Ten Orange Pumpkins: A Counting Book

Ten Orange Pumpkins: A Counting Book

5.0 1
by Stephen Savage
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

"Spooktacular"  — Daily Candy

"Savage’s spirited rhymes (no pun intended) make this an ideal readaloud for younger Halloween celebrants."          —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"The landscapes Savage creates… have a softness and gentle humor that will capture the imaginations of

Overview

"Spooktacular"  — Daily Candy

"Savage’s spirited rhymes (no pun intended) make this an ideal readaloud for younger Halloween celebrants."          —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"The landscapes Savage creates… have a softness and gentle humor that will capture the imaginations of young children and add to their anticipation."  —Kirkus Reviews

From a sneaky spider to a ghostly chef to a sly mummy and crafty witch, join your favorite spooky creatures as ten orange pumpkins disappear in a countdown to a Halloween surprise. Bright, bold, and fun, Ten Orange Pumpkins is a perfect read-aloud and is sure to capture the imagination of the littlest trick-or-treaters.

Editorial Reviews

The New York Times - Sarah Harrison Smith
Bold black silhouettes against very different backgrounds—starting with a stripy mango sunset and ending with a deep blue sky polka-dotted with stars—make for dramatic and easily understood scenes.
Publishers Weekly
Savage counts down from 10 as, one by one, pumpkins vanish in very Halloween-appropriate ways. Fans of Where’s Walrus and Savage’s Polar Bear books will recognize and appreciate the sleek design of Savage’s artwork, which still allows room for Halloween mischief, too. “Eight orange pumpkins/ Beneath a starry heaven./ Thunderclouds come rolling in./ Flash! There are 7,” he writes as a gleaming white zigzag of a lightning bolt obliterates one of the pumpkins, which are lined up in a graveyard in one scene. Ghosts, skeletons, and other holiday standbys also make appearances, and Savage’s spirited rhymes (no pun intended) make this an ideal readaloud for younger Halloween celebrants. Ages 3–5. Agent: Brenda Bowen, Sanford J. Greenburger Associates. (Aug.)
School Library Journal
11/01/2013
PreS-Gr 2—Another rhyming book counting down pumpkins at Halloween? Yes, please! Bold colors contrast with seasonal shadows in the mixed-media (digital and traditional) illustrations, drawing readers in to a countdown that does not anthropomorphize the pumpkins. Rather, readers see one pumpkin at a time disappearing in benignly spooky fashion: a mummy chooses a pumpkin, lightning flashes one away, a witch uses one in her brew. The catchy rhyme scheme never feels forced and is predictable enough for listeners to enjoy guessing. With just one to three lines per page, the text is also well suited to beginning and newly independent readers. The clean illustrations and uncluttered pages will show well in a group setting. When the last pumpkin turns into a glowing jack-o'-lantern next to a black cat that has appeared throughout the story, readers are wished a happy Halloween, but this is a story that could be enjoyed year-round.—Julie R. Ranelli, Queen Anne's County Free Library, Stevensville, MD
Kirkus Reviews
2013-09-15
In this strong graphic treatment of a traditional theme, 10 Halloween pumpkins are spirited away or destroyed one by one by various seasonally appropriate, sometimes-scary entities: a scarecrow, a mummy, a bolt of lightning, a hungry ghost, alligators in a pond, pirates ("Arrr!"), an owl, a witch and a spider. In a visual style reminiscent of 1950s horror tales, Savage creates a highly dramatic and sensational sequence using strong color contrasts, including, of course, Halloween orange and black. Homely scenes of country life--fields, clothes on a line, a spooky mansion, a stormy churchyard--and more exotic ones--a witch's kitchen, pirate skeletons on a stormy ocean--are all rendered in a strong, airbrushed graphic style. While the overall mood is scary and grotesque, there are light touches in several features, including the cat that appears on every spread, the alligators that morph from rock look-alikes to snapping monsters that consume the pumpkin, the mummy who mummifies a pumpkin and the doughboy ghost who makes a pumpkin into pie. The simple rhymes of the countdown have a sweetly repetitive nursery-rhyme quality, and they will help to reassure children who may be a little apprehensive about Halloween, as well as aiding counting and subtraction skills. Although the landscapes Savage creates are highly stylized, they have a softness and gentle humor that will capture the imaginations of young children and add to their anticipation. (Picture book. 3-5)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780803739383
Publisher:
Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date:
08/29/2013
Pages:
48
Sales rank:
790,508
Product dimensions:
10.26(w) x 10.08(h) x 0.40(d)
Lexile:
AD330L (what's this?)
Age Range:
3 - 5 Years

Meet the Author

Stephen Savage is the New York Times bestselling illustrator of Polar Bear Night (A New York Times Best Illustrated Book). He also wrote and illustrated Little Tug and the acclaimed Where’s Walrus?, which Kirkus called "refreshing, captivating, elegant  and witty." Stephen lives in Brooklyn, New York with his wife and daughter.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Ten Orange Pumpkins: A Counting Book 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Storywraps More than 1 year ago
Kids everywhere love to read and to count.  This fabulous book will get them counting to ten as well as get them into the Hallowe'en spirit.  Simplicity is the key to this book's success.  The bold, colourful, clean-line illustrations, done with silhouettes, and sporting traditional Hallowe'en colours, are simply spooktacular.  Familiar characters who emerge to celebrate this special day are featured: ghosts, bats, witches, mummy's, scarecrows and more.  Kids can follow the inquisitive black cat as he roams from page to page observing the disappearance of those big orange balls.   Pumpkins are going missing. The question is how?  The fun is turning to the next page to see who the culprit is who is making them vanish (sometimes even into thin air.)  A stack of pumpkins are visually (and intentionally) positioned so your little one can count them as they dwindle down from 10 to one.  Poof! Gone!  Counting has never been so much fun and your child will enjoy the theme as it is not portrayed in a scary way but in such a way to make smiles and anticipation of that big night happen.  Highly recommended to add to your Hallowe'en book collection.