×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The 26-Story Treehouse (Treehouse Books Series #2)
     

The 26-Story Treehouse (Treehouse Books Series #2)

4.3 12
by Andy Griffiths
 

See All Formats & Editions

Andy and Terry live in a 26-story treehouse. (It used to be 13 stories, but they've expanded.) It has a bumper car rink, a skate ramp, an antigravity chamber, an ice cream parlor with 78 flavors, and the Maze of Doom—a maze so complicated that nobody who has gone in has ever come out again. Well, not yet, anyway.

This time, the two friends have a whole

Overview

Andy and Terry live in a 26-story treehouse. (It used to be 13 stories, but they've expanded.) It has a bumper car rink, a skate ramp, an antigravity chamber, an ice cream parlor with 78 flavors, and the Maze of Doom—a maze so complicated that nobody who has gone in has ever come out again. Well, not yet, anyway.

This time, the two friends have a whole week to finish their next book, and Andy even knows what it should be about—the story of how he and Terry first met. But, life is NEVER boring in the treehouse, and emergency shark operations, giant storms, and wooden pirate heads are just the beginning….

This title has Common Core connections.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
★ 02/17/2014
Twice the treehouse, twice the fun? You bet. Griffiths and Denton follow the uproarious The 13-Story Treehouse with another cartoon-laden carnival of slapstick and self-referential humor—this time, with pirates. It isn’t just best buddies Andy and Terry’s treehouse that’s grown: this book is about 100 pages longer than its predecessor, extra space that lets Griffiths and Denton devote six pages to the 78 flavors of ice cream at the treehouse’s ice-cream parlor, more than 20 pages to a pirate-themed nursery rhyme, and dozens more to the stories-within-the-story that Andy, Terry, their friend Jill, and the dread pirate Captain Woodenhead recount. Whether it’s Jill and her menagerie of animals stacked precariously on a tiny iceberg or a giant, smelly fish head orbiting the Earth (it’s an important plot point), Denton’s furiously scrawled line drawings milk the silly, gross-out gags for everything they’re worth. Kids should be flipping pages faster than a pair of inflatable underpants can skyrocket the young heroes to safety (it’s also an important plot point). Best of all, Terry and Andy leave readers with a blueprint for a 39-story sequel. Ages 8–12. (Apr.)
From the Publisher

“Wildly humorous without being smart-alecky or sarcastic, this is a top choice for middle-grade readers.” —School Library Journal on The 25-Story Treehouse

“This zany sequel, as much cartoon illustration as text, is an almost nonstop adventure involving self-inflating underpants, fish with bad breath, sharks with zippered bellies, 78 flavors of ice cream, and several disasters, before its explosive finish. Mr. Big Nose, the publisher, is impatient for more. Can the 52-story model be far behind?” —Booklist on The 25-Story Treehouse

“Twice the treehouse, twice the fun? You bet. Griffiths and Denton follow the uproarious The 13-Story Treehouse with another cartoon-laden carnival of slapstick and self-referential humor--this time, with pirates….Whether it's Jill and her menagerie of animals stacked precariously on a tiny iceberg or a giant, smelly fish head orbiting the Earth (it's an important plot point), Denton's furiously scrawled line drawings milk the silly, gross-out gags for everything they're worth. Kids should be flipping pages faster than a pair of inflatable underpants can skyrocket the young heroes to safety (it's also an important plot point). Best of all, Terry and Andy leave readers with a blueprint for a 39-story sequel.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review on The 25-Story Treehouse

“A series starter that will appeal to fans of Jeff Kinney and Dav Pilkey . . . A treat for all . . . And guess what? It makes for good tree house reading.” —Booklist on The 13-Story Treehouse

“Fans of Jeff Kinney's Diary of a Wimpy Kid and Lincoln Peirce's Big Nate series will be drawn to this book, while parents will enjoy the absence of snarky humor.” —School Library Journal on The 13-Story Treehouse

“Longtime collaborators Griffiths and Denton (Killer Koalas from Outer Space) get metafictional in their latest book (first published in Australia), and the result is anarchic absurdity at its best. Young buddies Andy and Terry live together in the sort of tree house that kids dream about, complete with bowling alley, shark tank, vines to swing from, and underground laboratory.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review on The 13-Story Treehouse

“Boys in particular will like the burping contests, gross creatures, and ridiculous choices that Terry and Andy make throughout the book. And as if killer mermaids are not enough, there are sea monkeys. And a giant gorilla. And a giant banana. And the return of the catnary. See? Silly, ridiculous fun. Kids will love it.” —Kris Sauer, Children's Literature on The 13-Story Treehouse

School Library Journal
03/01/2014
Gr 3–6—Andy and Terry, introduced in The 13-Story Treehouse (Feiwel & Friends, 2013), have expanded their incredible arboreal residence by adding several exciting features, including a robot-controlled ice-cream parlor, a mud-fighting arena, an ATM (Automatic Tattoo Machine), and the Maze of Doom. Their publisher, Mr. Bignose, is demanding their next book, so the friends attempt to tell stories about how they met and how they first built their treehouse. They also have to cope with a tank of sick, underwear-eating sharks and a pack of invading buccaneers. Similar in design to Jeff Kinney's "Diary Of A Wimpy Kid" series (Abrams), these 13 wacky, interconnected stories integrate print and graphic elements, with comic-book-style panels, word balloons, and text blocks, which blend together seamlessly. Different font styles help distinguish the storytelling sections from the main action. The conversational, matter-of-fact narration is a delightful contrast to the off-the-wall story line. Wildly humorous without being smart-alecky or sarcastic, this is a top choice for middle-grade readers.—Elaine E. Knight, formerly at Lincoln Elementary Schools, IL

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781250060129
Publisher:
Feiwel & Friends
Publication date:
04/01/2014
Series:
Treehouse Books Series , #2
Sold by:
Macmillan
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
352
Sales rank:
128,209
File size:
48 MB
Note:
This product may take a few minutes to download.
Age Range:
6 - 10 Years

Read an Excerpt

The 26-Story Treehouse


By Andy Giffiths, Terry Denton

Feiwel and Friends

Copyright © 2012 Backyard Stories Pty Ltd
All rights reserved.
ISBN: 978-1-250-06012-9



CHAPTER 1

THE 26-STORY TREEHOUSE


Hi, my name is Andy.

This is my friend Terry.


We live in a tree.


Well, when I say "tree," I mean treehouse. And when I say "treehouse," I don't just mean any old treehouse—I mean a 26-story treehouse! (It used to be a 13-story treehouse, but we've added another 13 stories.)


So, what are you waiting for?

Come on up!


We've added a bumper car rink,

a skate ramp (with a crocodile-pit hazard),

a mud-fighting arena,

an antigravity chamber,

an ice-skating pond (with real, live ice-skating penguins),

a recording studio,

a mechanical bull called Kevin,

an ATM (that's an Automatic Tattoo Machine, in case you didn't know),

an ice-cream parlor with seventy-eight flavors, run by an ice cream-serving robot called Edward Scooperhands,

and the Maze of Doom—a maze so complicated that nobody who has gone in has ever come out again.


As well as being our home, the treehouse is also where we make books together. I write the words and Terry draws the pictures.


As you can see, we've been doing this for quite a while now.

Sure, Terry can be a bit annoying at times ...


but mostly, we get on pretty well.


(Continues...)

Excerpted from The 26-Story Treehouse by Andy Giffiths, Terry Denton. Copyright © 2012 Backyard Stories Pty Ltd. Excerpted by permission of Feiwel and Friends.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

Meet the Author

New York Times-bestselling author Andy Griffiths, who wrote The 13-Story Treehouse, What Body Part Is That?, Killer Koalas From Outer Space, The Big Fat Cow that Goes Kapow, The Cat on the Mat Is Flat, and The Day My Butt Went Psycho! is at his best in these wild storytelling adventures, perfect for readers of all ages, which hit #1 on the Australian bestseller list.
Terry Denton has worked with Andy on many books, including The 13-Story Treehouse series, and Killer Koalas From Outer Space. He lives in Australia with his wife and three kids.


Andy Griffiths is the New York Times bestselling author of The Day My Butt Went Psycho!, Zombie Butts from Uranus!, and Butt Wars! The Final Conflict, as well as the Treehouse Series and Killer Koalas from Outer Space. In 2007, he became the first Australian author to win six children’s choice awards in one year for Just Shocking! He is passionate about inspiring a love of books in his young readers, and works as an ambassador for the Indigenous Literacy Project, which provides books and literacy resources to remote indigenous communities around Australia. Andy is a big fan of Dr. Seuss and of cauliflower. He lives in Melbourne, Australia, and is Australia’s most popular children’s writer.
Terry Denton is known for his humorous illustration style and has worked with Andy on the Treehouse series and the JUST! books among others. He lives by the sea in Australia with his wife, three kids, and a pop-up toaster that only toasts on one side.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The 26-Story Treehouse 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I purchase this book for my grandson (8years old), he just loves the book and can not put it down. He read the 13 story Treehouse and we waited over a year for this one to be released. I think it is great book if you are trying to get a child to read more.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stuiped
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LETS BOOGIE ON OUT HERE MY FUNKY FRIENDS
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
HELLO PEOPLE Ps i love saying hello people Pss iam ten
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Barnes and noble should know about this! Youre being rude and innappropriate! It is not normal to do what you described! And don't swear at me, i'm only standing up for whats right! Take your post off and replace it with something nice before i report this to barnes and noble! That swear word is not something six year olds need to hear! Thank you!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I AM TEN AND I DON'T NEED TO KNOW THAT! NEARTHER DO MY 8 YEAR OLD BROTHER ! WAY TO GO MY BROTHER REED THAT! LOOK ! I DON'T CARE HOW OLD YOU ARE ! TAKE THAT POST OFF BEFORE THE ATHER OR OTHER KIDS AS OLD OR YOUNGER THAN ME READ THAT #%&$ THING. Mean wile THIS BOOK IS AWSOME!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have an 9 year old sister and im 11 quit posting sick things..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a test
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi