×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Taste of Conquest
     

The Taste of Conquest

2.5 2
by Michael Krondl, Todd McLaren (Narrated by)
 
In this engaging, anecdotal history of food, world conquest, and desire, a chef-turned-journalist tells the story of three legendary cities-Venice, Lisbon, and Amsterdam-that transformed the globe in the quest for spice. Written in a colorful style that will appeal to fans of Mark Kurlansky and Michael Pollan, this ambitious yet accessible book travels effortlessly

Overview

In this engaging, anecdotal history of food, world conquest, and desire, a chef-turned-journalist tells the story of three legendary cities-Venice, Lisbon, and Amsterdam-that transformed the globe in the quest for spice. Written in a colorful style that will appeal to fans of Mark Kurlansky and Michael Pollan, this ambitious yet accessible book travels effortlessly from the Crusades to the present day. Michael Krondl explains that it was the desire for spices that got international trade up and running on a scale that had never occurred prior to that time. This explosive growth of the spice trade led to the successive rise-and fall-of Venice, Lisbon, and Amsterdam. Krondl, a gifted food writer, travels to each of these great cities and begins his visit with a great meal. Gradually, he merges the menu he's enjoying with the city's colorful past, and readers are off on a gastronomical tour that teaches them not only about food and spice but also about history and commerce.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"Todd McLaren reads with a persuasive impersonation as he vicariously becomes the author." ---AudioFile

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781400105458
Publisher:
Tantor Media, Inc.
Publication date:
11/01/2007
Edition description:
Unabridged, 10 CDs, 11 hrs. 30 min.
Product dimensions:
6.40(w) x 5.30(h) x 1.10(d)

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher
"Todd McLaren reads with a persuasive impersonation as he vicariously becomes the author." —-AudioFile

Meet the Author

Chef and food writer Michael Krondl is the author of The Great Little Pumpkin Cookbook and Around the American Table.

Todd McLaren was involved in radio for more than twenty years in cities on both coasts. He left broadcasting for a full-time career in voice-overs, where he has been heard on more than 5,000 TV and radio commercials, as well as TV promos, narrations for documentaries on such networks as A&E and the History Channel, and films.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Taste of Conquest 0 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 0 reviews.