Tchaikovsky, Brahms: Violin Concertos

( 3 )
$3.99 price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (CD)
  • All (9) from $1.99   
  • New (5) from $1.99   
  • Used (4) from $1.99   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 10/17/1995
  • Label: Emi Classics
  • UPC: 724356903524
  • Catalog Number: 69035
  • Sales rank: 29,995


Disc 1
  1. 1–3 Violin Concerto, for violin & orchestra (or violin & piano) in D major, Op. 35 - Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky & Nathan Milstein
  2. 4–6 Concerto for violin & orchestra, Op 77, in D - Johannes Brahms & Nathan Milstein
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Nathan Milstein Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 3.5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Terrific recordings of both concerti

    This may turn out to be my favorite recordings of these two concerti (I already have three recordings of each), particularly the Brahms, in which there is some exquisite and enchanting playing. If you are in the market for recordings of these two old warhorses, as least give this disc a listen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Violin Concerti 101: Don't Pass This One Up

    This recording has to be among the greatest bargains in the classical music repertoire. Seraphim has generously packaged two of Nathan Milstein's established performances in clean, crisp sound. Don't let the $5 price tag mislead you. This is not one of those "cookie cutter" performances relegated to the bargain bin or discount shelf. This recording is the "real deal".
    Milstein is reknown for his technical precision and well executed craftsmanship. Each note is successfully phrased, and there are few miscues. To this listener, the Brahms is played with great verve and inspiration, perhaps with a bit more bravura than the Tchaikovsky, although the Canzonetta has rarely been more skillfully performed. Overall, both works have been warmly recorded and can be highly recommended on the most essential list for first time listeners. If you are desiring only one recording of these two concerti, make it this one. It surpasses even the hyped Heifetz recordings of both works with Reiner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews