Texas Sunrise

Texas Sunrise

4.7 13
by Fern Michaels
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

As sizzling and sexy as its predecessors, Texas Sunrise shares the final chapter of the Coleman family, whose lifelong drama of heartbreak and triumph has captivated millions of readers.

Billie Coleman Kingsley, beloved matriarch of the clan and founder of a fabulously successful fashion empire, is dying. As her family gathers together in

…  See more details below

Overview

As sizzling and sexy as its predecessors, Texas Sunrise shares the final chapter of the Coleman family, whose lifelong drama of heartbreak and triumph has captivated millions of readers.

Billie Coleman Kingsley, beloved matriarch of the clan and founder of a fabulously successful fashion empire, is dying. As her family gathers together in this time of heartbreak, the indomitable Billie offers new hope to heal the rifts that separate them. Even as her own strength fails, Billie instills courage, fortitude, and her conviction that life goes on after tragedy. From the seductive waters of Hawaii to the rustic splendor of Vermont, from the family’s sprawling Texas ranch, Sunbridge, to the exotic beauty and high-tech glamour of Japan, the Colemans have been driven apart by the passions and betrayals of a new generation. But now, as they deal with the shattering news of Billie’s illness, all the Colemans must transform their lives.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
“A SEQUEL WITHOUT EQUAL . . . A stunning and emotional conclusion to the story of a family that readers have come to care for and love.”
Los Angeles Daily News
Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
The final installment (after Texas Fury ) in Michaels's series about the Coleman clan and its aeronautics and fashion empires opens with family matriarch Billie Coleman Kingsley receiving bad medical news. Meanwhile, Billie's daughter Maggie is ruining her marriage with her total devotion to her husband; another daughter, embittered and weak Susan, searches desperately for love; Maggie's son, Cole, questions his ability to lead his father-in-law's business, while his sister Sawyer forces him to confront the ghosts that haunt him. Through such family crises as death, divorce, birth and tragic accidents, staged in locales ranging from Texas to Japan to Hawaii, the family members struggle to cope with Billie's impending death and to understand her lessons about family, power and love. Readers who are new to the series may have trouble understanding how the characters are linked and why they act as they do, but already indoctrinated fans will find that Michaels provides a satisfying, though somewhat perfunctory, sense of closure. ( Feb. )
Denise Perry Donavin
Fans of "Texas Rich", "Texas Fury", and "Texas Heat" will be absorbed in Michaels' newest novel, in which she reveals the news that Billie Coleman Kingsley is dying. Billie is the matriarch who founded an internationally famous fabric design company, Billie Ltd., and the dynasty whose loves and tragedies fill these Texas novels. The family tree stretches from Japan to England, with stops in Hawaii, Vermont, Minnesota, and, of course, Texas. Michaels' linkage of the Coleman kin in Japan and the U.S. presents an interesting politico-economic twist to the tale. It will take a reader new to this series a while to sort out the convoluted Coleman/Hasegawa families, but that is part of the fun in this lively, soap-opera fare.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780345365934
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Publication date:
01/28/1994
Series:
Texas Series, #4
Edition description:
Reissue
Pages:
384
Sales rank:
159,979
Product dimensions:
4.18(w) x 6.92(h) x 0.99(d)

Meet the Author

Fern Michaels is an internationally bestselling author who lives in Summerville, South Carolina. She started writing in 1973 when her youngest son went off to school, and since then has written more than fifty books.

Brief Biography

Hometown:
Summerville, South Carolina
Place of Birth:
Hastings, Pennsylvania
Education:
High School

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Texas Sunrise 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book in the series is the best cant wait till next book in sries is out
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
From beginning to end the family history, leading into the younger generations keeps you hooked. Captivating family dynamic.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the charcters Payton, Red, Trace,Bea and the Housekeeper. It had a good plot to it as I said it was a gret read I totally enjoyed it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All 4 books are great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The 4 book saga goes on and keeps you hooked tooth and nail. It introduces new characters and those in the 1st story develope in amazing fashion.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you have loved Michaels other Texas books you are sure to love this one as she finishes up the series that has kept you at the edge of your seats.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hey.
Brittany5704 More than 1 year ago
This is one of my favorite sagas - and what introduced me to Fern Michaels' books. It follows the Coleman family over generations and countries - through triumph and tragedy - getting you hooked right from the beginning. Each character is distinctive and well-written - and the conclusion is perfectly fitting. I truly cannot count the number of times I have read through this series. Now I'm just waiting on the day the publishers decide to create an e-book format so that I can purchase them again for my Nook and thus carry them around with me at all times. Truly, the series is that good.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A lot was left unsaid such as when little Jessie dies it had already happened. And what about the weddings. They were already married when the next book came about. The only thing we actually got to read were the funerals. We got to read that but i just felt a lot was left unsaid. I would of preferred to read how little jessie was until the very end. An d i would love to read about the weddings. And what about when billie was diagonosed with cancer. We didnt even read when she told Thad. A lot was skipped and i would of preferred to read them.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Granted, Texas is my adopted state so I have good reason to be drawn to this series by Fern Michaels. However, do believe I would have been caught up in it no matter where I lived. Voice performer Laural Merlington hooked me with her reading of the first in the series, Texas Heat. Then she reeled me in when she delivered Texas Rich, and I couldn't wait for Texas Fury. Texas Sunrise, as read by Merlington, is a more than satisfactory conclusion to her previous performances of the Coleman family saga. Hearing her reminds me a bit of seeing a really, really good play - you applaud but also wish for more. Matriarch Billie Coleman Kingsley has lived a full and fruitful life - she has built an incredibly successful business and well understood the responsibilities of wealth and power. But now, sadly, she is nearing the end. Of course, her family gathers - daughters Maggie and Susan, grown grandchildren Cole and Sawyer. Each of these individuals has proven to be less than Billie had hoped, but now with her impending death they must take another look at who they are and what they are. Will they be able to live up to her standards or will the family dynasty die with her? Sorry to see this series end, but it's been great listening all the way. Enjoy! - Gail Cooke