The 5 Essentials: Using Your Inborn Resources to Create a Fulfilling Life

Overview

Raise the bar to become the best version of you—and have fun doing it

As a cognitive neuroscientist, anthropologist, and entrepreneur, Bob Deutsch has spent a lifetime studying people. What he has found is that most of us set the bar too low in our lives, both personally and professionally. We choose not to pursue our greatest ambitions because we feel we are incapable of reaching them. But he has also found that we are each born with the ...

See more details below
Hardcover
$19.46
BN.com price
(Save 25%)$25.95 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (36) from $1.99   
  • New (11) from $1.99   
  • Used (25) from $1.99   
The 5 Essentials: Using Your Inborn Resources to Create a Fulfilling Life

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$9.99
BN.com price

Overview

Raise the bar to become the best version of you—and have fun doing it

As a cognitive neuroscientist, anthropologist, and entrepreneur, Bob Deutsch has spent a lifetime studying people. What he has found is that most of us set the bar too low in our lives, both personally and professionally. We choose not to pursue our greatest ambitions because we feel we are incapable of reaching them. But he has also found that we are each born with the fundamental abilities to live the full, creative, dynamic life we dream about.

Filled with great stories and interviews with inspiring people, including Wynton Marsalis, Richard Feynman, and Anna Quindlen, The 5 Essentials opens the door to a way of being more alive than you have ever been.  In this compelling book, Deutsch shows us how to access and use our five inner resources — Curiosity, Openness, Sensuality, Paradox, and Self-Story — to open our lives to unimagined possibilities. The 5 Essentials will appeal to readers of The Element and The Tools.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From Barnes & Noble

Cognitive neuroscientist Bob Deutsch is convinced that most of us sell ourselves short. Instead of pursuing what would make us most fulfilled, we settle for what will get us through. In this book, he challenges readers to tap five essential inner resources (Curiosity; Openness; Sensuality; Paradox; Self-Story) to open their everyday lives to previously unimagined possibilities. The 5 Essentials is grounded in hard science, but it uses interviews with the likes of Anna Quindlen, Wynton Marsalis, and Richard Feynman to demonstrate its points. An apt choice for readers of books such as The Element or The Tools.

From the Publisher
"5 Essentials is a book of rare insight on how to live your best life by tapping into your deep personal resources. Bob Deutsch is a wise, seasoned and compassionate companion on this essential journey to become your true self."
 
—Sir Ken Robinson, PhD, author of Finding Your Element: How to Discover Your Talents and Passions and Transform Your Life
 
 
“Dr. Deutsch is an essential member of that shrinking group that we used to term, "a few wise men".  He has the unique ability to see through to the simple truth of how we think, process and build belief systems. In The Five Essentials he has brought the sum of his rich and unique experiences to bear, and captured the formula for living a truly purposeful life and maximizing our innate capacities, on the path to what he terms our "self-story".”
—Jeremy Holden, Chief Strategy Officer of Publicis Kaplan Thaler and author of Second That Emotion: How Decisions, Trends, and Emotions are Shaped
 
 
“The Five Essentials begins with a simple premise. Don’t look at high achievers as outliers. Consider them kindred spirits. Understand the strategies that worked for them and put them to work for you. You may not end up a Hollywood director or a Silicon Valley hotshot, but with hard work, you can discover your unique self-story and begin to carve out a more meaning-filled life. A refreshing take on the American romance with success, taking its iconic tales as opportunities for self-reflection. The inspirational take-away: there is a great story inside of you.”
 
—Sherry Turkle, PhD, author of Alone Together: Why We Expect More from Technology and Less from Each Other
 
“The 5 Essentials will propel you to become the best you, you can be.  It reinforces a phrase I use, 'Be the seeker and be fascinated by what's visible beyond the horizon for you.'  This book will empower you!”
 
—Debra Byrd (Vocal Coach & Artist Development),"The Voice," "American Idol," "Canadian Idol," "The Winner Is"

"In The 5 Essentials Dr. Bob bottles up his native brilliance and eclectic intellect in a compact volume that is rich with inspiring and actionable insights for all readers.  Drawing on his life story, as well as conversations with ordinary and extraordinary people he has met along the way, Dr. Bob presents a compelling framework that will define and dramatically enhance your experience of what it means to be human."

—Jeffrey F. Rayport, consultant to global entrepreneurs and venture capitalists, author, and former Harvard Business School professor

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781594631221
  • Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
  • Publication date: 9/3/2013
  • Pages: 288
  • Sales rank: 1,463,549
  • Product dimensions: 6.00 (w) x 8.63 (h) x 1.00 (d)

Meet the Author

BOB DEUTSCH, PHD, is the founder of Brain Sells, has a doctorate in cognitive neuroscience, and has also taught anthropology at CUNY, worked at the Max Planck Institute, and consulted for the U.S. Dept. of Defense. His clients have included American Express, Apple, Johnson & Johnson, and Procter & Gamble, among many others. LOU ARONICA has worked in publishing for thirty years. He has cowritten many successful books, including The Culture Code by Clotaire Rapaille and The Element by Ken Robinson, and he is the author of the novels Blue and The Forever Year.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)