. I'm not sure things would play out like they did. But it is important to how the story goes. I can't say more without giving away the story. But well worth the read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago