The Tale of Holly How (Cottage Tales of Beatrix Potter Series #2)

The Tale of Holly How (Cottage Tales of Beatrix Potter Series #2)

4.4 14
by Susan Wittig Albert
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Everyone in Sawrey likes Ben Hornby. So when Beatrix finds the shepherd dead in the meadow and suspects foul play, she wonders who would have done such a thing. A trio of village cats has an idea: When Ben breathed his last, his sheep must have seen his killer before scattering. So they set out to find the far-flung flock. Although she’s distracted by duties at

Overview

Everyone in Sawrey likes Ben Hornby. So when Beatrix finds the shepherd dead in the meadow and suspects foul play, she wonders who would have done such a thing. A trio of village cats has an idea: When Ben breathed his last, his sheep must have seen his killer before scattering. So they set out to find the far-flung flock. Although she’s distracted by duties at the farm and the sad plight of a young girl, Beatrix must get to the bottom of this. As the stories intertwine, Beatrix and the creatures realize that, to solve this case, all of Sawrey, both the two- and four-legged inhabitants, must work together...

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
As in 2004's The Tale of Hill Top Farm, Albert skillfully blends fact and fiction in her second Beatrix Potter tale set in the quaint English Lake District village of Near Sawrey. Beatrix is in the midst of renovating Hill Top Farm when she discovers the body of Ben Hornby, a local sheep owner who has recently had more than his share of bad luck. She suspects foul play and joins the local constable and real-life solicitor William Heelis in investigating the cause of Hornby's demise. Still reeling from the sudden death of her fianc , Beatrix becomes more involved with her fellow villagers, in particular 11-year-old Caroline, who lives with her grandmother, Lady Longforth. Vivid descriptions of Sawrey and its environs, attractive human characters and unobtrusive animals with delightful personalities combine to create a mystery that's a stellar tribute to the famous children's author. As charming as the "little books" themselves, this is sure to delight Beatrix Potter fans and cozy lovers everywhere. (July 5) Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.
Library Journal
In the second "Cottage Tales" mystery, Beatrix Potter and her four-legged cohorts sniff out the murderer of a local shepherd in Sawrey, England. Albert lives in Austin, TX. Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.
School Library Journal
Adult/High School-In this second entry in a delightful and cozy mystery series, Albert hits her stride. Miss Potter is starting to make a life for herself, both on her farm and in the villages of Far and Near Sawrey. She's acquired a herd of Herdwick sheep, is remodeling the farmhouse, and is slowly recovering from the death of her fianc . Nefarious and curious events begin to happen: the body of a local shepherd is found at the base of a cliff; a pair of badgers is missing, presumably to be used in an illegal badger-baiting fight; and rich Lady Longford is putting forward her own candidate to teach in the Sawrey School. The animals (who can talk to one another) have been joined by the redoubtable Professor Galileo Newton Owl and the stalwart Bosworth Badger XVII, hotelier and genealogist of the badger clan. The plot moves swiftly and surely, with deft characterizations and comic charm, culminating in a rally of "Big Folk" and animals to save the innocent and punish the guilty. As in the first Cottage Tale, Albert has included research resources, recipes, a glossary, a map, an author's note, and a particularly helpful cast of characters. Teens will enjoy this small gem of a mystery revolving around the sweet Miss Potter, her neighbors, and the charming creatures she holds dear.-Jane Halsall, McHenry Public Library District, IL Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.
Kirkus Reviews
Murder interrupts Beatrix Potter's latest visit to her beloved Hill Top Farm in England's Lake District. It's 1906. When the noted children's author goes to neighboring Holly How Farm to see her new Herdwicks, she discovers the body of the shepherd, Ben Hornsby. Though it first appears he fell over a cliff, the doctor discovers he was hit in the back with an undetermined weapon. Beneath the village of Sawrey's placid surface lurks unpleasantness. Lady Longford's candidate for the head teacher's position is opposed by the villagers, who prefer to promote the current lower-school teacher; the sly companion Miss Martine is cruel to Caroline, daughter of her Ladyship's castoff son; and one of the local badger setts has been raided and its occupants taken for an illegal badger-baiting. Beatrix is embroiled in these affairs through her meeting with Isaac Chance, who's suspected of burning down Hornsby's barn, and her visit to Caroline, to whom she offers a guinea pig as a short-term companion. She foils several nefarious schemes with the help of Justice of the Peace Miles Woodcock, solicitor William Heelis, and a large group of local animals tame and wild. Albert (Dead Man's Bones, p. 259, etc.) provides enchantment for fans of Beatrix Potter and Sneaky Pie Brown, and anyone else who likes mysteries that are easy to solve.
From the Publisher
“Albert’s nimble evocation of country life—above- and belowground—[is] hard to resist.”—Booklist“A stellar tribute…As charming as the ‘little books’ themselves.”—Publishers Weekly

