The 13-Story Treehouse (Treehouse Books Series #1)

The 13-Story Treehouse (Treehouse Books Series #1)

3.7 13
by Andy Griffiths, Terry Denton
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Andy and Terry live in a treehouse. But it's not just any old treehouse, it's the most amazing treehouse in the world!

This treehouse has thirteen stories, a bowling alley, a see-through swimming pool, a secret underground laboratory, and a marshmallow machine that follows you around and automatically shoots marshmallows into your mouth whenever you are

Overview

Andy and Terry live in a treehouse. But it's not just any old treehouse, it's the most amazing treehouse in the world!

This treehouse has thirteen stories, a bowling alley, a see-through swimming pool, a secret underground laboratory, and a marshmallow machine that follows you around and automatically shoots marshmallows into your mouth whenever you are hungry.

Life would be perfect for Andy and Terry if it wasn't for the fact that they have to write their next book, which is almost impossible because there are just so many distractions, including thirteen flying cats, giant bananas, mermaids, a sea monsters pretending to be mermaids, enormous gorillas, and dangerous burp gas-bubblegum bubbles!

Join the fun with The 13-Story Treehouse by Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton. This title has Common Core connections.

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Kris Sauer
Imagine this: a room full of pillows; a bowling alley; a lemonade fountain; underground laboratory; man-eating shark tank; see-through swimming pool; game room; theater; and library. The list of what can be found in this amazing 13-story tree house goes on; it is where Andy and Terry live and work, attempting to write a book while getting distracted in the most amazing ways. Take the cat that Terry magically turns into a canary. The "catnary" flies off to have other adventures while Terry and Andy sit down to work on the book that is under deadline. But, wait. Terry's favorite television show is one. We must watch it! Then, the doorbell rings. The mailman has arrived with Terry's sea monkey eggs. Only, it turns out there has been some sort of mistake. No monkeys, only one monster mermaid that is determined to take the boys prisoner in her under seas lair! This and many other escapades await the boys as they attempt to finish their assignment. In the style of "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" and "Dear Dumb Diary" series' this book takes words and pictures to a new, silly, ridiculous level that middle school readers will no doubt devour. Boys in particular will like the burping contests, gross creatures, and ridiculous choices that Terry and Andy make throughout the book. And as if killer mermaids are not enough, there are sea monkeys. And a giant gorilla. And a giant banana. And the return of the catnary. See? Silly, ridiculous fun. Kids will love it. Reviewer: Kris Sauer
School Library Journal
Gr 3–5—Andy and Terry live in a treehouse. In addition to the normal rooms found in a house, it has a theater and library, a bowling alley, and a games room. The boys write and illustrate books, and are far behind on their deadline for their publisher, Mr. Big Nose. They bicker and procrastinate and experience many adventures and misadventures. Wacky stories about flying cats, a monster mermaid, a treehouse full of monkeys, and a banana-seeking giant gorilla will entertain and delight readers. Fun cartoons on every page will engage them and inspire giggles. The situations are described and illustrated so completely that readers will be instantly transported to the fantastic world of the 13-story treehouse. Fans of Jeff Kinney's "Diary of a Wimpy Kid"(Abrams) and Lincoln Peirce's "Big Nate" series (HarperCollins) will be drawn to this book, while parents will enjoy the absence of snarky humor.—Erica Thorsen Payne, Meriwether Lewis Elementary School, Charlottesville, VA
Publishers Weekly
Longtime collaborators Griffiths and Denton (Killer Koalas from Outer Space) get metafictional in their latest book (first published in Australia), and the result is anarchic absurdity at its best. Young buddies Andy and Terry live together in the sort of tree house that kids dream about, complete with bowling alley, shark tank, vines to swing from, and underground laboratory. With so many distractions, is it any wonder that they’re late with the book due to their publisher, Mr. Big Nose? “We were a little behind schedule,” confides Andy. “Well, when I say ‘a little behind schedule,’ I mean a lot behind schedule. And when I say ‘a lot behind schedule,’ I mean a LOT LOT LOT behind schedule.” It’s due tomorrow, but before they can get to work, they have to handle an escaped catnary (a cat turned canary), “burp-gas-filled bubblegum bubbles,” and a horde of destructive monkeys. Denton’s manic cartooning captures every twist and turn in hilarious detail, as babies are pelted with garbage, yapping dogs squashed, and monkeys catapulted into the distance. A sequel was published last year in Australia and can’t arrive soon enough. Ages 8–12. (Apr.)
From the Publisher

“A series starter that will appeal to fans of Jeff Kinney and Dav Pilkey . . . A treat for all . . . And guess what? It makes for good tree house reading.” —Booklist

