Talking With My Mouth Full: Crab Cakes, Bundt Cakes, and Other Kitchen Stories

Overview

"As reassuring as a big bowl of buttery mashed potatoes…a delicious read."

Library Journal

What and how do American families really eat? Bonny Wolf writes about the great regional and family food traditions in this country—birthday cake and dinner party food, hearty American breakfasts and Fourth of July picnic dishes. In Talking with My Mouth Full, she writes stories about food, and also about the people who eat it.

Many of the delightful ...

See more details below
Paperback (Reprint)
$17.09
BN.com price
(Save 10%)$18.99 List Price
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (20) from $1.99   
  • New (7) from $11.50   
  • Used (13) from $1.99   
Talking with My Mouth Full: Crab Cakes, Bundt Cakes, and Other Kitchen Stories

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$7.99
BN.com price

Overview

"As reassuring as a big bowl of buttery mashed potatoes…a delicious read."

Library Journal

What and how do American families really eat? Bonny Wolf writes about the great regional and family food traditions in this country—birthday cake and dinner party food, hearty American breakfasts and Fourth of July picnic dishes. In Talking with My Mouth Full, she writes stories about food, and also about the people who eat it.

Many of the delightful national treasures Wolf writes about—bundt cake, barbecue, roast chicken, fair food—are timeless. Each chapter, whether it's about true regional specialties like Minnesota's wild rice, Texas' Blue Bell ice cream or Maryland's famous crab cakes or about family favorites like noodle pudding or Irish raisin soda bread, ends with a perfectly chosen group of recipes, tantalizing and time-tested.

In the tradition of Laurie Colwin's Home Cooking, Talking with My Mouth Full is a book you will turn to over and over for wonderful food writing and recipes for comfort food, a great nosh, or the ideal covered dish to take to a potluck supper.

"Charming, lighthearted…refreshingly accessible."—Publishers Weekly

"Savory collection of essays."—Washington Post

"Delightful."—Austin Chronicle

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
In this charming, lighthearted collection of essays, Wolf, a commentator on National Public Radio's Weekend Edition Sunday, explores the foods we eat and the ways they bind us to one another. Much of the book is devoted to regional foods: a Minnesota native of Eastern European Jewish descent, Wolf has an abiding love of kugel as well as wild rice and state fair food on sticks. More than two decades living in the Washington, D.C., area has brought other edible joys, like products from the Eastern Market and a ritual shad roe dinner with friends. While not breaking any new journalistic ground, Wolf reports on popovers and pickled antipasto with enthusiasm, melding personal and culinary history, narrative and instruction. Her how-to pieces delve the difficulties that many home cooks struggle with, such as how to make the perfect roast chicken or rescue a dinner party disaster. Interspersed throughout these ruminations are the recipes she's collected from friends and family. It's clear that Wolf's sophisticated, well-traveled palate coexists peacefully with a predilection for the fuss-free, traditional foods that have never gone out of favor ice cream with chocolate sauce and meatloaf. Readers will find both her writing and the cooking refreshingly accessible. (Nov.) Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.
Library Journal
This collection of essays about the foods that mark special occasions in the average American's home is as reassuring as a big bowl of buttery mashed potatoes. A food commentator for NPR's Weekend Edition Sunday, Wolf explores the magic of why Maryland crab cakes are the best, why wild rice is a delicacy everywhere but Minnesota, and why birthday cake is an essential part of all birthday celebrations. Her essays include recipes, and the index will make locating them easy for readers dying to make Real Texas Chili or Queen of Sheba Cake. Home cooks will find themselves smiling, either with relief or commiseration, while reading the "Dinner Disasters" chapter, and comfort seekers will find solace from the familiar dishes present in "The Comforts of Food." Wolf's writing conjures up the magic of a day at the fair, with all the treats you can manage. Her belief in the power of food to bind families together and keep generations connected makes this collection of essays a delicious read. Shelley Brown, New Westminster P.L., B.C. Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780312373856
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press
  • Publication date: 10/2/2007
  • Edition description: Reprint
  • Pages: 272
  • Sales rank: 1,445,322
  • Product dimensions: 5.50 (w) x 8.50 (h) x 0.61 (d)

Meet the Author

Bonny Wolf is a journalist who has worked as a reporter and editor at newspapers in New Jersey, Texas and Washington, D.C., where she lives. She has been a food commentator for National Public Radio’s Weekend Edition since 2003, is the host for NPR’s food podcast “Kitchen Window,” and writes a food column for The Washington Post.

Read More Show Less

Table of Contents


Acknowledgments     ix
Foreword   Scott Turow     xiii
Introduction     1
Generation to Generation
The Little Cake Pan That Could     15
Aunt Esther's Antipasto     21
An Ode to Toast     29
Kitchen Tools     35
Mothers' Days     40
Cold Comfort     49
Kitchen Magic     54
Let Them Eat Cake     62
Tied to My Apron Strings     70
Family Dinner     75
Jell-O Redux     86
A Day at the Fair     92
The Comforts of Food     100
Feeding the Multitudes
Crowd Pleasers     109
Forever Breakfast     120
Giving Thanks     126
Dinner Disasters     134
'Tis the Season     141
The Chicken Challenge     147
Taking Potluck     152
Lights and Latkes     159
Entertaining in Color     165
Food on Fire     171
Foreign Food
The Running of the Shad     181
Sacred Cows     186
Market Pleasures     194
Fruits of the Sea     203
Local Flavors     209
Vegetarian Times     216
Viva Mexico     221
Plain and Simple     228
Eating Chinese     234
It's Bawlmer, Hon     240
Index     247
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)