Talking With My Mouth Full: Crab Cakes, Bundt Cakes, and Other Kitchen Stories
  • Alternative view 1 of Talking With My Mouth Full: Crab Cakes, Bundt Cakes, and Other Kitchen Stories
  • Alternative view 2 of Talking With My Mouth Full: Crab Cakes, Bundt Cakes, and Other Kitchen Stories

Talking With My Mouth Full: Crab Cakes, Bundt Cakes, and Other Kitchen Stories

by Bonny Wolf, Scott Turow
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

"As reassuring as a big bowl of buttery mashed potatoes…a delicious read."
Library Journal

What and how do American families really eat? Bonny Wolf writes about the great regional and family food traditions in this country—birthday cake and dinner party food, hearty American breakfasts and Fourth of July picnic dishes. In Talking

Overview

"As reassuring as a big bowl of buttery mashed potatoes…a delicious read."
Library Journal

What and how do American families really eat? Bonny Wolf writes about the great regional and family food traditions in this country—birthday cake and dinner party food, hearty American breakfasts and Fourth of July picnic dishes. In Talking with My Mouth Full, she writes stories about food, and also about the people who eat it.

Many of the delightful national treasures Wolf writes about—bundt cake, barbecue, roast chicken, fair food—are timeless. Each chapter, whether it's about true regional specialties like Minnesota's wild rice, Texas' Blue Bell ice cream or Maryland's famous crab cakes or about family favorites like noodle pudding or Irish raisin soda bread, ends with a perfectly chosen group of recipes, tantalizing and time-tested.

In the tradition of Laurie Colwin's Home Cooking, Talking with My Mouth Full is a book you will turn to over and over for wonderful food writing and recipes for comfort food, a great nosh, or the ideal covered dish to take to a potluck supper.

"Charming, lighthearted…refreshingly accessible."—Publishers Weekly
"Savory collection of essays."—Washington Post
"Delightful."—Austin Chronicle

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

“As reassuring as a big bowl of buttery mashed potatoes.” —Library Journal

“Bonny Wolf is an anthropologist of the kitchen.” —Washingtonian Magazine

“Offers a fine fix for comfort food seekers, and then some.” —The Washington Times

“Savory collection of essays.” —Washington Post

“Stuffed with experiences of cooking--and eating...a perfect time to reflect on our love for the food our mothers fed us.” —Richmond Times Dispatch

“Charming...boasts an infectious appreciation for the dowdier dishes of the last century...If you think you would never consider making cake with pistachio pudding mix, this book will change your mind.” —Entertainment Weekly

Publishers Weekly
In this charming, lighthearted collection of essays, Wolf, a commentator on National Public Radio's Weekend Edition Sunday, explores the foods we eat and the ways they bind us to one another. Much of the book is devoted to regional foods: a Minnesota native of Eastern European Jewish descent, Wolf has an abiding love of kugel as well as wild rice and state fair food on sticks. More than two decades living in the Washington, D.C., area has brought other edible joys, like products from the Eastern Market and a ritual shad roe dinner with friends. While not breaking any new journalistic ground, Wolf reports on popovers and pickled antipasto with enthusiasm, melding personal and culinary history, narrative and instruction. Her how-to pieces delve the difficulties that many home cooks struggle with, such as how to make the perfect roast chicken or rescue a dinner party disaster. Interspersed throughout these ruminations are the recipes she's collected from friends and family. It's clear that Wolf's sophisticated, well-traveled palate coexists peacefully with a predilection for the fuss-free, traditional foods that have never gone out of favor ice cream with chocolate sauce and meatloaf. Readers will find both her writing and the cooking refreshingly accessible. (Nov.) Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.
Library Journal
This collection of essays about the foods that mark special occasions in the average American's home is as reassuring as a big bowl of buttery mashed potatoes. A food commentator for NPR's Weekend Edition Sunday, Wolf explores the magic of why Maryland crab cakes are the best, why wild rice is a delicacy everywhere but Minnesota, and why birthday cake is an essential part of all birthday celebrations. Her essays include recipes, and the index will make locating them easy for readers dying to make Real Texas Chili or Queen of Sheba Cake. Home cooks will find themselves smiling, either with relief or commiseration, while reading the "Dinner Disasters" chapter, and comfort seekers will find solace from the familiar dishes present in "The Comforts of Food." Wolf's writing conjures up the magic of a day at the fair, with all the treats you can manage. Her belief in the power of food to bind families together and keep generations connected makes this collection of essays a delicious read. Shelley Brown, New Westminster P.L., B.C. Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780312373856
Publisher:
St. Martin's Press
Publication date:
10/02/2007
Edition description:
Reprint
Pages:
272
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.61(d)

Meet the Author

Bonny Wolf is a journalist who has worked as a reporter and editor at newspapers in New Jersey, Texas and Washington, D.C., where she lives. She has been a food commentator for National Public Radio's Weekend Edition since 2003, is the host for NPR's food podcast "Kitchen Window," and writes a food column for The Washington Post.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >