Tchaikovsky: Complete Symphonies

( 1 )
$26.59 price
(Save 5%)$27.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (4) from $18.92   
  • New (4) from $18.92   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 1/25/2011
  • Label: Newton Classics
  • EAN: 8718247710362
  • Catalog Number: 8802036
  • Sales rank: 202,498


Disc 1
  1. 1 Symphony No. 6 in B minor ("Pathétique"), Op. 74 - Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky & Igor Markevitch (45:41)
  2. 2 Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64 - Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky & Igor Markevitch (43:35)
  3. 3 Symphony No. 4 in F minor, Op. 36 - Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky & Igor Markevitch (42:29)
  4. 4 Symphony No. 3 in D major ("Polish"), Op. 29 - Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky & Igor Markevitch (47:09)
  5. 5 Symphony No. 2 in C minor ("Little Russian"), Op. 17 - Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky & Igor Markevitch (36:04)
  6. 6 Symphony No. 1 in G minor ("Winter Dreams"), Op. 13 - Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky & Igor Markevitch (41:32)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
London Symphony Orchestra Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Tchaikovsky symphonies revisited in important reissue!

    Igor Markevitch became an instant name as a composer in the late 1920s, when he was only in his mid-teens. By the mid-1940s, Markevitch essentially quit composing to focus on his appreciable talent as a conductor. Markevitch was born in Kiev, July 1912, the son of the pianist Boris Markevitch, who had been a pupil of Eugene d'Albert. In 1914 the family moved to Paris, where he continued studies with his father, also a brilliant pianist. Markevitch had made his debut as a conductor in 1933 and, in 1944, the British occupation forces asked Markevitch to reorganize the orchestra in Florence and the Maggio Fiorentino. Markevitch ended up in similar positions in Stockholm, Paris, Montreal, Madrid, Monte Carlo and Rome, and he held conducting seminars or courses in Salzburg, Mexico, Moscow, Madrid, Monte Carlo and Weimar. Markevitch recorded a complete cycle of Tchaikovsky symphonies with the LSO for Philips between 1962 and 1966. Time and marketing allowed both the Karajan and Haitink sets to become better known. Now they have arrived in this four-CD boxed set, on Newton Classics and have been brilliantly remastered. The layout on four discs means that Symphonies Nos. 2 and 5 are centrally divided (between movements), but that does not bother me and should be no issue for anyone want a clean, crisp and very authentic sounding set. These performances rival the best I have ever heard and in certain instances I do prefer the Markevitch. He does take a brighter clip in the 1st Symphony than Karajan (or an old DGG of Tilsson-Thomas I have) and his "Little Russian" has a drive to it especially in the finale that elevates the work, sometimes done too measured. The Symphony #3 also has a drive to the opening but Markevitch brings out the Polish folk elements in the inner two movements wonderfully and sympathetically. His Symphony #4, which has always been my favorite, has a pulse to the 9/8 opening that brings great excitement and his finale is an almost ideal tempo, exiliriating but not to the extremes of the Solti Chicago recording, for example. Markevitch's #5 is a similarly fine experience, maybe a little slower in spots than I have heard, but intense and enjoyable. Lastly, the "Pathetique" is truly passionate with plenty of drive in the opening movement and closing with deep emotion but not an excess of 'pathos'. Throughout, the London Symphony's playing is wonderful and responsive to the conductor's vision. This is a terrific reissue of an important set of performances and Newton represents both wonderful re-engineering and a bargain price. Highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews