The Austin Job

The Austin Job

3.0 1
by David Mark Brown
     
 
A TWISTY POLITICAL THRILLER ON HORSEBACK. For fans of Eric Flint, Kevin Hearne, Cherie Priest.

"Saddle up. Austin's about to get hot!"

"A wild and woolly fantastical adventure. Texas lightning in a bottle...excellent!" ~Thomas O'Donnell

WARNING:
This novel regards genrefication as so much fart gas. (It is also unconcerned that

Overview

A TWISTY POLITICAL THRILLER ON HORSEBACK. For fans of Eric Flint, Kevin Hearne, Cherie Priest.

"Saddle up. Austin's about to get hot!"

"A wild and woolly fantastical adventure. Texas lightning in a bottle...excellent!" ~Thomas O'Donnell

WARNING:
This novel regards genrefication as so much fart gas. (It is also unconcerned that genrefication is not a word.)

Product Description
With the world embroiled in the Great War, power-hungry forces threaten to tear apart the state of Texas in a secret plot to rule the resource that will fuel the future. In The Austin Job, James Starr, bronc rider turned politician, stumbles into a high stakes game of power and lies that he must master before it masters him.

Exploding with double-fisted, cheek-puckering action, including the world's first parkour stunt horse, The Austin Job dares you to cinch your saddle to a bolt of Lone Star lightning and hold on for dear life.

Through this continuation of the Lost DMB Files, dime novelist David Mark Brown (disappeared during the 30's) invites the reader into a world illuminated by human torches and moonlight towers, an underground Austin inhabited by machine and monster alike. Lastly, it's a world where what you don't know can get you killed--or just really, really messed up.

Note from the Editor
The Truth in History Society (THS), commonly known as lost file conspiracists, have beat their drum for nearly a dozen years. I, like most, ignored them. Unlike most, I was kidnapped. While initially ticked off by this, not getting exploded (another story altogether) ultimately balanced the scales.

Since then I have rigorously set about curating and editing all known Lost DMB Files while maintaining as scientific of an approach to these pulpy stories as possible. Now I count myself among the zealous believers in their authenticity, not simply as pulp fiction, but as journalistic tales preserving historic fact.

My promise to the reader is to seek out these Lost DMB files and present them to you unabridged and unaltered from their original intent for as long as I am able. I also vow to do my best to allow you to draw your own conclusions as to their historical value and contemporary commentary. (I'll refrain from my preachy tendencies as best I can!)

Finally, be forewarned. Becoming lost in these "lost files" and the world they reconstruct is difficult to resist. May what once was lost be found.

Professor Jim "Buck" Buckner

All Currently Known Lost DMB Files (including assumed gaps)
Reefer Ranger (#9)
Del Rio Con Amor (#14)
Fistful of Reefer (#17)
The Austin Job (#18)
Hell's Womb (#22)
Get Doc Quick (#24)
McCutchen's Bones (#25)
Twitch and Die! (#26)
Paraplegic Zombie Slayer (#35)
Fourth Horseman (#43)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940014764520
Publisher:
StoneHouse Ink
Publication date:
06/09/2012
Series:
Lost DMB Files , #18
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
350
Sales rank:
1,260,033
File size:
793 KB

Meet the Author

Raised in Central Texas, David Mark Brown learned to ride horses at a young age. Then learned to hate them after a disastrous attempt to impress a girlfriend. He was five.

Turning instead to a life of poetry and prose he eventually migrated north to the University of Montana (the Berkeley of the Rockies) and became the Redneck Granola.

Meeting a chainsaw wielding mountain woman forced him to reconsider his chosen career path--Hemingway on a sailboat. Instead he illuminated the path of life to college students as a spiritual guide for over a dozen years while his wife (now a pharmacist) squirreled away enough acorns for David to embrace the sultry world of commercial fiction.

After legally snatching a little Vietnamese boy and creating another son via more natural means the happy family settled in Idaho. David still rides horses, but only in black and never for fun.

Enjoy the show!

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Austin Job 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the writing and the story, but the first paragraph of most chapters is unreadable.