Ten Things I Love About You

Overview

Fans of Mo Willems' Elephant and Piggie will enjoy Rabbit and Pig?s clever back-and-forth which shows the funny ways friends bounce ideas and feelings off each other.

Rabbit just adores his friend Pig. So he is excited to make a list of all the things he loves about Pig. And who better to help him write the list than Pig himself? But Pig is busy, and keeps sending Rabbit away. But no matter what Pig does, Rabbit is inspired to add another thing to his list. When Pig says, ...

See more details below
Hardcover
$13.06
BN.com price
(Save 23%)$16.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (34) from $1.99   
  • New (17) from $4.15   
  • Used (17) from $1.99   

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK Kids for iPad

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (NOOK Kids)
$10.99
BN.com price
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.

Overview

Fans of Mo Willems' Elephant and Piggie will enjoy Rabbit and Pig’s clever back-and-forth which shows the funny ways friends bounce ideas and feelings off each other.

Rabbit just adores his friend Pig. So he is excited to make a list of all the things he loves about Pig. And who better to help him write the list than Pig himself? But Pig is busy, and keeps sending Rabbit away. But no matter what Pig does, Rabbit is inspired to add another thing to his list. When Pig says, “Rabbit, I'm starting to lose my patience!” Rabbit has #6—“I love Pig because he’s not afraid to show his feelings!” Fortunately, Pig’s dwindling patience is rewarded when Rabbit completes his list—and the two realize exactly why they are such good pals.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

The New York Times Book Review - Pamela Paul
A charmingly illustrated book about self-expression, sharing, cooperation, gratitude—what's not to love?
Publishers Weekly
Kirk borrows from the comic rhythms of Abbott and Costello (or is it Burns and Allen?) in his funny tribute to friendship. Pig is sitting thoughtfully at his desk when Rabbit stops by to announce that he's making a list of "ten things I love about you." This is all well and good ("Wow, ten!" says Pig), except that Rabbit is a wee bit obsessive about it. Everything Pig says or does becomes fodder for the list, including his growing frustration with Rabbit's relentlessness. "I'm starting to lose my patience!" immediately inspires entry "Number 6—I love Pig because he's not afraid to show his feelings." Kirk (the Library Mouse series) pulls a sweet switcheroo in the final pages of his story—Pig turns out to have list-making ambitions of his own—but not before readers will be chuckling at how two like-minded souls can find themselves at cross-purposes. Kirk's visual style is a departure of sorts: instead of his customary sculptural renderings, his digitally colored drawings, painted on plywood and outlined in scraggly ink, give the proceedings a warm, handcrafted feel. Ages 5–8. (Dec.)
The New York Times Book Review
“A charmingly illustrated book about self-expression, sharing, cooperation, gratitude—what’s not to love?”
The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
“The devoted Rabbit’s clueless annoying of his friend is deadpan funny. . . . The textured look of the painted wood panels has visual appeal. . . . May inspire kids to take a keener look at the charms of their own buddies. . . . A useful starting point for a classroom or family project of listing a friend’s or family member’s good points.”
Children's Literature - Beverley Fahey
Rabbit is so excited about his friendship with Pig that he wants to make a list of all of Pig's attributes and he cannot wait to share it with him. Unfortunately for Rabbit he gets stuck after reason number one. Pig encourages him to go home and think about what else he wants to add. It is obvious that Pig is busy and Rabbit's constant interruptions are a source of annoyance. When Pig cries out in exasperation that he is losing his patience, Rabbit calmly writes, "I love Pig because he's not afraid to show his feelings." In the end Rabbit has a list of 10 positive characteristics of his friend and delights in the fact that Pig has been composing his own list of Rabbit's finest qualities. The often humorous repartee between these two friends not only is clever but clearly emphasizes just why Rabbit and Pig are ideal friends. Rabbit is persistent and not to be deterred. While Pig, for the most part, remains unflappable and encouraging. This is a clever take on the popular theme of friendship and sharing feelings. The warm and lively illustrations, painted on plywood add a cozy, homey tone to the story. With the text written in two colors that delineate the speakers the story become an excellent choice for a Reader's Theater or a play for two voices. Reviewer: Beverley Fahey
School Library Journal
K-Gr 1—A sweet book about friendship and having a positive outlook. Rabbit decides to make a list of the 10 things he likes best about his friend, Pig. Pig is a little impatient with Rabbit's frequent interruptions to show him his progress, but each little annoyance from Pig becomes a positive thing for Rabbit to add to his list. When Rabbit rings Pig's bell to ask for his help with the list, Pig replies, "This is your list, Rabbit. Only you know what to say." This sentiment is reflected in item #3 on the list: "I love Pig because he believes in me." The positive twists are refreshing-there are two ways to interpret Pig's impatience, and Rabbit unfailingly looks on the bright side. The book ends with Rabbit discovering why Pig has been so busy-he has been writing his own list of reasons why he likes Rabbit. Kirk's illustrations perfectly capture Rabbit's always cheerful nature and Pig's growing irritation. Large, simple figures on uncluttered backgrounds make this title ideal for group sharing. The story provides a framework for looking for admirable traits in classmates and feeling acknowledged by others and would be a good choice to prompt discussions, suggesting that students find positive things to say about one another.—Mary Hazelton, formerly at Warren & Waldoboro Elementary Schools, ME
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780399252884
  • Publisher: Nancy Paulsen Books
  • Publication date: 12/27/2012
  • Pages: 32
  • Sales rank: 308,689
  • Age range: 4 - 8 Years
  • Product dimensions: 8.42 (w) x 10.18 (h) x 0.38 (d)

Meet the Author

Daniel Kirk

Daniel Kirk (www.danielkirk.com) has written and illustrated numerous popular picture books, including Keisha Ann Can and Library Mouse. He lives in Glen Ridge, New Jersey. 

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)