“Provides enchantment for fans of Beatrix Potter.”—Kirkus Reviews

“A most ingenious blend of fact and fiction.”—Judy Taylor Hough, author of Beatrix Potter: Artist, Storyteller and Countrywoman

 “[An] adorable amateur sleuth tale.”—The Best Reviews

“Hard to resist, especially on a sleepy, sunny afternoon.”—Booklist

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781440625329
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
07/05/2006
Series:
Cottage Tales of Beatrix Potter Series , #2
Sold by:
Penguin Group
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
320
Sales rank:
152,375
File size:
892 KB
Age Range:
18 Years

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher

“Albert’s nimble evocation of country life—above- and belowground—[is] hard to resist.”
Booklist

“A stellar tribute…As charming as the ‘little books’ themselves.”—Publishers Weekly

“Provides enchantment for fans of Beatrix Potter.”—Kirkus Reviews

“A most ingenious blend of fact and fiction.”—Judy Taylor Hough, author of Beatrix Potter: Artist, Storyteller and Countrywoman

“[An] adorable amateur sleuth tale.”—The Best Reviews

“Hard to resist, especially on a sleepy, sunny afternoon.”—Booklist

Meet the Author

Susan Wittig Albert grew up on a farm in Illinois and earned her Ph.D. at the University of California at Berkeley. A former professor of English and a university administrator and vice president, she is the author of the China Bayles Mysteries, the Darling Dahlias Mysteries, and the Cottage Tales of Beatrix Potter. Some of her recent titles include Widow’s Tears, Cat’s Claw, The Darling Dahlias and the Confederate Rose, and The Tale of Castle Cottage. She and her husband, Bill, coauthor a series of Victorian-Edwardian mysteries under the name Robin Paige, which includes such titles as Death at Glamis Castle and Death at Whitechapel.

Brief Biography

Date of Birth:
1940
Place of Birth:
Danville, Illinois
Education:
Ph.D., University of California at Berkeley

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Tale of Holly How (Cottage Tales of Beatrix Potter Series #2) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You can reqeust weapons her.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book. It was an easy, breezy read! I plan to get the next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
No matter what your age is, the Cottage Tales are just fun to read. It is light, easy reading and a perfect book to curl up with to escape from the world of stress. I am not surprised that the animals talk, for any one that is around animals especially dogs, they are always trying to talk to us. We just do not take the time to listen. For those who have just started the series, keep reading for you can't wait until the next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful story for the younger set. But I enjoyed it, too. It was a very refreshing read, with just a bit of drama-- enough to keep you interested until the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Was told by a friend that I would "really love" this series. I am hooked. I love the Lake District. Had never read anything by Miss Albert before, so glad this was recommended! I love her books! You won't be disappointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
harstan More than 1 year ago
After the death of her fiancé, children¿s author and illustrator Beatrix Potter buys Hill Top Farm in the Lake District village of Near Sawrey. After a period of adjustment, Miss Potter and the villagers accommodate one another as she has the farmhouse renovated so she can live there when she isn¿t needed by her parents in London, particularly her mother who is always demands Beatrix help her with her ¿nothing¿ crisis. --- Miss Potter buys sheep from local shepherd Ben Hornby, but when she arrives to collect them, she finds him dead with evidence proving he was murdered. Miss Potter also befriends sad Caroline, whose grandmother, Lady Longford doesn¿t want to know her since she disowned her granddaughter¿s father (her son) for not marrying the women she had picked for him. Caroline overhears the governess Ms. Marline plotting to pull a stunt with a person applying for the head school teacher position against her grandmother. Remembering Miss Potter¿s kindness on a previous excursion, she goes to her for help and she along with some of the locals set a trap to catch two very clever villains. --- THE TALE OF THE HOLLY HOW is a charming adorable amateur sleuth tale set in a village where animals talk to help one another in the tradition of Sneaky Pete Brown. There is a sub-plot involving villagers sponsoring badger baiting (forcing badgers to fight with money bet on the outcome) until all the animals work together to break up this vile practice. Susan Witting Albert enables readers to see the world threw the magical eyes of Miss Beatrix Potter.--- Harriet Klausner