×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Accord
     

The Accord

4.0 1
by Keith Brooke
 

See All Formats & Editions

1. A core science fiction novel with wide commercial appeal

2. Based on a short story chosen for Gardner Dozois's Year's Best Science Fiction

3. Will appeal to fans of Charles Stross and The Matrix

4. Author used to run a major SF website, infinity plus, and will receive wide review coverage

A tale of love, murder and revenge that crosses the boundaries

Overview

1. A core science fiction novel with wide commercial appeal

2. Based on a short story chosen for Gardner Dozois's Year's Best Science Fiction

3. Will appeal to fans of Charles Stross and The Matrix

4. Author used to run a major SF website, infinity plus, and will receive wide review coverage

A tale of love, murder and revenge that crosses the boundaries between the real world and a virtual reality.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

In this expansion of a 2007 short story of the same name, British writer Brooke explores the nature of love, self and reality in the Accord, a virtual reality populated by digital recordings of real people's souls. Its creator, Noah Barakh, is having an affair with several copies of politician Priscilla Burham. When Priscilla's powerful husband, Jack, finds out, he murders Priscilla's physical self. Noah promptly commits suicide so his last upload can continue the fling safely, far away from Jack, setting off a cascade of heated confrontations, bodies being hijacked by recorded selves and real and virtual deaths. Multiple copies of various characters move between realities as Jack and Noah search for a version of Priscilla who can love them even as they seek to destroy each other. The emotion-driven love triangle neatly complements the tech- and philosophy-heavy nature of the Accord, making this rumination on posthumous, posthuman love a rare treat. (Mar.)

Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781844165896
Publisher:
Rebellion
Publication date:
02/24/2009
Pages:
448
Product dimensions:
6.80(w) x 4.16(h) x 1.17(d)

Meet the Author

Keith Brooke’s first novel appeared in 1990, and he has published four more adult novels, two collections, and over 60 short stories. Since 1997 he has run the web-based SF, fantasy and horror showcase infinity plus (www.infinityplus.co.uk), featuring the work of around 100 top genre authors. His most recent novel, Genetopia, was published by Pyr and received a starred review in Publishers Weekly. Writing as Nick Gifford, his teen fiction is published by Puffin, with one novel optioned by Little Bird.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Accord 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Katana357 More than 1 year ago
Keith Brooke's "The Accord" is a very interesting read. His unique style keeps you on your toes and challenges what you have come to expect in format. He has taken a somewhat familiar theme and put his own spin on things which brings up some interesting paradoxes. I'm not finished yet but have been thrilled so far. A very interesting read! Enjoy!