Terms & Conditions: A Novel

Overview

Frank has been in a serious car accident and he's missing memories-of the people around him, of the history they share, and of how he came to be in the crash. All he remembers is that he is a lawyer who specializes in fine print.*

Everyone keeps telling Frank that he was fine before the accident, "just a bit overwhelmed," but as he begins to reclaim his memories, they're at odds with what everyone is saying. His brother Oscar is intent on going into business with an inventively ...

See more details below
Paperback
$12.12
BN.com price
(Save 24%)$16.00 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (11) from $4.98   
  • New (6) from $4.99   
  • Used (5) from $4.98   
Terms & Conditions

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$9.99
BN.com price
(Save 9%)$10.99 List Price

Overview

Frank has been in a serious car accident and he's missing memories-of the people around him, of the history they share, and of how he came to be in the crash. All he remembers is that he is a lawyer who specializes in fine print.*

Everyone keeps telling Frank that he was fine before the accident, "just a bit overwhelmed," but as he begins to reclaim his memories, they're at odds with what everyone is saying. His brother Oscar is intent on going into business with an inventively cruel corporation.** Alice, Frank's wife, has written a book called Executive X that makes Frank furious, though he isn't sure why. And to make matters even stranger, stored in a closet is a severed finger floating in an old mustard jar that makes him feel very, very proud.

As more memories flood in, Frank's tightly regulated life begins to unspool as he is forced to face up to the real terms*** and the condition of his life.**** Robert Glancy's debut novel is a shrewd and hilarious exploration of freedom and frustration, success and second chances, and whether it's worth living by the rules.

* Yes, exactly like this.

** We can't tell you what it's called for legal reasons, but believe us, it's evil.

*** Which are rarely in his favor.

**** Which is a total mess.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"Frank sorts through the 'terms and conditions' of his life in agonizing, comic detail, mingling fantasy and reality . . . . The format (emails and obsessive footnotes) is entertaining, and the author’s insights into the predatory aspects of human behavior are spot on." New York Times

"A clever office send-up . . . . a remarkably fun read." Publishers Weekly, starred review 

"An original office comedy that dots all the I’s and crosses all the T’s: Think a dash of Office Space, a pinch of Palahniuk and a glance at Regarding Henry." Kirkus

"Carefully plotted, fresh and amusing . . . . Frank, himself, is wryly funny and likeable, so much so that when he eventually exacts his delightful and appropriate revenge you feel like cheering." Midwest Book Review 

"Delivered with a profusion of witty quips and tongue-in-cheek footnotes, Glancy's first novel is written with a wry humor that belies the poignant life lessons within." Booklist

"Very funny . . . . the work wittily explores the little moments that add up to disappointment and regret . . . . VERDICT Highly recommended." Library Journal, starred review

"Terms & Conditions, the first novel from promising author Robert Glancy, is a mystery tale unraveled through the frequent use of footnotes. While this may not seem like the pitch for an engrossing storyline, Glancy’s witty tone and keen insight into human nature help make this book not just readable but highly enjoyable." BookPage

"A hilarious take on what happens when an expert in drafting the fine print loses his memory . . . . The fun is literally in the footnotes. They are ironic, insightful, and laugh-out-loud funny." Washington Independent Review of Books

"An extravagant treat of an office novel, for fans of Memento and The Mezzanine. I loved it." —Ed Park, author of Personal Days

"It’s wonderful. Funny, poignant, simple and profound—it’s the kind of book I absolutely love. And it has the best ending I’ve read in a very long time." —Gavin Extence, author of The Universe Versus Alex Woods

"This great debut feels fresh and playful, and exceptionally readable (footnotes have never been so addictive). Every book seems to have ‘funny and life-affirming’ written on it but this one actually is." —Matt Haig, author of The Humans

author of Personal Days Ed Park

An extravagant treat of an office novel, for fans of Memento and The Mezzanine. I loved it.
author of The Universe Versus Alex Woods Gavin Extence

It's wonderful. Funny, poignant, simple and profound--it's the kind of book I absolutely love. And it has the best ending I've read in a very long time.
author of The Humans Matt Haig

This great debut feels fresh and playful, and exceptionally readable (footnotes have never been so addictive). Every book seems to have 'funny and life-affirming' written on it but this one actually is.
New York Times

"Frank sorts through the 'terms and conditions' of his life in agonizing, comic detail, mingling fantasy and reality . . . . The format (emails and obsessive footnotes) is entertaining, and the author's insights into the predatory aspects of human behavior are spot on."
Midwest Book Review

"Carefully plotted, fresh and amusing . . . . Frank, himself, is wryly funny and likeable, so much so that when he eventually exacts his delightful and appropriate revenge you feel like cheering."
Booklist

"Delivered with a profusion of witty quips and tongue-in-cheek footnotes, Glancy's first novel is written with a wry humor that belies the poignant life lessons within."
BookPage

"Terms & Conditions, the first novel from promising author Robert Glancy, is a mystery tale unraveled through the frequent use of footnotes. While this may not seem like the pitch for an engrossing storyline, Glancy's witty tone and keen insight into human nature help make this book not just readable but highly enjoyable."
Washington Independent Review of Books

"A hilarious take on what happens when an expert in drafting the fine print loses his memory . . . . The fun is literally in the footnotes. They are ironic, insightful, and laugh-out-loud funny."
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781620406458
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
  • Publication date: 3/3/2015
  • Pages: 272
  • Sales rank: 529,673
  • Product dimensions: 5.40 (w) x 8.20 (h) x 0.80 (d)

Meet the Author


Robert Glancy was born in Zambia and raised in Malawi. At fourteen he moved from Africa to Edinburgh and then went on to study history at Cambridge. He currently lives in New Zealand with his wife and children.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)