Temporary Duty

Temporary Duty

4.6 30
by Ric Locke
     
 
Two enlisted sailors are sent to an alien spaceship to help prepare for the real human delegation. Once they arrive, they find out there's a little more to the assignment than that.
Alien worlds and friendly aliens, exploding spaceships and many that don't, a little sex, and the Internal Revenue Service. Oh, and janitorial supplies. Truly there are Wonders Out

Overview

Two enlisted sailors are sent to an alien spaceship to help prepare for the real human delegation. Once they arrive, they find out there's a little more to the assignment than that.
Alien worlds and friendly aliens, exploding spaceships and many that don't, a little sex, and the Internal Revenue Service. Oh, and janitorial supplies. Truly there are Wonders Out There.

Editorial Reviews

Moe Lane
Sort of US Navy Meets Doc EE Smith, with a bit of modern military SF exasperation with current political-cultural trends mixed in.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940012849090
Publisher:
Warrick Locke
Publication date:
05/29/2011
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
411,518
File size:
2 MB

Meet the Author

Ric Locke is a broken-toothed redneck living in a small town in Texas. He's never been around the world, but he's been halfway in both directions. This is his first published novel.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Temporary Duty 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
Bill_Swears More than 1 year ago
Ric Locke's Temporary Duty (TDY) is a really solid read - one of the best I've had in several years. It's about John Peters, a junior enlisted person in a believable near future U.S. Navy, who volunteers to swab decks on an interstellar aircraft carrier//interstellar trading ship, crewed by aliens, Mankind's first contact. Peters' America is one where the poor don't get school, the vote, or much chance to make something of themselves. It isn't a glass ceiling, it's more of an adamantium barrier. Wealth and privilege are birthrights of the wealthy and privileged, and American society has become a caste system in all but name. But, all of that is backdrop, and Locke dribbles the info in over hundreds of pages of fun space opera. Peters' adventures in space are engaging, his cynical attitude well earned, and his ability to rise to any occasion seems to flow naturally from the character. As a retired Coastie pilot, with a pinch of army warrant officer pilot in my past, I found that all of the human technical language was familiar to me, and the sort of interactions Peters has with fellow enlisted and officers generally rang true to the real world, with the exception that the behaviors Peters experiences in the officers of his story are behaviors that would have got me cashiered if I had acted that way during my military career. This isn't unreasonable, given the premise of a much darker, very hierarchical U.S. social structure. Almost any of the worst behaviors the officers and senior enlisted personnel in Peter's unit display are things I saw happen at some point in my career - but most of the time by people who got to experience civilian life within a couple years of doing whatever they did. Another reviewer commented that this isn't a military action book, and that is true. But fans of military SF, who know what they're looking at, will really love this book. Fans of Andre Norton's Interstellar trader stories will really love this book. Fans of Heinlein's "Between Planets" or "Citizen of the Galaxy" and his other early adventures with sideline social commentary will really love this book. I even think that fans of the recent BSG will love this book. Fans of C.J. Cherryh's alien worlds will really love this book, for its interesting alien cultures and environments. Fans of John Carter of Mars will love this book, especially the last half. You've probably got my drift. One other thing - while this book reminds me of many things, it is uniquely Ric Locke's creation. I'm really glad that I read it. One of the things I love about TDY is the fact that it isn't a simply premised adventure. Peters' life changes, and the nature of his adventures change over time - a lot like real life. The man who we meet at the beginning is still there at the end, but is only a part of the whole. I think that the Gatekeepers of Modern Publishing can't accept this thing because they can't define it in a two minute pitch. Buy it. Read it. You'll probably tell friends to buy and read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this book two(2) days ago and read it in two days straight. It keeps moving, keeps you into the plot, and makes you impatient to see how it all comes out. Although it is almos 1400 pages long, they move. It didn't seem that long as I was reading it. As a matter of fact, at 3AM this morning, my wife begged me to get to sleep as I had to get up early today. Elliott Starr
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tempory Duty is neither great literature nor stellar science fiction. What it is is great fun. I'm 62 yrs. old but feel like a kid again reading this. 1400 pages wasn't enough.
Redoak More than 1 year ago
Okay, I give. Where did this Ric Locke come from? I thought I had read all the good authors and this guys is WAY up on the list. I can hardly wait for the next book. THis book is well worth your time and money if you like entertaining and interesting books.You won't be sorry. Buy it.
Anonymous 11 months ago
The good news is this is a good book that is well written. Take off your critical hat and just enjoy a good, fast moving story! Now, the not so good: If you do not care much for aircraft carrier flight procedures it gets a little slow and almost boring at times. If you are a navy officer, you probably will not like it. If you think a hero who claims not to hurt living things should do less acts close to outright murder (of bad guys only of course) you may not like this story much. And if you think every alien culture should not mirror 20th century American right down to fascination with the female breast, then you are going really not like this book. However silly much of this story is, i still would recommend this book to most folks and give the author high marks for keeping me reading past all the flaws with a smile on my face! JC
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is not the typical sci fi shoot em up. Its simply a very good story very well told. My only complaint is that it ends in a bit of a rush but at nearly 1400 pages in a single volume, l guess I can see why. I really hope that Locke revisits John Peters in the future. In the meantime read this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed this book and was looking for more from this author but unfortunately found that he had died in the middle of writting the sequal. Condolences to his family and friends, I will miss the stories he had to tell.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Must read starts a little slow then sucks u in. Loved this book. Great story lots of twists. Great ending. Don't pass this one by
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A bit quck at the end, but a great read for sci-fi and military readers.
GetAGrip46 More than 1 year ago
Recommended! Kinda like mid-career Heinlein without the preaching... I am awaiting at least one more with these characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
hobbit1968 More than 1 year ago
I liked it. slow at first but then picks up. cant wait for the next one.
Jyanny More than 1 year ago
wow this book was such a great find. thanks to all who recommended it. They made it sound good but it is great. The view from the guy who has to put up with everything and still makes good is inspiring. Ric Locke .................WRITE MORE............!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It has an interesting primes and the story is ingrosing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of those books you can't put down. Anyone who has ever served as an enlisted man in the Navy will find this book particularly enjoyable. Fast moving, lots of action, it has aliens, girls, spaceships and evil IRS agents! I'm looking for more from this author!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you liked the early Heinlein, Cherryh, Norton, McCaffrey and others, the ones with aliens and adventure, you will like this book. I agree with others that the first half or so is the best and freshest. In the latter part of the book, I kept checking page numbers to see if I had inadvertently skipped ahead (which is too easy to do in a Nook.) Relationships had changed and I didn't know why. Tempo changed without serving the plot. Nevertheless, the book is well worth reading. I am looking forward to more of this author. Try the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Temporary Duty starts off well--Locke creates a very nice sense of the alien ship and world through the day-to-day-ness of the first quarter to half of the book. The two main characters, lower level military, are subject to a number of fairly mundane experiences, but it's actually quite refreshing, as you get a very detailed/nuanced sense of the environment and culture. A few things start to ring strange (like the inability for aliens who have advanced travel technology to communicate wirelessly, etc,) but all in all, it is a great start. Half way through though, the plot jumps a bit--it's as if the author realised that a space opera needs drama and set pieces, and then everything goes a bit pulpy, with abductions, space wars, and multiple attractive female aliens for our protagonist. Perhaps the book also ran a bit longer than necessary. Overall, however, quite entertaining, and can't wait for the next!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago