BN.com Gift Guide

The American Turquoise (An Ainsley Walker Gemstone Travel Mystery) [NOOK Book]

Overview

For fans of Nora Roberts and Janet Evanovich…

Dumped by her husband just as he finishes law school, and disillusioned by her loss of another unsatisfying office job, Ainsley Walker is approaching thirty with nothing to show for it.

Deeply dissatisfied, she knows that she deserves more than a growing waistline and shrunken dreams.

And then...

...she sells her engagement ring ...

See more details below
The American Turquoise (An Ainsley Walker Gemstone Travel Mystery)

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
FREE

Overview

For fans of Nora Roberts and Janet Evanovich…

Dumped by her husband just as he finishes law school, and disillusioned by her loss of another unsatisfying office job, Ainsley Walker is approaching thirty with nothing to show for it.

Deeply dissatisfied, she knows that she deserves more than a growing waistline and shrunken dreams.

And then...

...she sells her engagement ring to a mysterious jeweler, a man who recognizes her passion for gemstones and travel, and makes her an offer that she can’t resist.

From an author who worked on the foreign desk of The Washington Post…

…who explored North and South America for nearly twelve months…

… who was a finalist in a prestigious short story contest sponsored by the estate of F. Scott Fitzgerald…

…comes the prelude to a gemstone travel mystery series that will change the way you see your life.

Length: Approximately 9,000 words.
First in the series.

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940045604079
  • Publisher: J.A. Jernay
  • Publication date: 6/24/2011
  • Sold by: Smashwords
  • Format: eBook
  • Sales rank: 222,685
  • File size: 118 KB

Meet the Author

After leaving the foreign desk of the Washington Post, J.A. Jernay travelled across North and South America for nearly twelve months in search of adventure. A finalist in the F. Scott Fitzgerald Centennial Short Story Contest, Jernay has a keen eye for detail and a deep interest in foreign languages, local traditions, and, of course, gemstones.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 3
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great New Mystery

    Ainsley is twenty nine years old. After supporting her husband and her while he finished law school he leaves her. After committing herself to the psychiatric ward for a week, she is ready to face her problems again. But after her friend, Deirdre picks her up, Ainsley realizes that she is even more alone than she initially felt. At a get together party, Ainsley realizes that all of her friends now have husbands and babies and no room for her in their lives anymore.

    After losing her job and realizing the debt she is in from her husband, she finally has enough. The only thing she really has going for her is her extensive knowledge of gem stones. When the possibility of a job falls into her lap, she decides to take a chance and go for it

    This is a really short story. But I got sucked into and was really disappointed when it ended, which is the only bad thing about the book. I'm definitely going to have to buy the next story, The Uruguay Amethyst. I recommend this to anyone.

    This was book that I offered to review and did pay for it. Although a quick read, it is definitely worth the money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Rip Off!

    I was expecting more than a short prequel to advertise your next book. I admit it was well done but too short and an obvious lead in to your next book. I feel ripped off!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)