“Fans of Jeff Kinney's Diary of a Wimpy Kid and Lincoln Peirce's Big Nate series will be drawn to this book, while parents will enjoy the absence of snarky humor.” —School Library Journal

“Longtime collaborators Griffiths and Denton (Killer Koalas from Outer Space) get metafictional in their latest book (first published in Australia), and the result is anarchic absurdity at its best. Young buddies Andy and Terry live together in the sort of tree house that kids dream about, complete with bowling alley, shark tank, vines to swing from, and underground laboratory.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Boys in particular will like the burping contests, gross creatures, and ridiculous choices that Terry and Andy make throughout the book. And as if killer mermaids are not enough, there are sea monkeys. And a giant gorilla. And a giant banana. And the return of the catnary. See? Silly, ridiculous fun. Kids will love it.” —Kris Sauer, Children's Literature

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781250042392
Publisher:
Feiwel & Friends
Publication date:
04/16/2013
Series:
Treehouse Books Series , #1
Sold by:
Macmillan
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
256
Sales rank:
149,063
File size:
29 MB
Note:
This product may take a few minutes to download.
Age Range:
6 - 10 Years

Meet the Author

Andy Griffiths is the New York Times bestselling author of What Body Part is That?, Killer Koalas From Outer Space, The Big Fat Cow that Goes Kapow, and The Cat on the Mat is Flat. He lives in Australia.

Terry Denton has worked with Andy on many books, including Killer Koalas From Outer Space and The Big Fat Cow that Goes Kapow. He lives in Australia with his wife and three kids.


Andy Griffiths is the New York Times bestselling author of The Day My Butt Went Psycho!, Zombie Butts from Uranus!, and Butt Wars! The Final Conflict, as well as the Treehouse Series and Killer Koalas from Outer Space. In 2007, he became the first Australian author to win six children's choice awards in one year for Just Shocking! He is passionate about inspiring a love of books in his young readers, and works as an ambassador for the Indigenous Literacy Project, which provides books and literacy resources to remote indigenous communities around Australia. Andy is a big fan of Dr. Seuss and of cauliflower. He lives in Melbourne, Australia, and is Australia's most popular children's writer.
Terry Denton is known for his humorous illustration style and has worked with Andy on the Treehouse series and the JUST! books among others. He lives by the sea in Australia with his wife, three kids, and a pop-up toaster that only toasts on one side.
Andy Griffiths is the New York Times bestselling author of The Day My Butt Went Psycho!, Zombie Butts from Uranus!, and Butt Wars! The Final Conflict, as well as the Treehouse Series and Killer Koalas from Outer Space. In 2007, he became the first Australian author to win six children’s choice awards in one year for Just Shocking! He is passionate about inspiring a love of books in his young readers, and works as an ambassador for the Indigenous Literacy Project, which provides books and literacy resources to remote indigenous communities around Australia. Andy is a big fan of Dr. Seuss and of cauliflower. He lives in Melbourne, Australia, and is Australia’s most popular children’s writer.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The 13-Story Treehouse 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
GHott More than 1 year ago
Hott Synopsis: Andy and Terry are just typical boys… typical boys with a 13-story treehouse. Oh, not just any old treehouse, either, a treehouse with a pool, a lab, elevators, shrinking machines, and much much more. They also have a writing contract with a due date of last Friday. LAST FRIDAY!?!?! Oh, no! The boys need to get writing… right after they turn the cat into a canary and hatch the sea monster – I mean sea monkey. Hott Review: What I liked: This book was so much fun! I started reading it to the kids during a game at half-time and couldn’t stop reading when the game started again ;(. Andy & Terry were really living the dream life of most boys and quite a few sat around as I read because it was so funny. What I didn’t like: It’s kind of a boys story so some of the stuff was a bit ickier that the girls liked. More… Source: Feiwel & Friends via Netgalley Ages: 5-12
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read this book and you will laugh out loud
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you are looking for a book with fun, adventure, and wierdness, this is the book for you!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My son, who is rarely interested in books, LOVED this book, and the following one The 26-Story Treehouse.  He is already re-reading both and stayed up late to finish them.  He carried them everywhere.  I've bought him every book imaginable trying to get him interested in reading and he LOVES this book! (He's recently 8)
Anonymous 5 months ago
Liked it when they turned the sea-moster small
18673299 More than 1 year ago
My son loves this series! already have the 2nd and he wants the next one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I didn't read the book myself but my 7 year old son loved it and read it in two days. He likes book like Diary of a Wimpy Kid and Captain Underpants. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My son LOVED this book. Sometimes it's very challenging to get him to read but we got into a little argument about putting the book down and going to bed. Then, when he awoke the next morning, he came out of his room holding the book and finished it. He can't wait for the next one (next year!!!???)...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It wont let me finish reading it when i try it wont open but the other books open
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Aisik